FANIKISHA Institutional Strengthening Project
At a glance
FANIKISHA Institutional Strengthening Project is a closed federal cooperative agreement opportunity from the Kenya USAID-Nairobi (Agency for International Development). The application deadline was April 26, 2011. Individual awards are listed as $40M – $44M, with $44M in total estimated funding. The notice is unrestricted by applicant type, subject to any clarifications in the notice. Cost sharing or matching is required. It is funded under Assistance Listing 98.001 (USAID Foreign Assistance for Programs Overseas).
Summary assembled from the official notice's fields. The official notice governs.
Key facts
- Mar 24, 2011Posted
- Apr 26, 2011Application deadline
- Posted
- Mar 24, 2011
- Close date
- Apr 26, 2011
- Award floor
- $40,000,000
- Award ceiling
- $44,000,000
- Est. total funding
- $44,000,000
- Expected awards
- Not specified
- Cost sharing
- Required
- Funding instrument
- Cooperative Agreement
- Opportunity category
- Discretionary
Who can apply
- Unrestricted (any entity type)
A quick check against the listed applicant types — other requirements in the notice still apply.
Based on the published notice. Review the official notice for complete eligibility requirements.
What it funds
Official synopsis as published by the agency, formatted for readability.
Ladies and Gentlemen:
The United States Agency for International Development (USAID) Mission in Kenya is seeking applications for Assistance Agreement from U.S. and international non-governmental organizations to implement activities in support of a program entitled FANIKISHA Institutional Strengthening Project. While for-profit firms may participate, pursuant to 22 CFR 226.81, it is USAID policy not to award profit under assistance instruments such as the one we are anticipating issuing as a result of this RFA..
Please refer to the Program Description for a complete statement of goals and expected results.
An Applicant under consideration for an award under this RFA, that has never received funding from USAID will be subject to a pre-award audit to determine fiscal responsibility, ensure adequacy of financial controls and establish an indirect cost rate.
Subject to the availability of funds, USAID intends to provide approximately between $38 to $44 million in total USAID funding over the 5- year period contemplated for this Agreement. USAID reserves the right to fund any or none of the applications submitted.
Award will be made to that responsible applicant whose application best meets the requirements of this RFA and the selection criteria contained herein. This RFA and any future amendments can be downloaded from http://www.grants.gov.
In the event of an inconsistency between the documents comprising this RFA, it shall be resolved at the discretion of the Agreement Officer.
Any questions concerning this RFA should be submitted in writing to Francis Kavulu, via email at cafrica@usaid.gov by the date listed above. Questions send to any other e-mail address will not be responded to. The e-mail transmitting the questions must reference the RFA number and title on the subject line of the e-mail. The deadline for receiving questions is April 4, 2011 2:00 pm local time, Nairobi, Kenya. If there are problems in downloading the RFA from the Internet, please let us know and we will be pleased to send it to you via e-mail. If you decide to submit an application, please note that an electronic submission is required.
Electronically to:
cafrica@usaid.gov
RFA 623-11-000004, FANIKISHA Institutional Strengthening Project must be indicated on the subject line of the e-mail
Applications should be sent as email attachments to cafrica@usaid.gov
Applicants are requested to submit both technical and cost portions of their applications. To be eligible for award, the applicant must provide all required information in its application, including the requirements found in any attachments to the Grants.gov opportunity. Award will be made to that responsible applicant whose application offers the greatest value to the U.S. Government.
Issuance of this RFA does not constitute an award commitment on the part of the Government, nor does it commit the Government to pay for costs incurred in the preparation and submission of an application. Further, the Government reserves the right to reject any or all applications received. In addition, final award of any resultant grant cannot be made until funds have been fully appropriated, allocated, and committed through internal USAID procedures. While it is anticipated that these procedures will be successfully completed, potential applicants are hereby notified of these requirements and conditions for award. Applications are submitted at the risk of the applicant. Should circumstances prevent USAID from making an award, all preparation and submission costs are at the applicant's expense.
Applications must be received by the closing date and time indicated at the top of this cover letter. Late applications will not be considered for award. Applications must be directly responsive to the terms and conditions of this RFA. Telegraphic or fax applications (entire proposal) are not authorized for this RFA and will not be accepted.
Assistance Listing
What is an ALN?Reported obligations under ALN 98.001
Historical data · not a predictionAgency contact (as published)
Kenya USAID-Nairobi
fkavulu@usaid.gov
YOUR NUMBER
Quick answers
Who is eligible to apply for “FANIKISHA Institutional Strengthening Project”?
The notice lists eligibility as unrestricted — open to any type of entity — subject to clarifications in the notice's additional eligibility information.
How much funding is available through “FANIKISHA Institutional Strengthening Project”?
Per the notice, individual awards are listed as $40m – $44m and total estimated program funding is $44,000,000.
How do I apply for “FANIKISHA Institutional Strengthening Project”?
Applications are submitted through the official source, not through GrantsJunction. Open the official notice on Grants.gov (opportunity RFA-623-11-000004), and review the full announcement and application package. Organizations applying through Grants.gov generally need an active SAM.gov registration and a Grants.gov account, which can take several weeks to set up.
Related open opportunities
Matched on shared Assistance Listings, agency, categories and eligible applicant types.
Limited Competition: Tribal Institutional Review Board Establishment and Enhancement (TIRBEE)
National Institutes of Health- Award range
- Amount not specified
- Est. close
- May 25, 2027 (est.)
- Who can apply
- Federally recognized tribal governments and Others (see notice)
Limited Competition: Ruth L. Kirschstein National Research Service Award (NRSA) Institutional Research Training Grant for the Clinical and Translational Science Awards Program
National Institutes of Health- Award range
- Amount not specified
- Est. close
- Jan 25, 2027 (est.)
- Who can apply
- Others (see notice)
Tribal Institutional Review Board Establishment and Enhancement (TIRBEE) (R24 - Clinical Trial Not Allowed)
National Institutes of Health- Award range
- Amount not specified
- Closes
- Jan 27, 2027
- Who can apply
- Federally recognized tribal governments and Others (see notice)
Limited Competition: Institutional Mentored Research Career Development Program for the Clinical and Translational Science Awards Program
National Institutes of Health- Award range
- Amount not specified
- Est. close
- Feb 12, 2027 (est.)
- Who can apply
- Others (see notice)
Ruth L. Kirschstein National Research Service Award (NRSA) Institutional Research Training Grant (Parent T32)
National Institutes of Health- Award range
- Amount not specified
- Closes
- May 4, 2028
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 12 more
Institutional Network Award for Promoting Kidney, Urologic, and Hematologic Research Training (U2C - Clinical Trial Not Allowed)
National Institutes of Health- Award range
- Up to $2.1M
- Closes
- May 26, 2028
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 12 more