Independent research tool — not a government agency. Official notices govern.Refreshed
ForecastedResearch announcementOpportunity RFA-MD-27-001

Limited Competition: NIMHD Initiative for Improving American Indian and Alaska Native Cancer Outcomes (U19 - Clinical Trial Optional)

National Institutes of Health · Department of Health and Human Services

At a glance

Limited Competition: NIMHD Initiative for Improving American Indian and Alaska Native Cancer Outcomes (U19 - Clinical Trial Optional) is a forecasted federal cooperative agreement opportunity from the National Institutes of Health (Department of Health and Human Services). The agency's forecast estimates an application due date of January 25, 2027; forecast dates can change. Total estimated funding is $3M across about 1 awards. Applicant types listed as eligible include public colleges & universities, 501(c)(3) nonprofits, nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status and private colleges & universities. Cost sharing is not required. It is funded under Assistance Listing 93.307 (Minority Health and Health Disparities Research).

Summary assembled from the official notice's fields. The official notice governs.

Key facts

  1. Jul 16, 2026Forecast posted
  2. Nov 25, 2026 (est.)Full notice expectednext date
  3. Jan 25, 2027 (est.)Application deadline
  4. Sep 30, 2027 (est.)Est. award date
Posted
Jul 16, 2026
Est. close date
Jan 25, 2027
Est. award date
Sep 30, 2027
Award floor
Not specified
Award ceiling
Not specified
Est. total funding
$3,000,000
Implied average award
$3,000,000 calculated
Expected awards
1
Cost sharing
Not required
Funding instrument
Cooperative Agreement
Opportunity category
Discretionary
Fiscal year
FY2027

Typical awards for this program (SAM.gov listing for ALN 93.307, not this notice): (1) Centers of Excellence on Environmental Health Disparities Research (P50) 3 total awards made by the NIMHD ranged from $1,359,847 to $1,513,011; average $1,433,333; (2) Endowment grants (S21): 2 total awards made by the NIMHD for $2,000,000 each; (3) Specialized Centers of Excellence (U54): 12 total awards made by the NIMHD ranged from $970,271 to $1,929,905; average $1,455,792; (4) NIMHD Minority Health and Health Disparities Research Training (MHRT, T37) grants: 12 total awards made by the NIMHD ranged from $197,856, to $283,553; average $265,097; (5) Small Business Innovation Research (SBIR) grants: 25 total awards made by the NIMHD ranged from $228,344 to $818,132; average $459,022; (6) Small Business Technology Transfer (STTR) Grants: 4 total awards made by the NIMHD ranged from $316,117 to $502,559 average $424,999; (7) Health Disparities Research Project grants and cooperative agreements (RPG): 309 total awards made by the NIMHD ranged from $1 to $1,867,461; average $524,008; (8) Research Centers in Minority Institutions (RCMI, U54/U24): 22 total awards made ranged from $1,306,265 to $6,473,264; average $3,826,584; (9) Research Centers in Minority Institution Clinical and Translational Research (RCTR) (U24): $0; (10) Research Centers in Minority Institutions Translational Research Network (RCTN) (U24): $1,306,265; (11) Clinical Research Education and Career Development (CRECD) Awards (R25): 4 total awards ranged from $526,358 to $540,000; average $534,207; (12) Pathway to Independence and Career Development Awards (Ks): 56 total awards made by the NIMHD ranged from $97,272 to $316,822; average $147,746; (13) NIH Research Conference Grants: one award, $50,000; (14) Transdisciplinary Collaborative Centers (U54): one award, $618,864; (15) Ruth L Kirschstein NRSA Individual Fellowships; 23 total awards ranged from $31,736 to $70,890; average $41,974; (16) NRSA training grants (T32): 2 total awards ranged from $209,346 to $209,830; average $209,588; (17) RADx emergency awards: 16 total awards ranged from $708,970 to $49,397,223; average $4,335,795; (18) NIH Directors New Innovator Award Program (DP2): one award, $1,449,000; (19) Centers for Multiple Chronic Diseases associated with Health Disparities (P50/U24): 12 total awards ranged from $2,415,592 to $5,055,281; average $3,900,708; (20) Building Population Health Research Capacity in the US Affiliated Pacific Islands (U24:): one award, $246,550; (21) NIH Faculty Institutional Recruitment for Sustainable Transformation (FIRST) Program (U24): one award, $1,229,873.

