Independent research tool — not a government agency. Official notices govern.Refreshed
ClosedOpportunity ED-GRANTS-121820-001

Office of English Language Acquisition (OELA): Native American and Alaska Native Children in School (NAM) Program Assistance Listing Number 84.365C

Department of Education

At a glance

Office of English Language Acquisition (OELA): Native American and Alaska Native Children in School (NAM) Program Assistance Listing Number 84.365C is a closed federal grant opportunity from the Department of Education. The application deadline was March 3, 2021. Applicant types listed as eligible include others (see notice). Cost sharing is not required. It is funded under Assistance Listing 84.365 (English Language Acquisition State Grants).

Summary assembled from the official notice's fields. The official notice governs.

Key facts

  1. Dec 18, 2020Posted
  2. Mar 3, 2021Application deadline
Posted
Dec 18, 2020
Close date
Mar 3, 2021
Award floor
Not specified
Award ceiling
Not specified
Est. total funding
Not specified
Expected awards
8
Cost sharing
Not required
Funding instrument
Grant
Opportunity category
Discretionary

Typical awards for this program (SAM.gov listing for ALN 84.365, not this notice): FY 24 $112,839 - $157,628,293; $14,696,237 average.

Who can apply

  • Others (see notice)

Additional information on eligibility (from the notice)

1. Eligible Applicants: The following entities, when they operate elementary, secondary, or postsecondary schools primarily for Native American children (including Alaska Native children), are eligible applicants under this program: (a) Indian Tribes. (b) Tribally sanctioned educational authorities. (c) Native Hawaiian or Native American Pacific Islander Native language educational organizations. (d) Elementary schools or secondary schools that are operated or funded by the Department of the Interior’s Bureau of Indian Education, or a consortium of these schools. (e) Elementary schools or secondary schools operated under a contract with or grant from the Bureau of Indian Education in consortium with another such school or a Tribal or community organization. (f) Elementary schools or secondary schools operated by the Bureau of Indian Education and an IHE, in consortium with an elementary school or secondary school operated under a contract with or a grant from the Bureau of Indian Education or a Tribal or community organization.Note: Eligible applicants applying as a consortium should read and follow the regulations in 34 CFR 75.127 through 75.129. Under section 3112(c) of the ESEA, EL students served under NAM grants must not be included in the child count submitted by a school district under section 3114(a) for purposes of receiving funding under the English Language Acquisition State Grants program.

Also named in the notice's eligibility text
  • Independent school districts
  • Public colleges & universities
  • Federally recognized tribal governments
  • Private colleges & universities
Matched from the wording above by GrantsJunction — confirm in the full announcement.

A quick check against the listed applicant types — other requirements in the notice still apply.

Based on the published notice. Review the official notice for complete eligibility requirements.

What it funds

Official synopsis as published by the agency, formatted for readability.

Note: Each funding opportunity description is a synopsis of information in the Federal Register application notice. For specific information about eligibility, please see the official application notice. The official version of this document is the document published in the Federal Register. Free Internet access to the official edition of the Federal Register and the Code of Federal Regulations is available on GPO Access at: http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/index.html. Please review the official application notice for pre-application and application requirements, application submission information, performance measures, priorities and program contact information.

For the addresses for obtaining and submitting an application, please refer to our Common Instructions for Applicants to Department of Education Discretionary Grant Programs, published in the Federal Register on February 13, 2019 (84 FR 3768),or at www.govinfo.gov/​content/​pkg/​FR-2019-02-13/​pdf/​2019-02206.pdf.

The purpose of the NAM program is to award grants to eligible entities to develop and enhance capacity to provide effective instruction and support to Native American and Alaska Native students, including Native Hawaiian and Native American Pacific Islander students, who are identified as English learners (ELs). The goal of this program is to support the teaching, learning, and studying of Native American languages while also increasing the English language proficiency and academic achievement of students served. 

           Assistance Listing Number 84.365C. 

Additional information from the agency ↗

Full announcement & documents

The full announcement has the complete rules — page limits, required attachments, evaluation criteria and any letter-of-intent dates. Files download directly from Grants.gov.

Assistance Listing

What is an ALN?

Reported obligations under ALN 84.365

Historical data · not a prediction
FY24$827M
FY25$827M
FY26$827M est.
Source: SAM.gov Assistance Listing 84.365. Program-wide totals, not awards from this specific opportunity.

Agency contact (as published)

Julius C Cotton ED Grants.gov FIND Systems Admin.
NAM2021@ed.gov
202-245-6288

Places named in the notice

Alaska

Derived from the notice text. A place being named does not by itself restrict eligibility.

Quick answers

Who is eligible to apply for this opportunity?

The official notice names these applicant types as eligible: Others (see notice). Additional restrictions may apply; review the full notice.

How do I apply for this opportunity?

Applications are submitted through the official source, not through GrantsJunction. Open the official notice on Grants.gov (opportunity ED-GRANTS-121820-001), and review the full announcement and application package. Organizations applying through Grants.gov generally need an active SAM.gov registration and a Grants.gov account, which can take several weeks to set up.

Matched on shared Assistance Listings, agency, categories and eligible applicant types.

ForecastedALN 19.040

Annual Program Statement (APS)

U.S. Mission to Greece
Award range
$25K – $100K
Est. close
Jul 11, 2025 (est.)
Who can apply
Others (see notice)
Source: Grants.govVerified today