Intensive Media Training for Investigative Journalists
Bureau of South and Central Asian Affairs · Department of State
At a glance
Intensive Media Training for Investigative Journalists is a closed federal grant opportunity from the Bureau of South and Central Asian Affairs (Department of State). The application deadline was July 2, 2020. Individual awards are listed as $1.98M. Applicant types listed as eligible include 501(c)(3) nonprofits. Cost sharing is not required. It is funded under Assistance Listing 19.700 (General Department of State Assistance).
Summary assembled from the official notice's fields. The official notice governs.
Key facts
- Jun 4, 2020Posted
- Jul 2, 2020Application deadline
- Posted
- Jun 4, 2020
- Close date
- Jul 2, 2020
- Award floor
- $1,975,000
- Award ceiling
- $1,975,000
- Est. total funding
- Not specified
- Expected awards
- Not specified
- Cost sharing
- Not required
- Funding instrument
- Grant
- Opportunity category
- Discretionary
Who can apply
- 501(c)(3) nonprofits
A quick check against the listed applicant types — other requirements in the notice still apply.
Based on the published notice. Review the official notice for complete eligibility requirements.
What it funds
Official synopsis as published by the agency, formatted for readability.
SCA seeks to fund a project that will build the capacity of journalists in South Asia. The project should provide journalists with the skills to conduct investigations, identify reliable sources, and fact-check information.
Full announcement & documents
The full announcement has the complete rules — page limits, required attachments, evaluation criteria and any letter-of-intent dates. Files download directly from Grants.gov.
- AnnouncementFull Announcement · NOFO Intensive Media Training for Investigative Journalists (2).pdfPDF · 251 KB
- Budget GuidelinesFull Announcement · Budget Guidelines 2020 (1).docxVND. · 18 KB
- Budget templateFull Announcement · Budget Template 2020 (2).xlsxVND. · 21 KB
- FMS for New Organizations onlyFull Announcement · Financial Management Survey (3).docMSWO · 56 KB
- NOFO Q&A 06082020Full Announcement · Questions and Answers.pdfPDF · 82 KB
- PMPFull Announcement · Performance Monitoring Plan Instructions (1).pdfPDF · 314 KB
- PSIFull Announcement · Proposal Submission Instructions (10).pdfPDF · 517 KB
Assistance Listing
What is an ALN?Agency contact (as published)
Bureau of South and Central Asian Affairs
703-516-1684
Quick answers
Who is eligible to apply for “Intensive Media Training for Investigative Journalists”?
The official notice names these applicant types as eligible: 501(c)(3) nonprofits. Additional restrictions may apply; review the full notice.
How much funding is available through “Intensive Media Training for Investigative Journalists”?
Per the notice, individual awards are listed as $1.98m.
How do I apply for “Intensive Media Training for Investigative Journalists”?
Applications are submitted through the official source, not through GrantsJunction. Open the official notice on Grants.gov (opportunity SFOP0006976), and review the full announcement and application package. Organizations applying through Grants.gov generally need an active SAM.gov registration and a Grants.gov account, which can take several weeks to set up.
Related open opportunities
Matched on shared Assistance Listings, agency, categories and eligible applicant types.
Technical Assistance and Training Grant Program
Rural Utilities Service- Award range
- Amount not specified
- Closes
- Dec 31, 2026
- Who can apply
- 501(c)(3) nonprofits
Resident Opportunity and Self-Sufficiency Service Coordinator (ROSS-SC) Program – Fiscal Year 2026
Department of Housing and Urban Development- Award range
- $272K – $817K
- Est. close
- Sep 28, 2026 (est.)
- Who can apply
- Federally recognized tribal governments, Public & Indian housing authorities, Native American tribal organizations and 3 more
Training and Employment Guidance Letter (02-26) for FY 2026 Community Project Funding/Congressionally Directed Spending
Employment and Training Administration- Award range
- $50K – $5.32M
- Closes
- Jan 31, 2027
- Who can apply
- Others (see notice)
Homeless Veterans’ Reintegration Program (HVRP), Incarcerated Veterans’ Transition Program (IVTP), and the Homeless Women Veterans' and Homeless Veterans' with Children Reintegration Grant Program (HWVHVWC) (referred to collectively as HVRP)
Veterans Employment and Training Service- Award range
- $150K – $500K
- Est. close
- Mar 17, 2027 (est.)
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 11 more