Independent research tool — not a government agency. Official notices govern.Refreshed
OpenState of California

Charter Access Bank Loan Enhancement Program (Charter ABLE)

State Treasurer's Office · State of California

At a glance

Charter Access Bank Loan Enhancement Program (Charter ABLE) is an open California state loan opportunity from the State Treasurer's Office (State of California). Applications are accepted on an ongoing basis. Total estimated funding is $20M. Applicant types listed as eligible include nonprofit and public agency. It is listed on the California Grants Portal. Cost sharing is not required.

Summary assembled from the official notice's fields. The official notice governs.

Key facts

Opened
Mar 30, 2021
Close date
Ongoing
Award floor
Not specified
Award ceiling
Not specified
Est. total funding
$20,000,000
Expected awards
Not specified
Matching funds
Not required
Funding instrument
Loan

Program details (as published on the California Grants Portal)

Type
Loan
Funding source
Federal — $20 million grant awarded through the federal “Expanding Quality Charter Schools Program – Grants for Credit Enhancement for Charter School Facilities” (CFDA #84.354A) grant competition in 2019.
Matching funds
Not Required
Funding method
Advance(s) — The term of repayment for any financing in conjunction with a program award shall not exceed the useful life of the financed asset. Awarded reservation of funds shall be released and returned to the Authority when the funds are no longer needed for the authorized purposes. Awarded reservations will expire if the charter school does not use the funds within six months of Authority approval.
Estimated number of awards
Dependant on number of submissions received, application process, etc.
Estimated award amounts
Dependant on number of submissions received, application process, etc.
Award period
Duration of Bond
Expected award announcement
Ongoing
Letter of intent
Not required
Geography
Funds are available to charter schools operating in the state of California.
How to submit
Online: https://www.treasurer.ca.gov/sites/default/files/csfa/Application.pdf
Latest change note
Changing the open date to when it actually opened since I could only date it for today when creating this. 5.27.26 - Fixing broken links.

Who can apply

Applicant categories as listed on the California Grants Portal. GrantsJunction maps them to detailed applicant types for search and matching.

  • Nonprofit
  • Public Agency

Additional information on eligibility (from the listing)

Please refer to https://www.treasurer.ca.gov/csfa/enhancement/regulations/2024/program_regulations.pdf

A quick check against the listed applicant types — other requirements in the notice still apply.

Based on the published notice. Review the official notice for complete eligibility requirements.

What it funds

Purpose and description as published on the California Grants Portal.

Purpose

Aimed to assist charter schools lower costs to access facility acquisition, renovation, and construction financing.

Description

The federally-funded Charter Access to Bank Loan Enhancement (Charter ABLE) Program was created from an $20 million grant awarded through the federal “Expanding Quality Charter Schools Program – Grants for Credit Enhancement for Charter School Facilities” (CFDA #84.354A) grant competition in 2019. This program enhances financing to charter schools to lower costs associated with financings for permanent charter school facilities.

Program page on the agency site ↗

How to apply

0 of 8 done · progress saved in this browser

Past applications & awards

Historical data · not a prediction

Reported by the agency for this listing

  • Fiscal year 2025–260 applications · 0 awards
  • Fiscal year 2024–251 application · 1 award
  • Fiscal year 2023–241 application · 1 award
  • Fiscal year 2022–238 applications · 8 awards
  • Fiscal year 2021–224 applications · 0 awards
  • Fiscal year 2020–210 applications · 0 awards
Counts as published on the California Grants Portal. Award counts can read zero until decisions are announced.
Awards published
10
Total awarded
$15,235,405
Median award
$1,818,037 calculated
Smallest – largest
$664,206 – $2,000,000

Recipients by type: Nonprofit (10)

Areas served: Statewide (10)

Largest awards to organizations

  • Pathways to College Porperties, LLCCharter Access Bank Loan Enhancement Program (Charter ABLE)$2,000,000 · FY 2023–24
  • John Adams AcademiesCharter Access Bank Loan Enhancement Program (Charter ABLE)$2,000,000 · FY 2022–23
  • Hawking STEAM Charter Schools, Inc.Charter Access Bank Loan Enhancement Program (Charter ABLE)$2,000,000 · FY 2022–23
  • The Classical AcademyCharter Access Bank Loan Enhancement Program (Charter ABLE)$2,000,000 · FY 2022–23
  • Lighthouse Community Public SchoolsCharter Access Bank Loan Enhancement Program (Charter ABLE)$1,927,206 · FY 2022–23
  • DELTA PROPERTIES, INCCharter Access Bank Loan Enhancement Program (Charter ABLE)$1,708,868 · FY 2022–23
  • EEI Support CorporationCharter Access Bank Loan Enhancement Program (Charter ABLE)$1,300,000 · FY 2024–25
  • JACQUELYN GATES LLCCharter Access Bank Loan Enhancement Program (Charter ABLE)$892,500 · FY 2022–23
  • Grupo Nuevo Los AngelesCharter Access Bank Loan Enhancement Program (Charter ABLE)$742,625 · FY 2022–23
  • OCEAA Facilities, LLCCharter Access Bank Loan Enhancement Program (Charter ABLE)$664,206 · FY 2022–23
Source: California Grants Portal grant award data. Awards to individuals are counted but not named. Past awards show who was funded; they do not predict future decisions.

Program contact (as published)

csfa@treasurer.ca.gov
1-213-620-4608

Quick answers

Who is eligible to apply for “Charter Access Bank Loan Enhancement Program (Charter ABLE)”?

The official listing names these applicant types as eligible: Nonprofit and Public Agency. It adds: “Please refer to https://www.treasurer.ca.gov/csfa/enhancement/regulations/2024/program_regulations.pdf” Additional restrictions may apply; review the full guidelines.

How much funding is available through “Charter Access Bank Loan Enhancement Program (Charter ABLE)”?

Per the notice, total estimated program funding is $20,000,000.

How do I apply for “Charter Access Bank Loan Enhancement Program (Charter ABLE)”?

Applications go directly to State Treasurer's Office, not through GrantsJunction. Submission: online at https://www.treasurer.ca.gov/sites/default/files/csfa/Application.pdf. Read the program guidelines on the agency's site first; state programs set their own forms and registration requirements.

Other open California state opportunities, matched on agency, categories and wording.

OpenState of California

2024 Credit Enhancement

State Treasurer's Office
Award range
Amount not specified
Closes
Ongoing
Who can apply
Nonprofit and Public Agency
Source: California Grants PortalVerified today
OpenState of California

CEFA Bond Financing Program

State Treasurer's Office
Award range
Up to $5B
Closes
Ongoing
Who can apply
Nonprofit
Source: California Grants PortalVerified today