Independent research tool — not a government agency. Official notices govern.Refreshed
ForecastedResearch announcementOpportunity RFA-AI-28-003

HIV/AIDS Clinical Trials Network Statistical and Data Management Centers

National Institutes of Health · Department of Health and Human Services

At a glance

HIV/AIDS Clinical Trials Network Statistical and Data Management Centers is a forecasted federal cooperative agreement opportunity from the National Institutes of Health (Department of Health and Human Services). The agency's forecast estimates an application due date of January 22, 2027; forecast dates can change. Applicant types listed as eligible include state governments, county governments, city or township governments, special district governments, independent school districts and 10 more. Cost sharing is not required. It is funded under Assistance Listing 93.310 (Trans-NIH Research Support) and 1 other listing.

Summary assembled from the official notice's fields. The official notice governs.

Key facts

  1. Apr 8, 2026Forecast posted
  2. Aug 25, 2026 (est.)Full notice expected
  3. Jan 22, 2027 (est.)Application deadlinenext date
  4. Dec 1, 2027 (est.)Est. award date
Posted
Apr 8, 2026
Est. close date
Jan 22, 2027
Est. award date
Dec 1, 2027
Award floor
Not specified
Award ceiling
Not specified
Est. total funding
Not specified
Expected awards
Not specified
Cost sharing
Not required
Funding instrument
Cooperative Agreement
Opportunity category
Discretionary
Fiscal year
FY2028

Typical awards for this program (SAM.gov listing for ALN 93.310, not this notice): $3,000 to $27,999,994 with the average being $640,952.

Who can apply

  • State governments
  • County governments
  • City or township governments
  • Special district governments
  • Independent school districts
  • Public colleges & universities
  • Federally recognized tribal governments
  • Public & Indian housing authorities
  • Native American tribal organizations
  • 501(c)(3) nonprofits
  • Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status
  • Private colleges & universities
  • For-profit organizations (not small businesses)
  • Small businesses
  • Others (see notice)

Additional information on eligibility (from the notice)

Other Eligible ApplicantsIndian/Native American Tribal Governments (Other than Federally Recognized);Eligible Agencies of the Federal Government;U.S. Territory or Possession;Faith-based or Community-based Organizations;Regional Organizations.

A quick check against the listed applicant types — other requirements in the notice still apply.

Based on the published notice. Review the official notice for complete eligibility requirements.

What it funds

Official synopsis as published by the agency, formatted for readability.

The National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases (NIAID) seeks to advance the National Institutes of Health (NIH) mission by supporting four Clinical Trials Networks (CTNs) each comprised of a Leadership and Operations Center, Statistical and Data Management Center (SDMC), and Laboratory Center (LC) working with Clinical Trials Units (CTUs), to advance prevention, treatment, and implementation research on HIV and HIV-associated diseases. This NOFO will solicit applications for up to four SDMCs to provide leadership for developing and implementing each CTN research agenda with the goal of ending the HIV epidemic. Each SDMC will coordinate study design and execution, including data collection, monitoring, and analyses. SDMCs manage clinical and laboratory data submitted by CTUs and the LC ensuring data quality, regulatory compliance, and continual reporting of protocol and site performance. SDMCs foster innovative trial design and statistical methods, statistical and data practices harmonization, and ensure validated systems for data capture and integration, according to NIH data sharing policies.

Grant authorities that allow NIAID to forecast this opportunity are as follows: Sections 301 and 405 of the Public Health Service Act as amended (42 USC 241 and 284) and under Federal Regulations 42 CFR Part 52 and 2 CFR Part 200.

How to apply

0 of 8 done · progress saved in this browser

Assistance Listings

What is an ALN?

Reported obligations under ALN 93.310

Historical data · not a prediction
FY24$1.17B
FY25$1.06B
FY26$28.1M est.
Source: SAM.gov Assistance Listing 93.310. Program-wide totals, not awards from this specific opportunity.

Who was funded under ALN 93.310

Historical data · not a prediction

Since October 1, 2023, 5,175 grant awards had funding actions under Trans-NIH Research Support, with 7,955 sub-awards passed on to other organizations. These are program-wide awards, not awards from this specific notice.

  1. WASHINGTON UNIVERSITY, THE$96.5M
  2. THE CHILDREN'S HOSPITAL OF PHILADELPHIA$95.5M
  3. THE LELAND STANFORD JUNIOR UNIVERSITY$95.3M
  4. YALE UNIV$81.2M
  5. THE JOHNS HOPKINS UNIVERSITY$76M
Recipients, states, recent awards and sub-awards →Source: USAspending.gov.

Agency contact (as published)

Division of AIDS
sciops@niaid.nih.gov
Please contact via e-mail.

Quick answers

Is “HIV/AIDS Clinical Trials Network Statistical and Data Management Centers” open for applications yet?

Not yet. It is a forecast — an agency's advance notice of an expected opportunity. The agency estimates posting the full notice around August 25, 2026. Forecast details and dates can change.

Who is eligible to apply for “HIV/AIDS Clinical Trials Network Statistical and Data Management Centers”?

The official notice names these applicant types as eligible: State governments, County governments, City or township governments, Special district governments, Independent school districts, Public colleges & universities, Federally recognized tribal governments, Public & Indian housing authorities, Native American tribal organizations, 501(c)(3) nonprofits, Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status, Private colleges & universities and 3 more. Additional restrictions may apply; review the full notice.

How do I apply for “HIV/AIDS Clinical Trials Network Statistical and Data Management Centers”?

Applications are submitted through the official source, not through GrantsJunction. Open the official notice on Grants.gov (opportunity RFA-AI-28-003), and review the full announcement and application package. Organizations applying through Grants.gov generally need an active SAM.gov registration and a Grants.gov account, which can take several weeks to set up.

Matched on shared Assistance Listings, agency, categories and eligible applicant types.

ForecastedResearchALN 93.310, 93.855
Award range
Amount not specified
Est. close
Jan 22, 2027 (est.)
Who can apply
State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 12 more
Source: Grants.govVerified today
ForecastedResearchALN 93.310, 93.855
Award range
Amount not specified
Est. close
Jan 22, 2027 (est.)
Who can apply
State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 12 more
Source: Grants.govVerified today