Independent research tool — not a government agency. Official notices govern.Refreshed
ForecastedResearch announcementOpportunity RFA-NS-28-006

BRAIN Initiative: Clinical Studies to Advance Next-Generation Devices for Recording and Modulation in the Human Central Nervous System

National Institutes of Health · Department of Health and Human Services

At a glance

BRAIN Initiative: Clinical Studies to Advance Next-Generation Devices for Recording and Modulation in the Human Central Nervous System is a forecasted federal cooperative agreement opportunity from the National Institutes of Health (Department of Health and Human Services). The agency's forecast estimates an application due date of January 28, 2027; forecast dates can change. Total estimated funding is $10M across about 3 awards. Applicant types listed as eligible include state governments, county governments, city or township governments, special district governments, independent school districts and 10 more. Cost sharing is not required. It is funded under Assistance Listing 93.372 (21st Century Cures Act - Brain Research through Advancing Innovative Neurotechnologies) and 1 other listing.

Summary assembled from the official notice's fields. The official notice governs.

Key facts

  1. Sep 10, 2026Forecast posted
  2. Dec 10, 2026 (est.)Full notice expectednext date
  3. Jan 28, 2027 (est.)Application deadline
  4. Dec 1, 2027 (est.)Est. award date
Posted
Sep 10, 2026
Est. close date
Jan 28, 2027
Est. award date
Dec 1, 2027
Award floor
Not specified
Award ceiling
Not specified
Est. total funding
$10,000,000
Implied average award
$3,333,333 calculated
Expected awards
3
Cost sharing
Not required
Funding instrument
Cooperative Agreement
Opportunity category
Discretionary
Fiscal year
FY2028

Typical awards for this program (SAM.gov listing for ALN 93.372, not this notice): Research grants: $104,571 to $17,683,580; $1,199,887. SBIR/STTR: Phase 1 not to exceed $150,000; Phase II not to exceed $1,000,000; however with appropriate justification, budget caps for Phase I and Phase II are $225,000 and $1,500,00 respectively.

Implied average = estimated total funding ÷ expected number of awards, calculated by GrantsJunction. Actual awards vary.

Who can apply

  • State governments
  • County governments
  • City or township governments
  • Special district governments
  • Independent school districts
  • Public colleges & universities
  • Federally recognized tribal governments
  • Public & Indian housing authorities
  • Native American tribal organizations
  • 501(c)(3) nonprofits
  • Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status
  • Private colleges & universities
  • For-profit organizations (not small businesses)
  • Small businesses
  • Others (see notice)

Additional information on eligibility (from the notice)

Other Eligible ApplicantsIndian/Native American Tribal Governments (Other than Federally Recognized);Eligible Agencies of the Federal Government;U.S. Territory or Possession;Faith-based or Community-based Organizations;Regional Organizations;Non-domestic (non-U.S.) Entities (Foreign Institutions).

A quick check against the listed applicant types — other requirements in the notice still apply.

Based on the published notice. Review the official notice for complete eligibility requirements.

What it funds

Official synopsis as published by the agency, formatted for readability.

The Brain Research through Advancing Innovative Neurotechnologies® (BRAIN) Initiative along with other NIH Institutes and Centers (ICs) intends to publish a Notice of Funding Opportunity (NOFO) to encourage investigators to pursue first-in-human or early-stage clinical studies for recording and/or stimulating devices to treat central nervous system disorders and better understand the human brain. This NOFO will be a part of a milestone-driven program, involving collaborative activities with the program officer(s)/director(s) assigned to the funded projects and joint responsibility for the successful management of the program post-award. This NOFO will allow participation in the NIH BRAIN Initiative Public Private Partnership Program which aims to facilitate partnerships between clinical investigators and manufacturers of latest-generation stimulating and/or recording devices to conduct clinical research in the CNS. Through the PPP, the BRAIN Initiative is interested in reducing barriers to negotiating such partnerships and ensuring that new clinical studies leverage manufacturers' existing data. Data demonstrating safety and utility of these devices are very costly to obtain and pose a substantial barrier to research progress.

Applications may be Non-Significant Risk (NSR), such as non-invasive devices, or Significant Risk (SR) requiring an Investigational Device Exemption (IDE) from the FDA, such as chronic implants. The clinical study is expected to provide data to answer key questions about the function or final design of a device and is expected to provide information about the device function or final design that cannot be practically obtained through additional non-clinical assessments (e.g., bench top or animal studies) due to the novelty of the device or its intended use. Applications are not being solicited at this time. Notice is being provided to allow potential applicants sufficient time to develop meaningful collaborations and responsive projects.

How to apply

0 of 8 done · progress saved in this browser

Assistance Listings

What is an ALN?

Reported obligations under ALN 93.372

Historical data · not a prediction
FY24$163M
FY25$262M
FY26— est.
Source: SAM.gov Assistance Listing 93.372. Program-wide totals, not awards from this specific opportunity.

Agency contact (as published)

BRAIN Initiative Devices
NINDS-Devices@nih.gov
Please contact via e-mail.

Quick answers

Is this opportunity open for applications yet?

Not yet. It is a forecast — an agency's advance notice of an expected opportunity. The agency estimates posting the full notice around December 10, 2026. Forecast details and dates can change.

Who is eligible to apply for this opportunity?

The official notice lists these applicant types as eligible: State governments, County governments, City or township governments, Special district governments, Independent school districts, Public colleges & universities, Federally recognized tribal governments, Public & Indian housing authorities, Native American tribal organizations, 501(c)(3) nonprofits, Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status, Private colleges & universities and 3 more. Additional restrictions may apply; review the full notice.

How much funding is available through this opportunity?

Per the notice, total estimated program funding is $10,000,000 and the agency expects to make about 3 awards.

How do I apply for this opportunity?

Applications are submitted through the official source, not through GrantsJunction. Open the official notice on Grants.gov (opportunity RFA-NS-28-006), and review the full announcement and application package. Organizations applying through Grants.gov generally need an active SAM.gov registration and a Grants.gov account, which can take several weeks to set up.

Matched on shared Assistance Listings, agency, categories and eligible applicant types.