Office of Elementary and Secondary Education (OESE): Alaska Native Education (ANE) Program CFDA Number 84.356A
At a glance
Office of Elementary and Secondary Education (OESE): Alaska Native Education (ANE) Program CFDA Number 84.356A is a closed federal grant opportunity from the Department of Education. The application deadline was July 5, 2019. Individual awards are listed as up to $1.5M, with about 40 awards expected and $19.6M in total estimated funding. Applicant types listed as eligible include others (see notice). Cost sharing is not required. It is funded under Assistance Listing 84.356 (Alaska Native Educational Programs).
Summary assembled from the official notice's fields. The official notice governs.
Key facts
- Jun 4, 2019Posted
- Jul 5, 2019Application deadline
- Posted
- Jun 4, 2019
- Close date
- Jul 5, 2019
- Award floor
- Not specified
- Award ceiling
- $1,500,000
- Est. total funding
- $19,580,000
- Expected awards
- 40
- Cost sharing
- Not required
- Funding instrument
- Grant
- Opportunity category
- Discretionary
Who can apply
- Others (see notice)
Additional information on eligibility (from the notice)
1. Eligible Applicants: (a) Alaska Native organizations with experience operating programs that fulfill the purposes of the ANE program; (b) Alaska Native organizations that do not have experience operating programs that fulfill the purposes of the ANE program, but are in partnership with-- (i) An SEA or LEA; or (ii) An Alaska Native organization that operates a program that fulfills the purposes of the ANE program; or (c) An entity located in Alaska, and predominately governed by Alaska Natives, that does not meet the definition of an Alaska Native organization but-- (i) Has experience operating programs that fulfill the purposes of the ANE program; and (ii) Is granted an official charter or sanction from at least one Alaska Native Tribe or Alaska Native organization to carry out programs that meet the purposes of the ANE program.
- Independent school districts
A quick check against the listed applicant types — other requirements in the notice still apply.
Based on the published notice. Review the official notice for complete eligibility requirements.
What it funds
Official synopsis as published by the agency, formatted for readability.
Note: Each funding opportunity description is a synopsis of information in the Federal Register application notice. For specific information about eligibility, please see the official application notice. The official version of this document is the document published in the Federal Register. Free Internet access to the official edition of the Federal Register and the Code of Federal Regulations is available on GPO Access at: http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/index.html. Please review the official application notice for pre-application and application requirements, application submission information, performance measures, priorities and program contact information.
For the addresses for obtaining and submitting an application, please refer to our Common Instructions for Applicants to Department of Education Discretionary Grant Programs, published in the Federal Register on February 13, 2019 (84 FR 3768),or at www.govinfo.gov/content/pkg/FR-2019-02-13/pdf/2019-02206.pdf.
Purpose of Program: The purpose of the ANE program is to support innovative projects that recognize and address the unique educational needs of Alaska Natives. These projects must include the activities authorized under section 6304(a)(2) of the Elementary and Secondary Education Act of 1965, as amended(ESEA), and may include one or more of the activities authorized under section 6304(a)(3) of the ESEA.
Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance (CFDA)number 84.356A.
Full announcement & documents
The full announcement has the complete rules — page limits, required attachments, evaluation criteria and any letter-of-intent dates. Files download directly from Grants.gov.
Assistance Listing
What is an ALN?Reported obligations under ALN 84.356
Historical data · not a predictionAgency contact (as published)
Julius C Cotton ED Grants.gov FIND Systems Admin.
OESE.ASKANEP@ed.gov
202-245-6288
Places named in the notice
Derived from the notice text. A place being named does not by itself restrict eligibility.
Quick answers
Who is eligible to apply for this opportunity?
The official notice lists these applicant types as eligible: Others (see notice). Additional restrictions may apply; review the full notice.
How much funding is available through this opportunity?
Per the notice, individual awards are listed as up to $1.5m, total estimated program funding is $19,580,000 and the agency expects to make about 40 awards.
How do I apply for this opportunity?
Applications are submitted through the official source, not through GrantsJunction. Open the official notice on Grants.gov (opportunity ED-GRANTS-060419-001), and review the full announcement and application package. Organizations applying through Grants.gov generally need an active SAM.gov registration and a Grants.gov account, which can take several weeks to set up.
Related open opportunities
Matched on shared Assistance Listings, agency, categories and eligible applicant types.
Innovative Water Infrastructure Workforce Development Grant
Environmental Protection Agency- Award range
- Up to $7.8M
- Closes
- Oct 15, 2026
- Who can apply
- Others (see notice)
2026 Alaska Marine Education and Training Mini-Grant Program
DOC NOAA - ERA Production- Award range
- $15K – $75K
- Closes
- May 1, 2028
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 11 more
Secondary Analysis and Integration of Existing Data to Elucidate Cancer Risk and Related Outcomes (R01 Clinical Trial Not Allowed)
National Institutes of Health- Award range
- Up to $350K
- Closes
- Nov 6, 2026
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 12 more
Secondary Analysis and Integration of Existing Data to Elucidate Cancer Risk and Related Outcomes (R21 Clinical Trials Not Allowed)
National Institutes of Health- Award range
- Up to $200K
- Closes
- Nov 17, 2026
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 12 more
Intervention Research to Improve Native American Health (R34 Clinical Trial Optional)
National Institutes of Health- Award range
- Amount not specified
- Closes
- Jan 7, 2027
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 12 more
Enhancing Mechanistic Research on Precision Probiotic Therapies (R61/R33 Clinical Trial Optional)
National Institutes of Health- Award range
- Amount not specified
- Closes
- Jun 2, 2027
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 12 more