Independent research tool — not a government agency. Official notices govern.Refreshed
ClosedOpportunity RFA-OAA-10-000011

Vocational Training and Education for Clean Energy (VOC TEC)

Agency for International Development

At a glance

Vocational Training and Education for Clean Energy (VOC TEC) is a closed federal cooperative agreement opportunity from the Agency for International Development. The application deadline was October 27, 2010. Individual awards are listed as up to $10M, with about 1 award expected. The notice is unrestricted by applicant type, subject to any clarifications in the notice. Cost sharing or matching is required. It is funded under Assistance Listing 98.001 (USAID Foreign Assistance for Programs Overseas).

Summary assembled from the official notice's fields. The official notice governs.

Key facts

  1. Sep 7, 2010Posted
  2. Oct 27, 2010Application deadline
Posted
Sep 7, 2010
Close date
Oct 27, 2010
Award floor
Not specified
Award ceiling
$10,000,000
Est. total funding
Not specified
Expected awards
1
Cost sharing
Required
Funding instrument
Cooperative Agreement
Opportunity category
Discretionary

Who can apply

  • Unrestricted (any entity type)

A quick check against the listed applicant types — other requirements in the notice still apply.

Based on the published notice. Review the official notice for complete eligibility requirements.

What it funds

Official synopsis as published by the agency, formatted for readability.

USAID intends to award a worldwide Leader with Associate (LWA) Cooperative Agreement for the VOCational Training and Education for Clean energy, or VOC TEC. The purpose of this program is to bolster the capacity of local stakeholders to sustain renewable energy investments, primarily in decentralized clean energy technologies and hybrid renewable energy-hydrocarbon systems. The focus of the program will be on distributed energy systems, specifically wind, solar PV, micro-hydro, and hybrid energy systems utilizing any of these three technologies along with fossil-fueled generators. Emphasis will be on developing local capacity to assemble, design, install, operate, and maintain facility-specific or community-level micro-grid systems.
The LWA agreement may be with a single institution or with a consortium of institutions. USAID estimates that the USAID/EGAT Energy Team contribution to this agreement will total approximately $3 million dollars over a five-year period from approximately FY2010 to FY2015. USAID anticipates the total ceiling will be $10 million ($3 million to the Leader Award and $7 million towards the Associate Awards).

Full announcement & documents

The full announcement has the complete rules — page limits, required attachments, evaluation criteria and any letter-of-intent dates. Files download directly from Grants.gov.

Assistance Listing

What is an ALN?

Reported obligations under ALN 98.001

Historical data · not a prediction
FY19$10.3B
FY20$10.3B est.
FY21$10.3B est.
FY22$28.8B
FY23$30B est.
FY24$32B est.
Source: SAM.gov Assistance Listing 98.001. Program-wide totals, not awards from this specific opportunity.

Agency contact (as published)

Agency for International Development
vocteclwa@usaid.gov
202-712-4143

Quick answers

Who is eligible to apply for “Vocational Training and Education for Clean Energy (VOC TEC)”?

The notice lists eligibility as unrestricted — open to any type of entity — subject to clarifications in the notice's additional eligibility information.

How much funding is available through “Vocational Training and Education for Clean Energy (VOC TEC)”?

Per the notice, individual awards are listed as up to $10m and the agency expects to make about 1 awards.

How do I apply for “Vocational Training and Education for Clean Energy (VOC TEC)”?

Applications are submitted through the official source, not through GrantsJunction. Open the official notice on Grants.gov (opportunity RFA-OAA-10-000011), and review the full announcement and application package. Organizations applying through Grants.gov generally need an active SAM.gov registration and a Grants.gov account, which can take several weeks to set up.

Matched on shared Assistance Listings, agency, categories and eligible applicant types.

ForecastedALN 19.040

Annual Program Statement (APS)

U.S. Mission to Greece
Award range
$25K – $100K
Est. close
Jul 11, 2025 (est.)
Who can apply
Others (see notice)
Source: Grants.govVerified today