Office of Postsecondary Education (OPE): Alaska Native Program CFDA Number 84.031R
At a glance
Office of Postsecondary Education (OPE): Alaska Native Program CFDA Number 84.031R is a closed federal grant opportunity from the Department of Education. The application deadline was July 5, 2019. Individual awards are listed as up to $450K, with about 5 awards expected and $2.25M in total estimated funding. Applicant types listed as eligible include others (see notice). Cost sharing is not required. It is funded under Assistance Listing 84.031 (Higher Education Institutional Aid).
Summary assembled from the official notice's fields. The official notice governs.
Key facts
- Jun 4, 2019Posted
- Jul 5, 2019Application deadline
- Posted
- Jun 4, 2019
- Close date
- Jul 5, 2019
- Award floor
- Not specified
- Award ceiling
- $450,000
- Est. total funding
- $2,250,000
- Expected awards
- 5
- Cost sharing
- Not required
- Funding instrument
- Grant, Cooperative Agreement
- Opportunity category
- Discretionary
Who can apply
- Others (see notice)
Additional information on eligibility (from the notice)
1. Eligible Applicants: This program is authorized by title III, part F, of the HEA. At the time of submission of their applications, applicants must certify their total undergraduate headcount enrollment and that either 20 percent of the IHE’s enrollment is Alaska Native or 10 percent is Native Hawaiian. An assurance form, which is included in the application materials for this competition, must be signed by an official for the applicant and submitted. To qualify as an eligible institution under the ANNH Program, an institution must-- (a) Be accredited or preaccredited by a nationally recognized accrediting agency or association that the Secretary has determined to be a reliable authority as to the quality of education or training offered; (b) Be legally authorized by the State in which it is located to be a junior or community college or to provide an educational program for which it awards a bachelor's degree; (c) Be designated as an “eligible institution” by demonstrating that it: (1) has an enrollment of needy students as described in 34 CFR 607.3; and (2) has low average educational and general expenditures per full-time equivalent (FTE) undergraduate student as described in 34 CFR 607.4.
- Public colleges & universities
- Private colleges & universities
A quick check against the listed applicant types — other requirements in the notice still apply.
Based on the published notice. Review the official notice for complete eligibility requirements.
What it funds
Official synopsis as published by the agency, formatted for readability.
For the addresses for obtaining and submitting an application, please refer to our Common Instructions for Applicants to Department of Education Discretionary Grant Programs, published in the Federal Register on February 13, 2019 (84 FR 3768),or at www.govinfo.gov/content/pkg/FR-2019-02-13/pdf/2019-02206.pdf.
Purpose of Program: The ANNH Program provides grants to eligible institutions of higher education (IHEs) to enable them to improve and expand their capacity to serve Alaska Natives and Native Hawaiians. Institutions may use these grants to plan,develop, or implement activities that strengthen the institution.
Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance (CFDA)number 84.031R.
Full announcement & documents
The full announcement has the complete rules — page limits, required attachments, evaluation criteria and any letter-of-intent dates. Files download directly from Grants.gov.
Assistance Listing
What is an ALN?Reported obligations under ALN 84.031
Historical data · not a predictionAgency contact (as published)
Julius C Cotton ED Grants.gov FIND Systems Admin.
Robyn.Wood@ed.gov
202-245-6288
Places named in the notice
Derived from the notice text. A place being named does not by itself restrict eligibility.
Quick answers
Who is eligible to apply for “Office of Postsecondary Education (OPE): Alaska Native Program CFDA Number 84.031R”?
The official notice names these applicant types as eligible: Others (see notice). Additional restrictions may apply; review the full notice.
How much funding is available through “Office of Postsecondary Education (OPE): Alaska Native Program CFDA Number 84.031R”?
Per the notice, individual awards are listed as up to $450k, total estimated program funding is $2,250,000 and the agency expects to make about 5 awards.
How do I apply for “Office of Postsecondary Education (OPE): Alaska Native Program CFDA Number 84.031R”?
Applications are submitted through the official source, not through GrantsJunction. Open the official notice on Grants.gov (opportunity ED-GRANTS-060419-002), and review the full announcement and application package. Organizations applying through Grants.gov generally need an active SAM.gov registration and a Grants.gov account, which can take several weeks to set up.
Related open opportunities
Matched on shared Assistance Listings, agency, categories and eligible applicant types.
2026 Alaska Marine Education and Training Mini-Grant Program
DOC NOAA - ERA Production- Award range
- $15K – $75K
- Closes
- May 1, 2028
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 11 more
Intervention Research to Improve Native American Health (R34 Clinical Trial Optional)
National Institutes of Health- Award range
- Amount not specified
- Closes
- Jan 7, 2027
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 12 more
Culture of Research and University Exchanges Prep program (CRUX) in One Health and Agricultural STEM
U.S. Mission to Zimbabwe- Award range
- Amount not specified
- Est. close
- Jul 15, 2021 (est.)
- Who can apply
- Others (see notice)
NDEP STEM Open NFO
Washington Headquarters Services- Award range
- $100K – $10M
- Closes
- Feb 8, 2028
- Who can apply
- Others (see notice)
EONS 2018: Appendix E Minority University Research and Education Project (MUREP) for Sustainability and Innovation Collaborative – (MUSIC)
National Aeronautics and Space Administration- Award range
- Up to $450K
- Closes
- See notice
- Who can apply
- Unrestricted (any entity type)
National Space Grant College and Fellowship Program - Opportunities in NASA STEM FY 2020 – 2024
National Aeronautics and Space Administration- Award range
- Up to $700K
- Closes
- See notice
- Who can apply
- Others (see notice)