Limited Competition: Resources and Workforce Development for the Regional Biocontainment Laboratories
National Institutes of Health · Department of Health and Human Services
At a glance
Limited Competition: Resources and Workforce Development for the Regional Biocontainment Laboratories is a forecasted federal cooperative agreement opportunity from the National Institutes of Health (Department of Health and Human Services). The agency's forecast estimates an application due date of September 30, 2027; forecast dates can change. Total estimated funding is $36M across about 12 awards. Applicant types listed as eligible include public colleges & universities and private colleges & universities. Cost sharing is not required. It is funded under Assistance Listing 93.855 (Allergy and Infectious Diseases Research).
Summary assembled from the official notice's fields. The official notice governs.
Key facts
- Jun 24, 2026Forecast posted
- Jul 2, 2027 (est.)Full notice expectednext date
- Sep 30, 2027 (est.)Application deadline
- Aug 1, 2028 (est.)Est. award date
- Posted
- Jun 24, 2026
- Est. close date
- Sep 30, 2027
- Est. award date
- Aug 1, 2028
- Award floor
- Not specified
- Award ceiling
- Not specified
- Est. total funding
- $36,000,000
- Implied average award
- $3,000,000 calculated
- Expected awards
- 12
- Cost sharing
- Not required
- Funding instrument
- Cooperative Agreement
- Opportunity category
- Discretionary
- Fiscal year
- FY2028
Typical awards for this program (SAM.gov listing for ALN 93.855, not this notice): from $2,500 to $6,395,901 and the average $426,165.
Implied average = estimated total funding ÷ expected number of awards, calculated by GrantsJunction. Actual awards vary.
Who can apply
- Public colleges & universities
- Private colleges & universities
Additional information on eligibility (from the notice)
Eligible ApplicantsUniversity of Alabama at BirminghamTulane UniversityUniversity of TennesseeGeorge Mason UniversityDuke UniversityRutgers UniversityTufts UniversityUniversity of PittsburghUniversity of ChicagoUniversity of MissouriUniversity of LouisvilleColorado State University
A quick check against the listed applicant types — other requirements in the notice still apply.
Based on the published notice. Review the official notice for complete eligibility requirements.
What it funds
Official synopsis as published by the agency, formatted for readability.
The National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases (NIAID) seeks to advance its mission by providing critical resources, staff and facilities support for the Regional Biocontainment Laboratories (RBLs). The RBLs provide biosafety level 2 and 3 (BSL-2/3) biocontainment facilities for research on infectious diseases. They play a critical role in public health emergency response by facilitating key activities related to infectious disease outbreaks and biosafety/biosecurity concerns. Congress has denoted the RBLs a NIAID research priority. This program will provide multi-year funding for facility maintenance, operations and biocontainment-specific training for personnel to maintain a capable BSL-3 level workforce in the United States. This is a Forecast for a Limited Competition that will invite application(s) from eligible organization(s) to apply. Please see the Eligibility Section for additional information. In accordance with NIH standard peer-review processes, the application(s) will be peer-reviewed, and only meritorious application(s) will be considered for funding. Grant authorities that allow NIAID to forecast this opportunity are as follows: Sections 301 and 405 of the Public Health Service Act as amended (42 USC 241 and 284) and under Federal Regulations 42 CFR Part 52 and 2 CFR Part 200.
How to apply
0 of 8 done · progress saved in this browser
Assistance Listing
What is an ALN?Reported obligations under ALN 93.855
Historical data · not a predictionAgency contact (as published)
NIAID RBL-NBL (Division of Microbiology and Infectious Diseases)
NIAIDRBL-NBL@mail.nih.gov
Please contact via email.
Quick answers
Is this opportunity open for applications yet?
Not yet. It is a forecast — an agency's advance notice of an expected opportunity. The agency estimates posting the full notice around July 2, 2027. Forecast details and dates can change.
Who is eligible to apply for this opportunity?
The official notice names these applicant types as eligible: Public colleges & universities and Private colleges & universities. Additional restrictions may apply; review the full notice.
How much funding is available through this opportunity?
Per the notice, total estimated program funding is $36,000,000 and the agency expects to make about 12 awards.
How do I apply for this opportunity?
Applications are submitted through the official source, not through GrantsJunction. Open the official notice on Grants.gov (opportunity RFA-AI-28-013), and review the full announcement and application package. Organizations applying through Grants.gov generally need an active SAM.gov registration and a Grants.gov account, which can take several weeks to set up.
Related open opportunities
Matched on shared Assistance Listings, agency, categories and eligible applicant types.
HIV/AIDS Clinical Trials Network Laboratory Centers
National Institutes of Health- Award range
- Amount not specified
- Est. close
- Jan 22, 2027 (est.)
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 12 more
Limited Competition: International epidemiology Databases to Evaluate AIDS (IeDEA) (U01 Clinical Trial Not Allowed)
National Institutes of Health- Award range
- Amount not specified
- Est. close
- Dec 3, 2025 (est.)
- Who can apply
- Public colleges & universities, 501(c)(3) nonprofits, Private colleges & universities and 1 more
Limited Competition: Stimulating Access to Research in Residency Transition Scholar (StARRTS) (K38 Clinical Trial Not Allowed)
National Institutes of Health- Award range
- $2.18M – $6.44M
- Closes
- Oct 13, 2028
- Who can apply
- Others (see notice)
Limited Competition: Clinical and Translational Science Award (CTSA) Program: Collaborative and Innovative Acceleration Award (UG3/UH3 Clinical Trial Optional)
National Institutes of Health- Award range
- Up to $650K
- Closes
- Oct 19, 2027
- Who can apply
- Public colleges & universities
Limited Competition: CCRP Initiative: Promoting a Basic Understanding of Chemical Threats to Skin (R34 Clinical Trial Not Allowed)
National Institutes of Health- Award range
- Amount not specified
- Closes
- Jan 7, 2028
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 12 more
Ruth L. Kirschstein National Research Service Award (NRSA) Institutional Research Training Grant (Parent T32)
National Institutes of Health- Award range
- Amount not specified
- Closes
- May 4, 2028
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 12 more