PV Manufacturing Initiative Part 2: SUNPATH (Scaling Up Nascent PV AT Home)
At a glance
PV Manufacturing Initiative Part 2: SUNPATH (Scaling Up Nascent PV AT Home) is a closed federal cooperative agreement opportunity from the Golden Field Office (Department of Energy). The application deadline was October 28, 2011. Individual awards are listed as up to $25M. The notice is unrestricted by applicant type, subject to any clarifications in the notice. Cost sharing or matching is required. It is funded under Assistance Listing 81.087 (Renewable Energy Research and Development).
Summary assembled from the official notice's fields. The official notice governs.
Key facts
- Aug 2, 2011Posted
- Oct 28, 2011Application deadline
- Posted
- Aug 2, 2011
- Close date
- Oct 28, 2011
- Award floor
- Not specified
- Award ceiling
- $25,000,000
- Est. total funding
- Not specified
- Original deadline (extended)
- Oct 14, 2011
- Expected awards
- Not specified
- Cost sharing
- Required
- Funding instrument
- Cooperative Agreement, Other
- Opportunity category
- Discretionary
Who can apply
- Unrestricted (any entity type)
Additional information on eligibility (from the notice)
All entities incorporated in the United States are eligible to apply for this FOA as prime recipients, except nonprofit organizations as described in section 501(c)(4) of the Internal Revenue Code of 1986 that engaged in lobbying activities after December 31, 1995.
A quick check against the listed applicant types — other requirements in the notice still apply.
Based on the published notice. Review the official notice for complete eligibility requirements.
What it funds
Official synopsis as published by the agency, formatted for readability.
I. The purposes of this amendment are to:
A) Implement an application Notification of Intent (NOI) requirement, due 09/30/2011, 5:00 PM Eastern Time. (p.15)
B) Add a manufacturing cost summary component to the Project Narrative application requirement. (p.16-17)
C) Add clarifying language to the Domestic Manufacturing Plan component of the Project Narrative application requirement. (p.18)
D) Add the Environmental Checklist (EF-1) as a mandatory application document. (p.21)
E) Revise the Requirement 1 language of the Merit Review Criteria to state the proposal will support the first industrial scale demonstration of 40MW or more of PV. (p.26)
F) Add clarifying language to Merit Review Criterion 2: Commitment to Domestic Manufacturing. (p.28)
G) Update the Expected Date for Selection Notifications and Expected Date for Awards to January and February 2012. (p.30)
H) Add clarifying language to the Domestic Manufacturing Requirement. (p.33)
I) Update various website links throughout the FOA Document.
II. The areas which have changed are highlighted in yellow within the Funding Opportunity Announcement.
III. All other parts of the FOA remain unchanged.
The U.S. Department of Energy is requesting applications for the first industrial scale demonstration of the applicant's photovoltaic (PV) module, cells, substrates, or module components that will achieve lower cost per watt. The applicant needs to demonstrate lower cost targets over the next two years than the current market leading technology and enable the path to 1 dollar per watt system costs by 2020.
Significant non-Federal cost share is required, to be achieved in partnership with private capital and state and regional funds. This funding opportunity will address the currently unfulfilled and urgent need for a significant investment to assist the first industrial scale manufacturing of a new PV technology.
The full Funding Opportunity Announcement (FOA) is posted on the EERE eXCHANGE website at https://eere-exchange.energy.gov. Applications must be submitted through the EERE eXCHANGE website to be considered for award. The applicant must first register and create an account on the
EERE eXCHANGE website. A User Guide for the EERE eXCHANGE can be found on the EERE website http://eere.energy.gov/financing/exchangeExchange/Manuals.aspx after logging in to the system.
Information on where to submit questions regarding the content of the announcement and where to submit questions regarding submission of applications is found in the full FOA posted on the EERE Exchange website.
Assistance Listing
What is an ALN?Reported obligations under ALN 81.087
Historical data · not a predictionAgency contact (as published)
Golden Field Office
720-356-1478
Quick answers
Who is eligible to apply for “PV Manufacturing Initiative Part 2: SUNPATH (Scaling Up Nascent PV AT Home)”?
The notice lists eligibility as unrestricted — open to any type of entity — subject to clarifications in the notice's additional eligibility information.
How much funding is available through “PV Manufacturing Initiative Part 2: SUNPATH (Scaling Up Nascent PV AT Home)”?
Per the notice, individual awards are listed as up to $25m.
How do I apply for “PV Manufacturing Initiative Part 2: SUNPATH (Scaling Up Nascent PV AT Home)”?
Applications are submitted through the official source, not through GrantsJunction. Open the official notice on Grants.gov (opportunity DE-FOA-0000566), and review the full announcement and application package. Organizations applying through Grants.gov generally need an active SAM.gov registration and a Grants.gov account, which can take several weeks to set up.
Related open opportunities
Matched on shared Assistance Listings, agency, categories and eligible applicant types.
Accelerating Scale-up and Pre-piloting of Emerging Chemical Technologies (ASPECT)
Golden Field Office- Award range
- $2M – $20M
- Closes
- Dec 1, 2026
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 13 more
NOI: PROSPECT Program: Providing Opportunities for Specialized Education in Critical Technologies
Golden Field Office- Award range
- $1
- Closes
- Jan 15, 2027
- Who can apply
- Unrestricted (any entity type)
Powering Affordable Reliable Technology (PART) Energy Program
Rural Utilities Service- Award range
- $1M – $100M
- Closes
- Oct 9, 2026
- Who can apply
- Others (see notice)
Advanced Nuclear Energy Licensing Cost-Share Grant Program
Idaho Field Office- Award range
- $5K – $8M
- Closes
- Nov 30, 2026
- Who can apply
- County governments, City or township governments, Public colleges & universities and 5 more
Request for Information - Gauging Investor Interest in the Development and Commercialization of Subsurface Energy Technologies
National Energy Technology Laboratory- Award range
- $1 – $2
- Closes
- Nov 5, 2026
- Who can apply
- Unrestricted (any entity type)