Assistance Listing 93.155
Rural Health Research Centers
Department of Health and Human Services · Health Resources and Services Administration
Assistance Listing 93.155, “Rural Health Research Centers,” is a federal program administered by Department of Health and Human Services. It provides grant assistance. GrantsJunction currently tracks 0 open, 0 forecasted and 21 closed opportunities under this listing. The agency reported $6.09M in obligations for fiscal year 2025.
- Funding down 21% (FY24→FY25)Actual obligations reported in the SAM.gov listing changed -21% from FY2024 to FY2025. Historical data, not a prediction. calculated by GrantsJunction
Program objective
The Rural Health Research Center program supports policy-relevant research to help decision makers understand challenges faced by rural communities and providers. The Rapid Response Rural Data Analysis and Issue Specific Rural Research Studies program assists communities to conduct rapid data analyses and short-term research studies to understand the impact of policies and regulations and improve access to health care. The Rural Health Research Dissemination Program disseminates and markets policy-oriented research and information for use by a wide range of audiences to raise awareness of rural-relevant issues including health care access and population health.
As published in the SAM.gov Assistance Listing.
Current opportunities under 93.155
No open or forecasted opportunities are currently posted under this listing. Programs often post notices on an annual cycle — see recently closed opportunities below for timing.
Eligible applicants (program level)
- For-Profit Organization
- Federally Recognized Indian/Native American/Alaska Native Tribal Government
- U.S. State Government (including the District of Columbia)
- Other Local Government Consortium, Regional Organization (Intrastate), or Other Local Government Combination
- Nonprofit Organization
State (includes District of Columbia, public institutions of higher education and hospitals), Local (includes State-designated lndian Tribes, excludes institutions of higher education and hospitals, Sponsored organization, Public nonprofit institution/organization (includes institutions of higher education and hospitals), Federally Recognized lndian Tribal Governments, Small business (less than 500 employees), Profit organization, Private nonprofit institution/organization (includes institutions of higher education and hospitals), Quasi-public nonprofit institution/organization, Other private institutions/organizations, Native American Organizations (includes lndian groups, cooperatives, corporations, partnerships, associations) Rural Health Research Center cooperative agreement (CA): open to domestic public, for-profit, and non-profit entities. Institutions of higher education, faith-based and community-based organizations, Tribes, and tribal organizations. Rural Health Research Dissemination CA: open to all domestic public and private entities, nonprofit and for-profit. Rapid Response Rural Data Analysis and Issue Specific Rural Research Studies CA: open to all domestic public and private entities, nonprofit and for-profit entities.
Intended beneficiaries: Other Local Government Consortium, Regional Organization (Intrastate), or Other Local Government Combination, For-Profit Organization, Federally Recognized Indian/Native American/Alaska Native Tribal Government, Nonprofit Organization and U.S. State Government (including the District of Columbia).
Program-level eligibility from SAM.gov. Each funding notice sets its own requirements.
Reported obligations by fiscal year
Historical data · not a predictionRange and average of financial assistance (from the listing): Rural Health RC (9 awards): FY 2024 $350,000 -$875,000 Average $719,444; Rural Health Research Dissemination (1): $195,000; National Rural Health Policy, Community, and Collaboration Program (1): $2,300,000; Rural Health Innovation and Transformation TA (1): $500,000; Information Services to Rural Hospital Flexibility Recipients Cooperative Agreement (1): $1,100,000; Medicare Rural Hospital Flexibility Program Evaluation CA (1): $1,615,000; State Offices of Rural Health Coordination and Development Program (1): $750,000; Rural Quality Improvement TA CA (1): $640,000; Rural Health Clinic TA CA (1): $100,000; Rural Residency Planning and Development TA (1): FY2024 $175,000 (recipient fully funded in FY21 for a 4-year period at $4,300,000); Targeted TA for Rural Hospitals Program CA (1): $800,000; Rural Residency Planning and Development Program (13): FY 2024 $747,150 - $750,000 Average $749,767; Rural Communities Opioid Response Program-Evaluation (1): $3,000,000; Rural Communities Opioid Response Program- Rural Centers of Excellence on Substance Use Disorder (3): FY 2024 Range: $3,333,333; average $3,333,333; Rural Healthcare Provider Transition Project CA (1): $800,000; Rural Telementoring Training Center (1): $750,000; Rural Health and Economic Development Analysis Program (1): $225,000; Rural Emergency Hospital TA Center Program (1): $5,000,000; Rural Hospital Stabilization Pilot Program (1): $3,930,405; Rural Maternal Health Data Support and Analysis Program (1): $750,000
Source: SAM.gov Assistance Listing 93.155. Hatched bars are agency estimates. These totals do not indicate approval rates.Recently closed under 93.155
| Opportunity | Status | Award range | Closes | ALN |
|---|---|---|---|---|
Rural Healthcare Provider Transition ProjectHealth Resources and Services Administration | Closed | Up to $800K | Apr 14, 2025 | 93.155 |
Rural Residency Planning and Development (RRPD) programHealth Resources and Services Administration | Closed | Up to $750K | Apr 10, 2025 | 93.155 |
Rural Residency Planning and Development Technical Assistance (RRPD-TA) ProgramHealth Resources and Services Administration | Closed | Up to $1.25M | Mar 18, 2025 | 93.155 |
State Offices of Rural Health Coordination and Development Program (SORHCDP)Health Resources and Services Administration | Closed | Amount not specified | Dec 9, 2024 | 93.155 |
Rural Hospital Stabilization Pilot ProgramHealth Resources and Services Administration | Closed | Up to $4M | Jul 26, 2024 | 93.155 |
Rural Maternal Health Data Support and Analysis ProgramHealth Resources and Services Administration | Closed | Up to $750K | Jul 15, 2024 | 93.155 |
Rural Health Research Center ProgramHealth Resources and Services Administration | Closed | Amount not specified | May 23, 2024 | 93.155 |
Rural Residency Planning and Development (RRPD) ProgramHealth Resources and Services Administration | Closed | Up to $750K | Feb 12, 2024 | 93.155 |
National Rural Health Policy, Community, and Collaboration ProgramHealth Resources and Services Administration | Closed | Up to $2.3M | Dec 14, 2023 | 93.155 |
Rural Communities Opioid Response Program – Rural Centers of Excellence on Substance Use DisorderHealth Resources and Services Administration | Closed | Up to $3.33M | Jun 20, 2023 | 93.155 |
Frequently asked questions
What is ALN 93.155?
93.155 is the Assistance Listing Number for “Rural Health Research Centers.” Assistance Listing Numbers (formerly CFDA numbers) identify federal assistance programs; individual grant opportunities reference the listing they are funded under.
Who can apply under ALN 93.155?
The SAM.gov listing names these applicant types: For-Profit Organization, Federally Recognized Indian/Native American/Alaska Native Tribal Government, U.S. State Government (including the District of Columbia), Other Local Government Consortium, Regional Organization (Intrastate), or Other Local Government Combination and Nonprofit Organization. Each funding notice under the program sets its own eligibility, so check the specific opportunity.
How much funding does 93.155 provide?
The agency reported $6,090,000 in obligations for FY2025 in the SAM.gov Assistance Listing. These are program-wide totals reported by the agency, not a prediction of future awards.