Independent research tool — not a government agency. Official notices govern.Refreshed
ForecastedResearch announcementOpportunity RFA-DK-27-128

George M. O’Brien Urology Cooperative Research Centers Program (U54 Clinical Trial Optional)

National Institutes of Health · Department of Health and Human Services

At a glance

George M. O’Brien Urology Cooperative Research Centers Program (U54 Clinical Trial Optional) is a forecasted federal cooperative agreement opportunity from the National Institutes of Health (Department of Health and Human Services). The agency's forecast estimates an application due date of July 1, 2026; forecast dates can change. Total estimated funding is $5.3M across about 5 awards. Applicant types listed as eligible include state governments, county governments, city or township governments, special district governments, independent school districts and 10 more. Cost sharing is not required. It is funded under Assistance Listing 93.847 (Diabetes, Digestive, and Kidney Diseases Extramural Research).

Summary assembled from the official notice's fields. The official notice governs.

Key facts

  1. Sep 10, 2025Forecast posted
  2. Apr 1, 2026 (est.)Full notice expected
  3. Jul 1, 2026 (est.)Application deadline
  4. Jan 1, 2027 (est.)Est. award datenext date
Posted
Sep 10, 2025
Est. close date
Jul 1, 2026
Est. award date
Jan 1, 2027
Award floor
Not specified
Award ceiling
Not specified
Est. total funding
$5,300,000
Implied average award
$1,060,000 calculated
Expected awards
5
Cost sharing
Not required
Funding instrument
Cooperative Agreement
Opportunity category
Discretionary
Fiscal year
FY2027

Typical awards for this program (SAM.gov listing for ALN 93.847, not this notice): Project Grants: Range of $1,300 to $10,834,000; $418,000 average NRSAs: Range of $2,500 to $869,000; $116,000 average SBIR: Range of $6,500 to $2,074,000; $585,000 average

Implied average = estimated total funding ÷ expected number of awards, calculated by GrantsJunction. Actual awards vary.

Who can apply

  • State governments
  • County governments
  • City or township governments
  • Special district governments
  • Independent school districts
  • Public colleges & universities
  • Federally recognized tribal governments
  • Public & Indian housing authorities
  • Native American tribal organizations
  • 501(c)(3) nonprofits
  • Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status
  • Private colleges & universities
  • For-profit organizations (not small businesses)
  • Small businesses
  • Others (see notice)

Additional information on eligibility (from the notice)

Other Eligible ApplicantsIndian/Native American Tribal Governments (Other than Federally Recognized);Eligible Agencies of the Federal Government;U.S. Territory or Possession;Faith-based or Community-based Organizations;Regional Organizations;Non-domestic (non-U.S.) Entities (Foreign Institutions).

A quick check against the listed applicant types — other requirements in the notice still apply.

Based on the published notice. Review the official notice for complete eligibility requirements.

What it funds

Official synopsis as published by the agency, formatted for readability.

This concept seeks support for continuation of the NIDDK George M. O’Brien Urology Cooperative Research Centers (U54). The Urology Cooperative Research Centers foster impactful, multi-disciplinary research through diverse collaborations within and outside the Centers and serve as a national resource for the urology research community.

How to apply

0 of 8 done · progress saved in this browser

Assistance Listing

What is an ALN?

Reported obligations under ALN 93.847

Historical data · not a prediction
FY24$1.97B
FY25$2.04B
FY26$111M est.
Source: SAM.gov Assistance Listing 93.847. Program-wide totals, not awards from this specific opportunity.

Who was funded under ALN 93.847

Historical data · not a prediction

Since October 1, 2023, 8,539 grant awards had funding actions under Diabetes, Digestive, and Kidney Diseases Extramural Research, with 6,760 sub-awards passed on to other organizations. These are program-wide awards, not awards from this specific notice.

  1. REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF MICHIGAN$205M
  2. TRUSTEES OF THE UNIVERSITY OF PENNSYLVANIA, THE$182M
  3. UNIVERSITY OF PITTSBURGH - OF THE COMMONWEALTH SYSTEM OF HIGHER EDUCATION$143M
  4. WASHINGTON UNIVERSITY, THE$138M
  5. REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, SAN FRANCISCO, THE$136M
Recipients, states, recent awards and sub-awards →Source: USAspending.gov.

Agency contact (as published)

Deepak Nihalani
deepak.nihalani@nih.gov
301.594.6417

Quick answers

Is this opportunity open for applications yet?

Not yet. It is a forecast — an agency's advance notice of an expected opportunity. The agency estimates posting the full notice around April 1, 2026. Forecast details and dates can change.

Who is eligible to apply for this opportunity?

The official notice names these applicant types as eligible: State governments, County governments, City or township governments, Special district governments, Independent school districts, Public colleges & universities, Federally recognized tribal governments, Public & Indian housing authorities, Native American tribal organizations, 501(c)(3) nonprofits, Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status, Private colleges & universities and 3 more. Additional restrictions may apply; review the full notice.

How much funding is available through this opportunity?

Per the notice, total estimated program funding is $5,300,000 and the agency expects to make about 5 awards.

How do I apply for this opportunity?

Applications are submitted through the official source, not through GrantsJunction. Open the official notice on Grants.gov (opportunity RFA-DK-27-128), and review the full announcement and application package. Organizations applying through Grants.gov generally need an active SAM.gov registration and a Grants.gov account, which can take several weeks to set up.

Matched on shared Assistance Listings, agency, categories and eligible applicant types.