Office of Elementary and Secondary Education (OESE): State Tribal Education Partnership (STEP): Tribal Education Agency Development Discretionary Grant Program (STEP Development) CFDA Number 84.415A
At a glance
Office of Elementary and Secondary Education (OESE): State Tribal Education Partnership (STEP): Tribal Education Agency Development Discretionary Grant Program (STEP Development) CFDA Number 84.415A is a closed federal grant opportunity from the Department of Education. The application deadline was August 12, 2019. Total estimated funding is $1.6M across about 10 awards. Applicant types listed as eligible include federally recognized tribal governments, native american tribal organizations and others (see notice). Cost sharing is not required. It is funded under Assistance Listing 84.415 (Indian Education National Activities (State Tribal Education Partnership (STEP) and Native American Language (NAL)).
Summary assembled from the official notice's fields. The official notice governs.
Key facts
- Jun 14, 2019Posted
- Aug 12, 2019Application deadline
- Posted
- Jun 14, 2019
- Close date
- Aug 12, 2019
- Award floor
- Not specified
- Award ceiling
- Not specified
- Est. total funding
- $1,600,000
- Implied average award
- $160,000 calculated
- Expected awards
- 10
- Cost sharing
- Not required
- Funding instrument
- Grant
- Opportunity category
- Discretionary
Typical awards for this program (SAM.gov listing for ALN 84.415, not this notice): The average STEP award is $400,000. The average NAL award is $350,000. The average NALRC award is $324,000.
Implied average = estimated total funding ÷ expected number of awards, calculated by GrantsJunction. Actual awards vary.
Who can apply
- Federally recognized tribal governments
- Native American tribal organizations
- Others (see notice)
Additional information on eligibility (from the notice)
Eligible Applicants: Indian Tribes that do not have a TEA, Tribal organizations approved by an Indian Tribe that do not have a TEA, or a consortium of such entities.
A quick check against the listed applicant types — other requirements in the notice still apply.
Based on the published notice. Review the official notice for complete eligibility requirements.
What it funds
Official synopsis as published by the agency, formatted for readability.
Note: Each funding opportunity description is a synopsis ofinformation in the Federal Register application notice. For specificinformation about eligibility, please see the official application notice. Theofficial version of this document is the document published in the FederalRegister. Free Internet access to the official edition of the Federal Registerand the Code of Federal Regulations is available on GPO Access at: http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/index.html. Please review theofficial application notice for pre-application and application requirements, applicationsubmission information, performance measures, priorities and program contactinformation.
Forthe addresses for obtaining and submitting an application, please refer to ourCommon Instructions for Applicants to Department of Education Discretionary GrantPrograms, published in the Federal Register on February 13, 2019 (84 FR 3768),or at www.govinfo.gov/content/pkg/FR-2019-02-13/pdf/2019-02206.pdf.
Purposeof Program: The purposes of the STEP program are to: (1) promote Tribal self-determination ineducation; (2) improve the academic achievement of Indian children and youth;and (3) promote the coordination and collaboration of Tribal educationalagencies (TEAs) with State educational agencies (SEAs) and local educationalagencies (LEAs) to meet the unique education and culturally related academicneeds of Indian students.
Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance(CFDA) number 84.415A.
Full announcement & documents
The full announcement has the complete rules — page limits, required attachments, evaluation criteria and any letter-of-intent dates. Files download directly from Grants.gov.
- Common Instructions for Department of Education Discretionary Grant ProgramsFull Announcement · 2019-02206.pdfPDF · 231 KB
- Office of Elementary and Secondary Education (OESE): State Tribal Education Partnership (STEP): Tribal Education Agency Development Discretionary Grant Program (STEP Development) CFDA Number 84.415A; Notice Inviting Applications for New AwardsFull Announcement · 2019-12500.pdfPDF · 321 KB
Assistance Listing
What is an ALN?Reported obligations under ALN 84.415
Historical data · not a predictionAgency contact (as published)
Julius C Cotton ED Grants.gov FIND Systems Admin.
shahla.ortega@ed.gov
202-245-6288
Quick answers
Who is eligible to apply for this opportunity?
The official notice lists these applicant types as eligible: Federally recognized tribal governments, Native American tribal organizations and Others (see notice). Additional restrictions may apply; review the full notice.
How much funding is available through this opportunity?
Per the notice, total estimated program funding is $1,600,000 and the agency expects to make about 10 awards.
How do I apply for this opportunity?
Applications are submitted through the official source, not through GrantsJunction. Open the official notice on Grants.gov (opportunity ED-GRANTS-061319-001), and review the full announcement and application package. Organizations applying through Grants.gov generally need an active SAM.gov registration and a Grants.gov account, which can take several weeks to set up.
Related open opportunities
Matched on shared Assistance Listings, agency, categories and eligible applicant types.
Innovative Water Infrastructure Workforce Development Grant
Environmental Protection Agency- Award range
- Up to $7.8M
- Closes
- Oct 15, 2026
- Who can apply
- Others (see notice)
Impact Aid Discretionary Construction Grant Program - 84.041C
Office of Elementary and Secondary Education- Award range
- $400K – $8M
- Closes
- Nov 10, 2026
- Who can apply
- Independent school districts
Culture of Research and University Exchanges Prep program (CRUX) in One Health and Agricultural STEM
U.S. Mission to Zimbabwe- Award range
- Amount not specified
- Est. close
- Jul 15, 2021 (est.)
- Who can apply
- Others (see notice)
Secondary Analysis and Integration of Existing Data to Elucidate Cancer Risk and Related Outcomes (R01 Clinical Trial Not Allowed)
National Institutes of Health- Award range
- Up to $350K
- Closes
- Nov 6, 2026
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 12 more
Secondary Analysis and Integration of Existing Data to Elucidate Cancer Risk and Related Outcomes (R21 Clinical Trials Not Allowed)
National Institutes of Health- Award range
- Up to $200K
- Closes
- Nov 17, 2026
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 12 more
EONS 2018: Appendix E Minority University Research and Education Project (MUREP) for Sustainability and Innovation Collaborative – (MUSIC)
National Aeronautics and Space Administration- Award range
- Up to $450K
- Closes
- See notice
- Who can apply
- Unrestricted (any entity type)