Fundamental Freedoms Fund IV
Bureau of Democracy Human Rights and Labor · Department of State
At a glance
Fundamental Freedoms Fund IV is a closed federal cooperative agreement opportunity from the Bureau of Democracy Human Rights and Labor (Department of State). The application deadline was March 5, 2024. Individual awards are listed as $7.25M, with about 1 award expected. Applicant types listed as eligible include others (see notice). Cost sharing is not required. It is funded under Assistance Listing 19.345 (International Programs to Support Democracy, Human Rights and Labor).
Summary assembled from the official notice's fields. The official notice governs.
Key facts
- Jan 16, 2024Posted
- Mar 5, 2024Application deadline
- Posted
- Jan 16, 2024
- Close date
- Mar 5, 2024
- Award floor
- $7,250,000
- Award ceiling
- $7,250,000
- Est. total funding
- Not specified
- Expected awards
- 1
- Cost sharing
- Not required
- Funding instrument
- Cooperative Agreement
- Opportunity category
- Discretionary
Who can apply
- Others (see notice)
Additional information on eligibility (from the notice)
DRL welcomes applications from U.S.-based and foreign-based non-profit organizations/nongovernmental organizations (NGO) and public international organizations; private, public, or state institutions of higher education; and for-profit organizations or businesses. DRL’s preference is to work with non-profit entities; however, there may be some occasions when a for-profit entity is best suited. Applications submitted by for-profit entities may be subject to additional review following the panel selection process. Additionally, the Department of State prohibits profit to for-profit or commercial organizations under its assistance awards. Profit is defined as any amount in excess of allowable direct and indirect costs. The allowability of costs incurred by commercial organizations is determined in accordance with the provisions of the Federal Acquisition Regulation (FAR) at 48 CFR 30, Cost Accounting Standards Administration, and 48 CFR 31 Contract Cost Principles and Procedures.
- Public colleges & universities
- 501(c)(3) nonprofits
- Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status
- Private colleges & universities
- For-profit organizations (not small businesses)
A quick check against the listed applicant types — other requirements in the notice still apply.
Based on the published notice. Review the official notice for complete eligibility requirements.
What it funds
Official synopsis as published by the agency, formatted for readability.
The U.S. Department of State, Bureau of Democracy, Human Rights, and Labor (DRL) announces an open competition for organizations interested in submitting applications for projects that will defend and protect human rights; counter threats to democratic institutions; and address discrimination, inequity, and marginalization in all its forms.
Full announcement & documents
The full announcement has the complete rules — page limits, required attachments, evaluation criteria and any letter-of-intent dates. Files download directly from Grants.gov.
- NCAGE SAM.gov GuidanceFull Announcement · AQM Guidance for NCAGE-SAM.gov for Foreign Applicants Feb 2023.pdfPDF · 281 KB
- Proposal Submission InstructionsFull Announcement · PSI for Applications December 2023 - after 12.28.23.pdfPDF · 576 KB
- SFOP0010171 NOFOFull Announcement · SFOP0010171 FY23 HRDF FFF IV NOFO.pdfPDF · 426 KB
Assistance Listing
What is an ALN?Reported obligations under ALN 19.345
Historical data · not a predictionAgency contact (as published)
Bureau of Democracy Human Rights and Labor
202-890-9795
Quick answers
Who is eligible to apply for “Fundamental Freedoms Fund IV”?
The official notice names these applicant types as eligible: Others (see notice). Additional restrictions may apply; review the full notice.
How much funding is available through “Fundamental Freedoms Fund IV”?
Per the notice, individual awards are listed as $7.25m and the agency expects to make about 1 awards.
How do I apply for “Fundamental Freedoms Fund IV”?
Applications are submitted through the official source, not through GrantsJunction. Open the official notice on Grants.gov (opportunity SFOP0010171), and review the full announcement and application package. Organizations applying through Grants.gov generally need an active SAM.gov registration and a Grants.gov account, which can take several weeks to set up.
Related open opportunities
Matched on shared Assistance Listings, agency, categories and eligible applicant types.
Call for Proposals – Workshops to Stop the Spread of mis/disinformation
U.S. Mission to Cambodia- Award range
- Up to $20K
- Est. close
- Sep 14, 2022 (est.)
- Who can apply
- Others (see notice)
Alumni Engagement Innovation Fund 2024
U.S. Mission to Latvia- Award range
- Amount not specified
- Est. close
- Feb 1, 2024 (est.)
- Who can apply
- Others (see notice)
Public Affairs Section Notice of Funding Opportunity 2020
U.S. Mission to Cambodia- Award range
- Up to $20K
- Est. close
- Sep 30, 2020 (est.)
- Who can apply
- Others (see notice)
Alumni Engagement Innovation Fund (AEIF): Sierra Leone
U.S. Mission to Sierra Leone- Award range
- From $5K
- Est. close
- May 1, 2026 (est.)
- Who can apply
- Others (see notice)
Alumni Engagement Innovation Fund (AEIF) 2026: Exchange Alumni Advancing Freedom250
U.S. Mission to Niger- Award range
- $5K – $40K
- Est. close
- Apr 30, 2026 (est.)
- Who can apply
- Others (see notice)
Ambassadors Fund for Cultural Preservation Large Grants Program
U.S. Mission to Cambodia- Award range
- $200K – $800K
- Est. close
- Dec 6, 2019 (est.)
- Who can apply
- Others (see notice)