Assistance Listing 84.415
Indian Education National Activities (State Tribal Education Partnership (STEP) and Native American Language (NAL)
Department of Education · Office of Elementary and Secondary Education
Assistance Listing 84.415, “Indian Education National Activities (State Tribal Education Partnership (STEP) and Native American Language (NAL),” is a federal program administered by Department of Education. It provides grant assistance. GrantsJunction currently tracks 0 open, 0 forecasted and 3 closed opportunities under this listing. The agency reported $12.4M in obligations for fiscal year 2025.
Program objective
The objectives of the State Tribal Education Partnership (STEP) program (CFDA 84.415A) are to (a) promote Tribal self-determination in education; (b) improve the academic achievement of Indian children and youth; and (c) promote the coordination and collaboration of Tribal educational agencies (TEAs) with State educational agencies (SEAs) and local educational agencies (LEAs) to meet the unique educational and culturally related academic needs of Indian students. The objectives of the Native American Language (NAL) program (CFDA 84.415B) are to (a) to establish a grant program to support schools that use Native American and Alaska Native languages as the primary language of instruction; (b) to maintain, protect, and promote the rights and freedom of Native Americans and Alaska Natives to use, practice, maintain, and revitalize their languages, as envisioned in the Native American Languages Act (25 U.S.C. 2901 et seq.); and (c) to support the Nation’s First Peoples’ efforts to maintain and revitalize their languages and cultures, and to improve educational opportunities and student outcomes within Native American and Alaska Native communities. National Activities funds also support, through contracts, the National Indian Education Study, technical assistance to grantees, peer review of new grant awards, and logistical support activities, including tribal consultations and listening sessions. The objective of the Native American Language Resource Centers program (CFDA 84.415C) is to support establishing, strengthening, and operating one or more Native American language resource centers.
As published in the SAM.gov Assistance Listing.
Current opportunities under 84.415
No open or forecasted opportunities are currently posted under this listing. Programs often post notices on an annual cycle — see recently closed opportunities below for timing.
Eligible applicants (program level)
- Other
- School District Government
- Municipality or Township government (inclusive of cities, towns, boroughs (except in Alaska), and villages)
- School District
- Indian/Native American/Alaska Native Tribal Government (Other than Federally Recognized)
- Federally Recognized Indian/Native American/Alaska Native Tribal Government
STEP: Tribal Educational Agencies (TEAs), including a consortium of TEAs. An Indian Tribe that receives funds from the BIE under section 1140 of the Education Amendments of 1978 (25 U.S.C. 2020) is not eligible to receive funds under this program. NAL: The following entities, either alone or in a consortium, that have a plan to develop and maintain, or to improve and expand, programs that support the entity’s use of a Native American or Alaska Native language as the primary language of instruction in one or more elementary or secondary schools (or both) are eligible under this program: (a) An Indian Tribe. (b) A Tribal College or University (TCU). (c) A Tribal education agency. (d) An LEA, including a public charter school that is an LEA under State law. (e) A school operated by the Bureau of Indian Education (BIE). (f) An Alaska Native Regional Corporation (as described in section 3(g) of the Alaska Native Claims Settlement Act (43 U.S.C. 1602(g))). (g) A private, Tribal, or Alaska Native nonprofit organization. (h) A non-Tribal for-profit organization.
Program-level eligibility from SAM.gov. Each funding notice sets its own requirements.
Reported obligations by fiscal year
Historical data · not a predictionRange and average of financial assistance (from the listing): The average STEP award is $400,000. The average NAL award is $350,000. The average NALRC award is $324,000.
Source: SAM.gov Assistance Listing 84.415. Hatched bars are agency estimates. These totals do not indicate approval rates.Recently closed under 84.415
| Opportunity | Status | Award range | Closes | ALN |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Closed | Amount not specified | Aug 2, 2022 | 84.415 | |
| Closed | Amount not specified | Jul 31, 2020 | 84.415 | |
| Closed | Amount not specified | Aug 12, 2019 | 84.415 |
Frequently asked questions
What is ALN 84.415?
84.415 is the Assistance Listing Number for “Indian Education National Activities (State Tribal Education Partnership (STEP) and Native American Language (NAL).” Assistance Listing Numbers (formerly CFDA numbers) identify federal assistance programs; individual grant opportunities reference the listing they are funded under.
Who can apply under ALN 84.415?
The SAM.gov listing names these applicant types: Other, School District Government, Municipality or Township government (inclusive of cities, towns, boroughs (except in Alaska), and villages), School District, Indian/Native American/Alaska Native Tribal Government (Other than Federally Recognized) and Federally Recognized Indian/Native American/Alaska Native Tribal Government. Each funding notice under the program sets its own eligibility, so check the specific opportunity.
How much funding does 84.415 provide?
The agency reported $12,365,000 in obligations for FY2025 in the SAM.gov Assistance Listing. These are program-wide totals reported by the agency, not a prediction of future awards.