Limited Competition: Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities Research Centers 2027 (P50 Clinical Trial Optional)
National Institutes of Health · Department of Health and Human Services
At a glance
Limited Competition: Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities Research Centers 2027 (P50 Clinical Trial Optional) is a closed federal grant opportunity from the National Institutes of Health (Department of Health and Human Services). The application deadline was October 2, 2026. Individual awards are listed as up to $800K, with about 15 awards expected and $18M in total estimated funding. Applicant types listed as eligible include others (see notice). Cost sharing is not required. It is funded under Assistance Listing 93.865 (Child Health and Human Development Extramural Research).
Summary assembled from the official notice's fields. The official notice governs.
Key facts
- May 15, 2026Posted
- Oct 2, 2026Application deadline
- Jul 1, 2026 (est.)Est. award date
- Dec 1, 2026Archivednext date
- Posted
- May 15, 2026
- Close date
- Oct 2, 2026
- Archive date
- Dec 1, 2026
- Est. award date
- Jul 1, 2026
- Award floor
- Not specified
- Award ceiling
- $800,000
- Est. total funding
- $18,000,000
- Expected awards
- 15
- Cost sharing
- Not required
- Funding instrument
- Grant
- Opportunity category
- Discretionary
Who can apply
- Others (see notice)
Additional information on eligibility (from the notice)
Refer to Section III. Eligibility Information in the NOFO for additional information on eligibility.This competition is limited to applicants that are recipients of IDDRC P50 awards under RFA-HD-20-016 or RFA-HD-21-009. Please refer to Section 1. Notice of Funding Opportunity Information for more details.Foreign Organizations/International Collaborations:Non-domestic (non-U.S.) Entities (Foreign Organization) are not eligible to apply.Non-domestic (non-U.S.) components of U.S. Organizations are not eligible to apply.Foreign components, as defined in the NIH Grants Policy Statement, are not allowed.
A quick check against the listed applicant types — other requirements in the notice still apply.
Based on the published notice. Review the official notice for complete eligibility requirements.
What it funds
Official synopsis as published by the agency, formatted for readability.
This is a Notice of Funding Opportunity (NOFO) for a Limited Competition that will invite application(s) from eligible organization(s) to apply. Please see Section III. Eligibility for additional information. The purpose of this NOFO is to seek applications in a limited competition for the Eunice Kennedy Shriver Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities Research Centers (IDDRCs). This NOFO invites applications to undergo peer review for research center grants designed to advance the diagnosis, prevention, treatment, and amelioration of intellectual and developmental disabilities (IDD) and is limited to IDDRCs funded under RFA-HD-20-016 or RFA-HD-21-009. In accordance with NIH standard peer-review processes, the application(s) will be peer-reviewed, and only meritorious application(s) will be considered for funding.This NOFO seeks applications from institutions that meet the qualifications for a multidisciplinary program of IDD research that will include: 1) 3-4 total Cores that facilitate interdisciplinary and translational research in IDD and its dissemination, and that support IDD-related projects funded by other sources; and 2) at least two and no more than three specific research projects related to one of several areas identified as areas of research need in IDD. Collaborative investigations combining expertise in translational science, biomarker assessment, outcome measure development, tool validation, bioinformatics, and therapeutic development will be encouraged. Funds for the majority of outside research projects using these core facilities come from independent sources including Federal, State, and private organizations. In addition, the Center should include plans for outreach, engagement, and dissemination to the community, including persons with lived experience (PWLE) of disabilities. The duration of these Centers will be 3 years in total.
Full announcement & documents
The full announcement has the complete rules — page limits, required attachments, evaluation criteria and any letter-of-intent dates. Files download directly from Grants.gov.
Assistance Listing
What is an ALN?Reported obligations under ALN 93.865
Historical data · not a predictionAgency contact (as published)
National Institutes of Health
NichdIDDRCProgram@nih.gov
301-402-2541
Quick answers
Who is eligible to apply for this opportunity?
The official notice lists these applicant types as eligible: Others (see notice). Additional restrictions may apply; review the full notice.
How much funding is available through this opportunity?
Per the notice, individual awards are listed as up to $800k, total estimated program funding is $18,000,000 and the agency expects to make about 15 awards.
How do I apply for this opportunity?
Applications are submitted through the official source, not through GrantsJunction. Open the official notice on Grants.gov (opportunity RFA-HD-27-012), and review the full announcement and application package. Organizations applying through Grants.gov generally need an active SAM.gov registration and a Grants.gov account, which can take several weeks to set up.
Related open opportunities
Matched on shared Assistance Listings, agency, categories and eligible applicant types.
Small Business Translator: MedTech and Digital Health Technologies
National Institutes of Health- Award range
- Amount not specified
- Est. close
- Oct 20, 2025 (est.)
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, Independent school districts and 8 more
Autism Centers of Excellence P50
National Institutes of Health- Award range
- Amount not specified
- Est. close
- Nov 2, 2026 (est.)
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 12 more
Ethical, Legal and Social Implications (ELSI) Exploratory/Developmental Research Grant (R21 Clinical Trial Optional)
National Institutes of Health- Award range
- Amount not specified
- Closes
- Nov 18, 2026
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 12 more
Mentored Research Scientist Development Award (Parent K01 - Independent Clinical Trial Not Allowed)
National Institutes of Health- Award range
- Amount not specified
- Closes
- May 7, 2027
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 12 more
Mentored Quantitative Research Development Award (Parent K25 Independent Clinical Trial Not Allowed)
National Institutes of Health- Award range
- Amount not specified
- Closes
- May 7, 2027
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 12 more
Mentored Quantitative Research Development Award (Parent K25 Independent Clinical Trial Required)
National Institutes of Health- Award range
- Amount not specified
- Closes
- May 7, 2027
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 12 more