Independent research tool — not a government agency. Official notices govern.Refreshed
ClosedOpportunity 20190410-HB

Awards for Faculty

National Endowment for the Humanities

At a glance

Awards for Faculty is a closed federal grant opportunity from the National Endowment for the Humanities. The application deadline was April 10, 2019. Individual awards are listed as $10K – $60K. Applicant types listed as eligible include others (see notice). Cost sharing is not required. It is funded under Assistance Listing 45.160 (Promotion of the Humanities Fellowships and Stipends).

Summary assembled from the official notice's fields. The official notice governs.

Key facts

Posted
Feb 22, 2019
Close date
Apr 10, 2019
Award floor
$10,000
Award ceiling
$60,000
Est. total funding
Not specified
Expected awards
Not specified
Cost sharing
Not required
Funding instrument
Grant
Opportunity category
Discretionary

Who can apply

  • Others (see notice)

Additional information on eligibility (from the notice)

The only eligible applicants are full-time, part-time, adjunct, and retired faculty and staff members affiliated with institutions designated by the Department of Education as Historically Black Colleges and Universities, Hispanic-Serving Institutions, and Tribal Colleges and Universities.

Based on the published notice. Review the official notice for complete eligibility requirements.

What it funds

Official synopsis as published by the agency, formatted for readability.

The NEH Awards for Faculty program seeks to strengthen the humanities at Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCUs), Hispanic-Serving Institutions, and Tribal Colleges and Universities by encouraging and expanding humanities research opportunities for individual faculty and staff members. Awards support individuals pursuing scholarly research that is of value to humanities scholars, students, and/or general audiences.

The program offers applicants flexibility in project types and award periods. Common to all projects must be humanities research. Eligible projects include

• humanities research in primary and secondary materials leading to the development of books, monographs, peer-reviewed articles, e-books, digital materials, translations with annotations or a critical apparatus, critical editions, or other scholarly resources;
• humanities research related to institutional or community goals or interests, such as projects that draw on institutional or community archival collections; and
• humanities research leading to the improvement of an existing undergraduate course, including the development of humanities resources (for example, oral histories, identification of previously unavailable primary sources, historical or literary collections).

Additional information from the agency ↗

Assistance Listing

What is an ALN?

Reported obligations under ALN 45.160

Historical data · not a prediction
FY24$4.96M
FY25$6.21M
FY26$1.91M est.
Source: SAM.gov Assistance Listing 45.160. Program-wide totals, not awards from this specific opportunity.

Agency contact (as published)

National Endowment for the Humanities
FacultyAwards@neh.gov
202-606-8401

Quick answers

Who is eligible to apply for “Awards for Faculty”?

The official notice lists these applicant types as eligible: Others (see notice). Additional restrictions may apply; review the full notice.

How much funding is available through “Awards for Faculty”?

Per the notice, individual awards are listed as $10k – $60k.

How do I apply for “Awards for Faculty”?

Applications are submitted through the official source, not through GrantsJunction. Open the official notice on Grants.gov (opportunity 20190410-HB), and review the full announcement and application package. Organizations applying through Grants.gov generally need an active SAM.gov registration and a Grants.gov account, which can take several weeks to set up.

Matched on shared Assistance Listings, agency, categories and eligible applicant types.

OpenALN 45.037

Collections Stewardship

National Endowment for the Humanities
Award range
$50K – $500K
Closes
Dec 15, 2026
Who can apply
State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 5 more
Source: Grants.govVerified today
OpenALN 45.042

National Digital Newspaper Program

National Endowment for the Humanities
Award range
$1 – $325K
Closes
Jan 13, 2027
Who can apply
State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 5 more
Source: Grants.govVerified today