Supporting Community Application of Life-Saving Evidence to Prevent Injury and Violence (SCALE)
Centers for Disease Control - NCIPC · Department of Health and Human Services
At a glance
Supporting Community Application of Life-Saving Evidence to Prevent Injury and Violence (SCALE) is a forecasted federal cooperative agreement opportunity from the Centers for Disease Control - NCIPC (Department of Health and Human Services). The agency's forecast estimates an application due date of April 6, 2027; forecast dates can change. Total estimated funding is $75M across about 12 awards. Applicant types listed as eligible include state governments, county governments, city or township governments, special district governments, independent school districts and 10 more. Cost sharing is not required. It is funded under Assistance Listing 93.136 (Injury Prevention and Control Research and State and Community Based Programs).
Summary assembled from the official notice's fields. The official notice governs.
Key facts
- Sep 1, 2026Forecast posted
- Feb 5, 2027 (est.)Full notice expectednext date
- Apr 6, 2027 (est.)Application deadline
- Sep 1, 2027 (est.)Est. award date
- Posted
- Sep 1, 2026
- Est. close date
- Apr 6, 2027
- Est. award date
- Sep 1, 2027
- Award floor
- Not specified
- Award ceiling
- Not specified
- Est. total funding
- $75,000,000
- Implied average award
- $6,250,000 calculated
- Expected awards
- 12
- Cost sharing
- Not required
- Funding instrument
- Cooperative Agreement
- Opportunity category
- Discretionary
- Fiscal year
- FY2027
Typical awards for this program (SAM.gov listing for ALN 93.136, not this notice): Injury Control Research Centers (ICRCs) Range: $1,006,640 to $1,007,226; Average: $1,006,771
Implied average = estimated total funding ÷ expected number of awards, calculated by GrantsJunction. Actual awards vary.
Who can apply
- State governments
- County governments
- City or township governments
- Special district governments
- Independent school districts
- Public colleges & universities
- Federally recognized tribal governments
- Public & Indian housing authorities
- Native American tribal organizations
- 501(c)(3) nonprofits
- Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status
- Private colleges & universities
- For-profit organizations (not small businesses)
- Small businesses
- Others (see notice)
Additional information on eligibility (from the notice)
Eligible entities include those with proven experience and expertise in: Injury, violence, overdose, and suicide preventionImplementing injury, violence, overdose, and suicide prevention strategiesSupporting state, local, territorial, and tribal health departmentsWorking with populations in tribal communities. Additionally, applicant organizations should have a public health-oriented mission and the capacity to support rapid, evidence-based response to emergent public health threats.
A quick check against the listed applicant types — other requirements in the notice still apply.
Based on the published notice. Review the official notice for complete eligibility requirements.
What it funds
Official synopsis as published by the agency, formatted for readability.
Injury, including violence, overdose, and suicide, is the leading cause of morbidity and mortality from birth to 44 years of age. The purpose of this notice of funding opportunity (NOFO) is to strengthen implementation, amplify messaging, and broaden reach in addressing injury, violence, overdose, and suicide prevention across populations nationwide, including those in tribal communities. Funding will be provided to organizations to support programmatic work through collaboration, implementation, dissemination, and continuous program improvement. Activities are expected to reduce morbidity and mortality related to injury, violence, overdose, and suicide over time.
How to apply
0 of 8 done · progress saved in this browser
Assistance Listing
What is an ALN?Reported obligations under ALN 93.136
Historical data · not a predictionWho was funded under ALN 93.136
Historical data · not a predictionSince October 1, 2023, 406 grant awards had funding actions under Injury Prevention and Control Research and State and Community Based Programs, with 218 sub-awards passed on to other organizations. These are program-wide awards, not awards from this specific notice.
- NATIONAL FOUNDATION FOR THE CENTERS FOR DISEASE CONTROL & PREVENTION, INC.$34.5M
- FLORIDA DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH$30.1M
- PUBLIC HEALTH, CALIFORNIA DEPARTMENT OF$23.4M
- OHIO DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH$16.1M
- SAFE STATES ALLIANCE$15.7M
Agency contact (as published)
Candace Girod
mrv7@cdc.gov
404.498.1329
Quick answers
Is this opportunity open for applications yet?
Not yet. It is a forecast — an agency's advance notice of an expected opportunity. The agency estimates posting the full notice around February 5, 2027. Forecast details and dates can change.
Who is eligible to apply for this opportunity?
The official notice names these applicant types as eligible: State governments, County governments, City or township governments, Special district governments, Independent school districts, Public colleges & universities, Federally recognized tribal governments, Public & Indian housing authorities, Native American tribal organizations, 501(c)(3) nonprofits, Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status, Private colleges & universities and 3 more. Additional restrictions may apply; review the full notice.
How much funding is available through this opportunity?
Per the notice, total estimated program funding is $75,000,000 and the agency expects to make about 12 awards.
How do I apply for this opportunity?
Applications are submitted through the official source, not through GrantsJunction. Open the official notice on Grants.gov (opportunity CDC-RFA-CE-27-0062), and review the full announcement and application package. Organizations applying through Grants.gov generally need an active SAM.gov registration and a Grants.gov account, which can take several weeks to set up.
Related open opportunities
Matched on shared Assistance Listings, agency, categories and eligible applicant types.
Core State Injury Prevention Program (Core SIPP)
Centers for Disease Control - NCIPC- Award range
- Amount not specified
- Est. close
- Mar 8, 2027 (est.)
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 11 more
Preventing Violence Affecting Young Lives (PREVAYL 2.0)
Centers for Disease Control - NCIPC- Award range
- $450K
- Est. close
- May 3, 2027 (est.)
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments and City or township governments
Research Grants to Rigorously Evaluate Innovative and Promising Approaches to Prevent Firearm-Related Violence and Injuries
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention - ERA- Award range
- Up to $650K
- Est. close
- Dec 1, 2026 (est.)
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 13 more
Improving Linkage to Care for People with Opioid Use Disorder (U01)
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention - ERA- Award range
- Up to $550K
- Est. close
- Dec 1, 2026 (est.)
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 12 more
New Investigator Grants to Conduct Research to Prevent Interpersonal Violence and Suicide Among Children and Adolescents (K01)
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention - ERA- Award range
- Up to $150K
- Est. close
- Dec 1, 2026 (est.)
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 13 more
CDC National Centers of Excellence in Youth Violence Prevention (YVPCs): Rigorous Evaluation of Prevention Approaches to Prevent and Reduce Youth Violence
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention - ERA- Award range
- Up to $1.2M
- Est. close
- Dec 1, 2026 (est.)
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 13 more