Independent research tool — not a government agency. Official notices govern.Refreshed
ForecastedOpportunity CDC-RFA-CE-27-0039

Core State Injury Prevention Program (Core SIPP)

Centers for Disease Control - NCIPC · Department of Health and Human Services

At a glance

Core State Injury Prevention Program (Core SIPP) is a forecasted federal cooperative agreement opportunity from the Centers for Disease Control - NCIPC (Department of Health and Human Services). The agency's forecast estimates an application due date of March 8, 2027; forecast dates can change. Total estimated funding is $37M across about 26 awards. Applicant types listed as eligible include state governments, county governments, city or township governments, special district governments, independent school districts and 9 more. Cost sharing is not required. It is funded under Assistance Listing 93.136 (Injury Prevention and Control Research and State and Community Based Programs).

Summary assembled from the official notice's fields. The official notice governs.

Key facts

Posted
Jul 30, 2026
Est. close date
Mar 8, 2027
Est. award date
Jul 2, 2027
Award floor
Not specified
Award ceiling
Not specified
Est. total funding
$37,000,000
Expected awards
26
Cost sharing
Not required
Funding instrument
Cooperative Agreement
Opportunity category
Discretionary
Fiscal year
FY2027

Who can apply

  • State governments
  • County governments
  • City or township governments
  • Special district governments
  • Independent school districts
  • Public colleges & universities
  • Federally recognized tribal governments
  • Public & Indian housing authorities
  • Native American tribal organizations
  • 501(c)(3) nonprofits
  • Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status
  • Private colleges & universities
  • For-profit organizations (not small businesses)
  • Small businesses

Additional information on eligibility (from the notice)

Bona fide agents are eligible to apply. For more information about bona fide agents, please see the CDC webpage on Expediting the Federal Grant Process with an Administrative Partner located at https://www.cdc.gov/publichealthgateway/grantsfunding/expediting.html#Q2. Applicants are expected to have current experience, partnerships and organizational capacity to complete planned activities. Eligible applications must include the following to demonstrate their capacity and be responsive: One letter of commitment (LOC) from the state health department officer on official letterhead supporting proposed activities.One letter of support (LOS) from an organization representing the chosen population(s) with high rates of injury. An organizational chart is required. One letter of support (LOS) from entities within the state that own mortality and hospitalization data. The letter should state the nature of the applicant's ongoing access to these data (via MOA, contract, housed within the recipient organization, etc.).Documentation of access to the most recent primary data, to include 2023 or 2024 mortality and hospitalization data, is required. Access should be documented in labeled tables and provide a state/territory wide summary of 2023 or 2024 mortality and hospitalization data analyzed by age, sex, and cause. Documentation can include mortality and hospitalization State Injury Indicator data spreadsheets for 2023 or 2024.

Based on the published notice. Review the official notice for complete eligibility requirements.

What it funds

Official synopsis as published by the agency, formatted for readability.

This forecast is for CDC's Core State Injury Prevention Program (Core SIPP), a cooperative agreement to support public health infrastructure, data, and partnerships to use data to identify potential risk and inform the implementation of strategies to prevent unintentional injury. Actions using the best available evidence are intended to increase protective factors and reduce risk factors for injuries and death. This approach includes engaging in robust state-based data and surveillance and strengthening strategic collaborations and partnerships. The overall goal of this approach is to inform public health action for injury prevention. 

Recipients will focus on traumatic brain injury, older adult falls, and drowning, and are encouraged to examine their data to address identified priority injury topics of local concern that recipients do not currently receive CDC funding to address (e.g., transportation safety). Key outcomes include increased knowledge and use of emerging data sources, increased knowledge and translation of data, increased dissemination of surveillance data, increased community partnerships, and enhanced multi-sector partnerships. Additional outcomes include enhanced access to data and systems, increased use of data to identify populations with high rates of injury, increased capacity to strengthen communities, sustained injury prevention public health actions, increased adoption of continuous quality improvement practices, and strengthened coordination among partners to leverage and maximize resources.

Applications are not being solicited currently. This forecast is provided to allow potential applicants time to begin planning, review relevant data, and consider partnerships and prevention strategies that may align with this anticipated opportunity.

Assistance Listing

What is an ALN?

Reported obligations under ALN 93.136

Historical data · not a prediction
FY24$457M
FY25$458M
FY26$458M est.
Source: SAM.gov Assistance Listing 93.136. Program-wide totals, not awards from this specific opportunity.

Agency contact (as published)

Khiya Mullins
coresipp@cdc.gov
770-488-3911

Quick answers

Is “Core State Injury Prevention Program (Core SIPP)” open for applications yet?

Not yet. It is a forecast — an agency's advance notice of an expected opportunity. The agency estimates posting the full notice around January 7, 2027. Forecast details and dates can change.

Who is eligible to apply for “Core State Injury Prevention Program (Core SIPP)”?

The official notice lists these applicant types as eligible: State governments, County governments, City or township governments, Special district governments, Independent school districts, Public colleges & universities, Federally recognized tribal governments, Public & Indian housing authorities, Native American tribal organizations, 501(c)(3) nonprofits, Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status, Private colleges & universities and 2 more. Additional restrictions may apply; review the full notice.

How much funding is available through “Core State Injury Prevention Program (Core SIPP)”?

Per the notice, total estimated program funding is $37,000,000 and the agency expects to make about 26 awards.

How do I apply for “Core State Injury Prevention Program (Core SIPP)”?

Applications are submitted through the official source, not through GrantsJunction. Open the official notice on Grants.gov (opportunity CDC-RFA-CE-27-0039), and review the full announcement and application package. Organizations applying through Grants.gov generally need an active SAM.gov registration and a Grants.gov account, which can take several weeks to set up.

Matched on shared Assistance Listings, agency, categories and eligible applicant types.

ForecastedALN 93.136

Comprehensive Suicide Prevention Program for States

Centers for Disease Control - NCIPC
Award range
$650K – $1.2M
Est. close
Apr 17, 2027 (est.)
Who can apply
State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 13 more
Source: Grants.govVerified today