Independent research tool — not a government agency. Official notices govern.Refreshed
ClosedOpportunity BJA-2017-11263

BJA FY 17 Byrne Criminal Justice Innovation Program (BCJI)

Bureau of Justice Assistance · Department of Justice

At a glance

BJA FY 17 Byrne Criminal Justice Innovation Program (BCJI) is a closed federal grant opportunity from the Bureau of Justice Assistance (Department of Justice). The application deadline was February 2, 2017. Individual awards are listed as up to $700K, with about 14 awards expected. Applicant types listed as eligible include state governments, county governments, city or township governments, public colleges & universities, federally recognized tribal governments and 3 more. Cost sharing is not required. It is funded under Assistance Listing 16.817 (Byrne Criminal Justice Innovation Program).

Summary assembled from the official notice's fields. The official notice governs.

Key facts

  1. Dec 7, 2016Posted
  2. Feb 2, 2017Application deadline
Posted
Dec 7, 2016
Close date
Feb 2, 2017
Award floor
Not specified
Award ceiling
$700,000
Est. total funding
Not specified
Expected awards
14
Cost sharing
Not required
Funding instrument
Grant
Opportunity category
Discretionary

Who can apply

  • State governments
  • County governments
  • City or township governments
  • Public colleges & universities
  • Federally recognized tribal governments
  • 501(c)(3) nonprofits
  • Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status
  • Private colleges & universities

A quick check against the listed applicant types — other requirements in the notice still apply.

Based on the published notice. Review the official notice for complete eligibility requirements.

What it funds

Official synopsis as published by the agency, formatted for readability.

In neighborhoods across the country, BCJI projects work to reduce crime and improve community safety as part of a comprehensive strategy to advance neighborhood revitalization goals. Through a broad partnership team, including residents, BCJI sites target neighborhoods with hot spots of violent and serious crime and employ data-driven, cross-sector strategies to reduce crime and violence.

Additional information from the agency ↗

Assistance Listing

What is an ALN?

Reported obligations under ALN 16.817

Historical data · not a prediction
FY24—
FY25—
FY26— est.
Source: SAM.gov Assistance Listing 16.817. Program-wide totals, not awards from this specific opportunity.

Agency contact (as published)

Bureau of Justice Assistance
support@grants.gov
202-353-7193

Quick answers

Who is eligible to apply for “BJA FY 17 Byrne Criminal Justice Innovation Program (BCJI)”?

The official notice lists these applicant types as eligible: State governments, County governments, City or township governments, Public colleges & universities, Federally recognized tribal governments, 501(c)(3) nonprofits, Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status and Private colleges & universities. Additional restrictions may apply; review the full notice.

How much funding is available through “BJA FY 17 Byrne Criminal Justice Innovation Program (BCJI)”?

Per the notice, individual awards are listed as up to $700k and the agency expects to make about 14 awards.

How do I apply for “BJA FY 17 Byrne Criminal Justice Innovation Program (BCJI)”?

Applications are submitted through the official source, not through GrantsJunction. Open the official notice on Grants.gov (opportunity BJA-2017-11263), and review the full announcement and application package. Organizations applying through Grants.gov generally need an active SAM.gov registration and a Grants.gov account, which can take several weeks to set up.

Matched on shared Assistance Listings, agency, categories and eligible applicant types.

Past deadlineALN 16.076
Award range
Up to $3M
Closes
Oct 8, 2026
Who can apply
State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 2 more
Source: Grants.govVerified yesterday
OpenALN 16.043
Award range
Up to $4M
Closes
Oct 30, 2026
Who can apply
Public colleges & universities, 501(c)(3) nonprofits, Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status and 3 more
Source: Grants.govVerified yesterday
OpenALN 16.043
Award range
Up to $2.5M
Closes
Oct 29, 2026
Who can apply
State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 4 more
Source: Grants.govVerified yesterday