Independent research tool — not a government agency. Official notices govern.Refreshed
ForecastedResearch announcementOpportunity RFA-NS-28-008

NIH Stroke Clinical Trials Network (StrokeNet) Infrastructure – Regional Coordinating Stroke Centers (RCCs)

National Institutes of Health · Department of Health and Human Services

At a glance

NIH Stroke Clinical Trials Network (StrokeNet) Infrastructure – Regional Coordinating Stroke Centers (RCCs) is a forecasted federal cooperative agreement opportunity from the National Institutes of Health (Department of Health and Human Services). The agency's forecast estimates an application due date of January 25, 2028; forecast dates can change. Applicant types listed as eligible include state governments, county governments, city or township governments, special district governments, independent school districts and 10 more. Cost sharing is not required. It is funded under Assistance Listing 93.853 (Extramural Research Programs in the Neurosciences and Neurological Disorders).

Summary assembled from the official notice's fields. The official notice governs.

Key facts

  1. Sep 10, 2026Forecast posted
  2. Dec 20, 2027 (est.)Full notice expectednext date
  3. Jan 25, 2028 (est.)Application deadline
  4. Dec 1, 2028 (est.)Est. award date
Posted
Sep 10, 2026
Est. close date
Jan 25, 2028
Est. award date
Dec 1, 2028
Award floor
Not specified
Award ceiling
Not specified
Est. total funding
Not specified
Expected awards
Not specified
Cost sharing
Not required
Funding instrument
Cooperative Agreement
Opportunity category
Discretionary
Fiscal year
FY2029

Typical awards for this program (SAM.gov listing for ALN 93.853, not this notice): Research grants: $22,709 to $7,753,905; $585,282. National Research Service Awards: Institutional $34,076 to $692,757; $193,304. Individual: $5,495 to $90,284; $46,239. SBIR/STTR: Phase 1 not to exceed $150,000; Phase II not to exceed $1,000,000; however with appropriate justification, budget caps for Phase I and Phase II are $225,000 and $1,500,00 respectively

Who can apply

  • State governments
  • County governments
  • City or township governments
  • Special district governments
  • Independent school districts
  • Public colleges & universities
  • Federally recognized tribal governments
  • Public & Indian housing authorities
  • Native American tribal organizations
  • 501(c)(3) nonprofits
  • Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status
  • Private colleges & universities
  • For-profit organizations (not small businesses)
  • Small businesses
  • Others (see notice)

Additional information on eligibility (from the notice)

Other Eligible ApplicantsIndian/Native American Tribal Governments (Other than Federally Recognized);Eligible Agencies of the Federal Government;U.S. Territory or Possession;Faith-based or Community-based Organizations;Regional Organizations.

A quick check against the listed applicant types — other requirements in the notice still apply.

Based on the published notice. Review the official notice for complete eligibility requirements.

What it funds

Official synopsis as published by the agency, formatted for readability.

The National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke (NINDS) at the National Institutes of Health (NIH) seek to continue to support the Infrastructure for the NIH Stroke Clinical Trials Network (NIH StrokeNet). The program will encourage applications for network regional clinical enrollment coordinating centers (RCC's) to support the NIH StrokeNet clinical trial network. The NIH StrokeNet conducts clinical trials focused on advancing acute stroke treatment, stroke prevention, and stroke recovery and rehabilitation across the lifespan. Its mission is to improve outcomes for individuals who experience stroke by evaluating promising new therapies for patients with stroke and those at risk for stroke. 

Applications are not being solicited at this time.  This notice is being provided to allow potential applicants sufficient time to develop meaningful collaborations and responsive applications for centers.

How to apply

0 of 8 done · progress saved in this browser

Assistance Listing

What is an ALN?

Reported obligations under ALN 93.853

Historical data · not a prediction
FY24$2.36B
FY25$2.35B
FY26— est.
Source: SAM.gov Assistance Listing 93.853. Program-wide totals, not awards from this specific opportunity.

Agency contact (as published)

National Institute of Neurological Disorders & Stroke (NINDS) StrokeNet
strokenetinquiry@mail.nih.gov
Please contact via e-mail.

Quick answers

Is this opportunity open for applications yet?

Not yet. It is a forecast — an agency's advance notice of an expected opportunity. The agency estimates posting the full notice around December 20, 2027. Forecast details and dates can change.

Who is eligible to apply for this opportunity?

The official notice lists these applicant types as eligible: State governments, County governments, City or township governments, Special district governments, Independent school districts, Public colleges & universities, Federally recognized tribal governments, Public & Indian housing authorities, Native American tribal organizations, 501(c)(3) nonprofits, Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status, Private colleges & universities and 3 more. Additional restrictions may apply; review the full notice.

How do I apply for this opportunity?

Applications are submitted through the official source, not through GrantsJunction. Open the official notice on Grants.gov (opportunity RFA-NS-28-008), and review the full announcement and application package. Organizations applying through Grants.gov generally need an active SAM.gov registration and a Grants.gov account, which can take several weeks to set up.

Matched on shared Assistance Listings, agency, categories and eligible applicant types.