Independent research tool — not a government agency. Official notices govern.Refreshed
OpenResearch announcementOpportunity RFA-AT-25-003

HEAL Initiative: Pain Research Enhancement Program (PREP) (R15 Clinical Trial Optional)

National Institutes of Health · Department of Health and Human Services

At a glance

HEAL Initiative: Pain Research Enhancement Program (PREP) (R15 Clinical Trial Optional) is an open federal grant opportunity from the National Institutes of Health (Department of Health and Human Services). Applications are due November 23, 2026. Individual awards are listed as up to $375K. Applicant types listed as eligible include public colleges & universities, private colleges & universities and others (see notice). Cost sharing is not required. It is funded under Assistance Listing 93.121 (Oral Diseases and Disorders Research) and 6 other listings.

Summary assembled from the official notice's fields. The official notice governs.

Key facts

  1. Jan 8, 2025Posted
  2. Nov 23, 2026Application deadlinenext date
  3. Dec 29, 2026Archived
Posted
Jan 8, 2025
Close date
Nov 23, 2026
Archive date
Dec 29, 2026
Award floor
Not specified
Award ceiling
$375,000
Est. total funding
Not specified
Expected awards
Not specified
Cost sharing
Not required
Funding instrument
Grant
Opportunity category
Discretionary

Who can apply

  • Public colleges & universities
  • Private colleges & universities
  • Others (see notice)

Additional information on eligibility (from the notice)

Other Eligible Applicants include the following: Alaska Native and Native Hawaiian Serving Institutions; Asian American Native American Pacific Islander Serving Institutions (AANAPISISs); Hispanic-serving Institutions; Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCUs); Tribally Controlled Colleges and Universities (TCCUs) ; Non-domestic (non-U.S.) Entities (Foreign Organizations) are not eligible to apply. Non-domestic (non-U.S.) components of U.S. Organizations are not eligible to apply. Foreign components, as defined in the NIH Grants Policy Statement, are allowed.

A quick check against the listed applicant types — other requirements in the notice still apply.

Based on the published notice. Review the official notice for complete eligibility requirements.

What it funds

Official synopsis as published by the agency, formatted for readability.

The purpose of this initiative is to: (1) support the efforts by R15-eligible Principal Investigators (PIs) to conduct rigorous basic and/or mechanistic pain research projects; (2) promote integrated, interdisciplinary research partnerships between R15-eligible PIs and additional investigators from U.S. domestic institutions, and (3) enhance the pain research environment at the R15-eligible institution for health professional trainees or undergraduate and/or graduate students by actively engaging them in the proposed pain research projects.

Additional information from the agency ↗

Full announcement & documents

The full announcement has the complete rules — page limits, required attachments, evaluation criteria and any letter-of-intent dates. Files download directly from Grants.gov.

How to apply

0 of 8 done · progress saved in this browser

Assistance Listings

What is an ALN?

Reported obligations under ALN 93.121

Historical data · not a prediction
FY24$320M
FY25$332M
FY26$337M est.
Source: SAM.gov Assistance Listing 93.121. Program-wide totals, not awards from this specific opportunity.

Who was funded under ALN 93.121

Historical data · not a prediction

Since October 1, 2023, 2,560 grant awards had funding actions under Oral Diseases and Disorders Research, with 1,599 sub-awards passed on to other organizations. These are program-wide awards, not awards from this specific notice.

  1. REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, SAN FRANCISCO, THE$48.7M
  2. REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF MICHIGAN$48.5M
  3. UNIVERSITY OF SOUTHERN CALIFORNIA$41.7M
  4. UNIVERSITY OF PITTSBURGH - OF THE COMMONWEALTH SYSTEM OF HIGHER EDUCATION$41.5M
  5. TRUSTEES OF THE UNIVERSITY OF PENNSYLVANIA, THE$35.4M
Recipients, states, recent awards and sub-awards →Source: USAspending.gov.

Agency contact (as published)

National Institutes of Health
grantsinfo@nih.gov
301-402-2541

Quick answers

When is the deadline for “HEAL Initiative: Pain Research Enhancement Program (PREP) (R15 Clinical Trial Optional)”?

According to the official notice, applications are due November 23, 2026. Confirm the deadline and submission time on Grants.gov before applying.

Who is eligible to apply for “HEAL Initiative: Pain Research Enhancement Program (PREP) (R15 Clinical Trial Optional)”?

The official notice names these applicant types as eligible: Public colleges & universities, Private colleges & universities and Others (see notice). Additional restrictions may apply; review the full notice.

How much funding is available through “HEAL Initiative: Pain Research Enhancement Program (PREP) (R15 Clinical Trial Optional)”?

Per the notice, individual awards are listed as up to $375k.

How do I apply for “HEAL Initiative: Pain Research Enhancement Program (PREP) (R15 Clinical Trial Optional)”?

Applications are submitted through the official source, not through GrantsJunction. Open the official notice on Grants.gov (opportunity RFA-AT-25-003), and review the full announcement and application package. Organizations applying through Grants.gov generally need an active SAM.gov registration and a Grants.gov account, which can take several weeks to set up.

Matched on shared Assistance Listings, agency, categories and eligible applicant types.