Implied average = estimated total funding ÷ expected number of awards, calculated by GrantsJunction. Actual awards vary.

Who can apply

  • Public colleges & universities
  • 501(c)(3) nonprofits
  • Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status
  • Private colleges & universities

A quick check against the listed applicant types — other requirements in the notice still apply.

Based on the published notice. Review the official notice for complete eligibility requirements.

What it funds

Official synopsis as published by the agency, formatted for readability.

The purpose of this Notice of Funding Opportunity (NOFO) is to support research that addresses the prevention, diagnosis, and treatment of cancers among American Indians and Alaska Natives (AI/AN), particularly those living in rural communities. The research objectives target overall cancer incidence and mortality, with the goal of making findings applicable and impactful in improving cancer outcomes in AI/AN patients and their families.

This is a Forecast for a Limited Competition that will invite application(s) from eligible organization(s) to apply. Please see Eligibility Section for additional information. In accordance with NIH standard peer-review processes, the application(s) will be peer-reviewed, and only meritorious application(s) will be considered for funding.

How to apply

0 of 8 done · progress saved in this browser

Assistance Listing

What is an ALN?

Reported obligations under ALN 93.307

Historical data · not a prediction
FY20$334M
FY21$899M
FY22$421M
FY23$540M
FY24$489M est.
FY25$489M est.
Source: SAM.gov Assistance Listing 93.307. Program-wide totals, not awards from this specific opportunity.

Who was funded under ALN 93.307

Historical data · not a prediction

Since October 1, 2023, 1,362 grant awards had funding actions under Minority Health and Health Disparities Research, with 2,005 sub-awards passed on to other organizations. These are program-wide awards, not awards from this specific notice.

  1. UNIVERSITY OF HAWAII$39.6M
  2. THE TRUSTEES OF COLUMBIA UNIVERSITY IN THE CITY OF NEW YORK$36.6M
  3. THE JOHNS HOPKINS UNIVERSITY$34.4M
  4. REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, SAN FRANCISCO, THE$29.8M
  5. SAN DIEGO STATE UNIVERSITY FOUNDATION$25.4M
Recipients, states, recent awards and sub-awards →Source: USAspending.gov.

Agency contact (as published)

NIMHD DCHPS Scientific Team
NIMHDDCHPSScientificTeam@mail.nih.gov
Please contact via e-mail

Places named in the notice

Alaska

Derived from the notice text. A place being named does not by itself restrict eligibility.

Quick answers

Is this opportunity open for applications yet?

Not yet. It is a forecast — an agency's advance notice of an expected opportunity. The agency estimates posting the full notice around November 25, 2026. Forecast details and dates can change.

Who is eligible to apply for this opportunity?

The official notice names these applicant types as eligible: Public colleges & universities, 501(c)(3) nonprofits, Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status and Private colleges & universities. Additional restrictions may apply; review the full notice.

How much funding is available through this opportunity?

Per the notice, total estimated program funding is $3,000,000 and the agency expects to make about 1 awards.

How do I apply for this opportunity?

Applications are submitted through the official source, not through GrantsJunction. Open the official notice on Grants.gov (opportunity RFA-MD-27-001), and review the full announcement and application package. Organizations applying through Grants.gov generally need an active SAM.gov registration and a Grants.gov account, which can take several weeks to set up.

Matched on shared Assistance Listings, agency, categories and eligible applicant types.