Independent research tool — not a government agency. Official notices govern.Refreshed
OpenOpportunity O-BJA-2026-172714

BJA FY 2026 Veterans Treatment Court Program

Bureau of Justice Assistance · Department of Justice

At a glance

BJA FY 2026 Veterans Treatment Court Program is an open federal cooperative agreement opportunity from the Bureau of Justice Assistance (Department of Justice). Applications are due October 29, 2026. Individual awards are listed as up to $2.5M. Applicant types listed as eligible include state governments, county governments, city or township governments, special district governments, federally recognized tribal governments and 2 more. Cost sharing is not required. It is funded under Assistance Listing 16.043 (Veterans Treatment Court Discretionary Grant Program).

Summary assembled from the official notice's fields. The official notice governs.

Key facts

Posted
Sep 21, 2026
Close date
Oct 29, 2026
Award floor
Not specified
Award ceiling
$2,500,000
Est. total funding
Not specified
Expected awards
Not specified
Cost sharing
Not required
Funding instrument
Cooperative Agreement
Opportunity category
Discretionary

Who can apply

  • State governments
  • County governments
  • City or township governments
  • Special district governments
  • Federally recognized tribal governments
  • Native American tribal organizations
  • Others (see notice)

Additional information on eligibility (from the notice)

For the purposes of this NOFO, "other units of local government" include towns, boroughs, parishes, villages, or other general purpose political subdivisions of a state; "State agencies" include state administering agencies (SAA), administrative offices of the courts, state criminal justice agencies, state substance abuse agencies, and other state agencies involved with substance use, mental health, or related services.

Based on the published notice. Review the official notice for complete eligibility requirements.

What it funds

Official synopsis as published by the agency, formatted for readability.

This is a notice of funding opportunity (NOFO) for the BJA FY2026 Veterans Treatment Court Program. This opportunity supports the implementation and enhancement of veterans’ treatment court (VTC) operations to reduce the use of opioids, stimulants, and other substances, including alcohol, by high-risk/high-need veterans in the criminal justice system.
VTCs effectively integrate substance use disorder (SUD) and mental health disorder (MHD) treatment, mandatory drug testing, incentives and sanctions, and transitional services in judicially supervised court settings that have jurisdiction over veterans in the criminal justice system who have SUD and/or co-occurring mental health disorders (MHSUD), including those with a history of violence and post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and/or traumatic brain injury (TBI).

Additional information from the agency ↗

Assistance Listing

What is an ALN?

Reported obligations under ALN 16.043

Historical data · not a prediction
FY24$23.5M
FY25$2M
FY26— est.
Source: SAM.gov Assistance Listing 16.043. Program-wide totals, not awards from this specific opportunity.

Agency contact (as published)

Bureau of Justice Assistance
OJP.ResponseCenter@usdoj.gov
202-514-9354

Quick answers

When is the deadline for “BJA FY 2026 Veterans Treatment Court Program”?

According to the official notice, applications are due October 29, 2026. Confirm the deadline and submission time on Grants.gov before applying.

Who is eligible to apply for “BJA FY 2026 Veterans Treatment Court Program”?

The official notice lists these applicant types as eligible: State governments, County governments, City or township governments, Special district governments, Federally recognized tribal governments, Native American tribal organizations and Others (see notice). Additional restrictions may apply; review the full notice.

How much funding is available through “BJA FY 2026 Veterans Treatment Court Program”?

Per the notice, individual awards are listed as up to $2.5m.

How do I apply for “BJA FY 2026 Veterans Treatment Court Program”?

Applications are submitted through the official source, not through GrantsJunction. Open the official notice on Grants.gov (opportunity O-BJA-2026-172714), and review the full announcement and application package. Organizations applying through Grants.gov generally need an active SAM.gov registration and a Grants.gov account, which can take several weeks to set up.

Matched on shared Assistance Listings, agency, categories and eligible applicant types.

OpenALN 16.043
Award range
Up to $4M
Closes
Oct 30, 2026
Who can apply
Public colleges & universities, 501(c)(3) nonprofits, Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status and 3 more
Source: Grants.govVerified today
Closes todayALN 16.076
Award range
Up to $3M
Closes
Oct 8, 2026
Who can apply
State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 2 more
Source: Grants.govVerified today