Humanities Initiatives at Community Colleges
At a glance
Humanities Initiatives at Community Colleges is a closed federal grant opportunity from the National Endowment for the Humanities. The application deadline was August 24, 2015. Individual awards are listed as $1 – $100K. Applicant types listed as eligible include others (see notice). Cost sharing is not required. It is funded under Assistance Listing 45.162 (Promotion of the Humanities Teaching and Learning Resources and Curriculum Development).
Summary assembled from the official notice's fields. The official notice governs.
Key facts
- Posted
- Jun 3, 2015
- Close date
- Aug 24, 2015
- Award floor
- $1
- Award ceiling
- $100,000
- Est. total funding
- Not specified
- Expected awards
- Not specified
- Cost sharing
- Not required
- Funding instrument
- Grant
- Opportunity category
- Discretionary
Who can apply
- Others (see notice)
Additional information on eligibility (from the notice)
The only eligible applicants are U.S. nonprofit tax-exempt two-year colleges.
Based on the published notice. Review the official notice for complete eligibility requirements.
What it funds
Official synopsis as published by the agency, formatted for readability.
NEH Humanities Initiatives at Community Colleges are intended to strengthen the teaching and study of the humanities in subjects such as history, philosophy, and literature. These grants may be used to enhance existing humanities programs, resources, or courses, or to develop new ones.
NEH Humanities Initiatives may
• create opportunities for faculty members to study together, in order to improve their capacity to teach the humanities;
• support new humanities programs (which may include but are not limited to new humanities minors, first-year seminars, and capstone courses), and enhance existing ones;
• support humanities contributions to professional training (in such fields as business, law, economics, technology, and nursing and medicine);
• develop bridge programs for at-risk and nontraditional students;
• help institutions take advantage of humanities resources, especially in the digital humanities; and
• support collaborative projects in the humanities between the applicant institution and another institution, such as a college or university, a school or school system, a museum or library, or a historical or cultural society.
Each project must be organized around a core topic or set of themes.
Assistance Listing
What is an ALN?Reported obligations under ALN 45.162
Historical data · not a predictionAgency contact (as published)
National Endowment for the Humanities
hi@neh.gov
202-606-8401
Quick answers
Who is eligible to apply for “Humanities Initiatives at Community Colleges”?
The official notice lists these applicant types as eligible: Others (see notice). Additional restrictions may apply; review the full notice.
How much funding is available through “Humanities Initiatives at Community Colleges”?
Per the notice, individual awards are listed as $1 – $100k.
How do I apply for “Humanities Initiatives at Community Colleges”?
Applications are submitted through the official source, not through GrantsJunction. Open the official notice on Grants.gov (opportunity 20150824-AE), and review the full announcement and application package. Organizations applying through Grants.gov generally need an active SAM.gov registration and a Grants.gov account, which can take several weeks to set up.
Related open opportunities
Matched on shared Assistance Listings, agency, categories and eligible applicant types.
Landmarks of History and Culture and Summer Institutes
National Endowment for the Humanities- Award range
- $1 – $460K
- Closes
- Dec 9, 2026
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 5 more
Collections Stewardship
National Endowment for the Humanities- Award range
- $50K – $500K
- Closes
- Dec 15, 2026
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 5 more
National Digital Newspaper Program
National Endowment for the Humanities- Award range
- $1 – $325K
- Closes
- Jan 13, 2027
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 5 more