Independent research tool — not a government agency. Official notices govern.Refreshed
OpenOpportunity DE-FOA-0003339

Advanced Nuclear Energy Licensing Cost-Share Grant Program

Idaho Field Office · Department of Energy

At a glance

Advanced Nuclear Energy Licensing Cost-Share Grant Program is an open federal grant opportunity from the Idaho Field Office (Department of Energy). Applications are due November 30, 2026. Individual awards are listed as $5K – $8M, with about 25 awards expected and $50M in total estimated funding. Applicant types listed as eligible include county governments, city or township governments, public colleges & universities, federally recognized tribal governments, nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status and 3 more. Cost sharing or matching is required. It is funded under Assistance Listing 81.121 (Nuclear Energy Research, Development and Demonstration).

Summary assembled from the official notice's fields. The official notice governs.

Key facts

Posted
Jan 8, 2025
Close date
Nov 30, 2026
Award floor
$5,000
Award ceiling
$8,000,000
Est. total funding
$50,000,000
Expected awards
25
Cost sharing
Required
Funding instrument
Grant
Opportunity category
Discretionary

Who can apply

  • County governments
  • City or township governments
  • Public colleges & universities
  • Federally recognized tribal governments
  • Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status
  • Private colleges & universities
  • For-profit organizations (not small businesses)
  • Small businesses

Based on the published notice. Review the official notice for complete eligibility requirements.

What it funds

Official synopsis as published by the agency, formatted for readability.

U.S. Advanced Nuclear Energy Licensing Cost-Share Grant Program
The application deadline for current review cycle, anticipated selection notification date for the current review cycle, and anticipated award date for current review cycle have changed. See date changes on page 6 of NOFO Part 1. Also, applications must now be submitted within the respective application period (July 1, 2026 – November 30, 2026). See date changes on page 24 of NOFO Part 1.

Assistance Listing

What is an ALN?

Reported obligations under ALN 81.121

Historical data · not a prediction
FY20$81M
FY21$553M
FY22$186M
FY23$973M
FY24$532M est.
FY25$180M est.
Source: SAM.gov Assistance Listing 81.121. Program-wide totals, not awards from this specific opportunity.

Agency contact (as published)

Idaho Field Office
dutkevcd@id.doe.gov
2022871878

Quick answers

When is the deadline for “Advanced Nuclear Energy Licensing Cost-Share Grant Program”?

According to the official notice, applications are due November 30, 2026. Confirm the deadline and submission time on Grants.gov before applying.

Who is eligible to apply for “Advanced Nuclear Energy Licensing Cost-Share Grant Program”?

The official notice lists these applicant types as eligible: County governments, City or township governments, Public colleges & universities, Federally recognized tribal governments, Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status, Private colleges & universities, For-profit organizations (not small businesses) and Small businesses. Additional restrictions may apply; review the full notice.

How much funding is available through “Advanced Nuclear Energy Licensing Cost-Share Grant Program”?

Per the notice, individual awards are listed as $5k – $8m, total estimated program funding is $50,000,000 and the agency expects to make about 25 awards.

How do I apply for “Advanced Nuclear Energy Licensing Cost-Share Grant Program”?

Applications are submitted through the official source, not through GrantsJunction. Open the official notice on Grants.gov (opportunity DE-FOA-0003339), and review the full announcement and application package. Organizations applying through Grants.gov generally need an active SAM.gov registration and a Grants.gov account, which can take several weeks to set up.

Matched on shared Assistance Listings, agency, categories and eligible applicant types.

OpenALN 81.121
Award range
Amount not specified
Closes
See notice
Who can apply
State governments, Public colleges & universities, 501(c)(3) nonprofits and 3 more
Source: Grants.govVerified today
OpenALN 81.121

RFI - DOE R

Idaho Field Office
Award range
Amount not specified
Closes
See notice
Who can apply
Public colleges & universities, 501(c)(3) nonprofits, Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status and 3 more
Source: Grants.govVerified today