Independent research tool — not a government agency. Official notices govern.Refreshed
ClosedResearch announcementOpportunity FOA-RVK-2019-0001

AFRL RV-RD Assistance Instruments Announcement

AFRL Kirtland AFB · Department of Defense

At a glance

AFRL RV-RD Assistance Instruments Announcement is a closed federal grant opportunity from AFRL Kirtland AFB (Department of Defense). The application deadline was December 19, 2023. Individual awards are listed as up to $90M, with about 100 awards expected. Applicant types listed as eligible include public colleges & universities and private colleges & universities. Cost sharing is not required. It is funded under Assistance Listing 12.800 (Air Force Defense Research Sciences Program).

Summary assembled from the official notice's fields. The official notice governs.

Key facts

  1. Dec 20, 2018Posted
  2. Dec 19, 2023Application deadline
Posted
Dec 20, 2018
Close date
Dec 19, 2023
Award floor
Not specified
Award ceiling
$90,000,000
Est. total funding
Not specified
Expected awards
100
Cost sharing
Not required
Funding instrument
Grant, Cooperative Agreement
Opportunity category
Discretionary

Who can apply

  • Public colleges & universities
  • Private colleges & universities

A quick check against the listed applicant types — other requirements in the notice still apply.

Based on the published notice. Review the official notice for complete eligibility requirements.

What it funds

Official synopsis as published by the agency, formatted for readability.

This is a 5 year open Funding Opportunity Announcement (FOA) accepting proposals from the date of publication for the award of Grant and Cooperative Agreement Assistance Instruments. The AFRL Space Vehicles Directorate (RV) and Directed Energy Directorate (RD) are interested in receiving proposals under this announcement in order to establish University Cooperative Agreements and Grants to provide funds to students/professors in a timely manner for the purpose of engaging U.S./U.S. territories’ colleges and universities in directed energy and space vehicles-related basic, applied, and advanced research projects that are of interest to the Department of Defense (DoD). The scope of the research will include the entire spectrum of RV and RD technology that is applicable to the Air Force, including all peripherally-related RV and RD research.

Full announcement & documents

The full announcement has the complete rules — page limits, required attachments, evaluation criteria and any letter-of-intent dates. Files download directly from Grants.gov.

Assistance Listing

What is an ALN?

Reported obligations under ALN 12.800

Historical data · not a prediction
FY24$874M
FY25$652M
FY26$700M est.
Source: SAM.gov Assistance Listing 12.800. Program-wide totals, not awards from this specific opportunity.

Agency contact (as published)

Benjamin Bray Grantor
jennifer.jaramillo@us.af.mil
505.853.2261

Quick answers

Who is eligible to apply for “AFRL RV-RD Assistance Instruments Announcement”?

The official notice lists these applicant types as eligible: Public colleges & universities and Private colleges & universities. Additional restrictions may apply; review the full notice.

How much funding is available through “AFRL RV-RD Assistance Instruments Announcement”?

Per the notice, individual awards are listed as up to $90m and the agency expects to make about 100 awards.

How do I apply for “AFRL RV-RD Assistance Instruments Announcement”?

Applications are submitted through the official source, not through GrantsJunction. Open the official notice on Grants.gov (opportunity FOA-RVK-2019-0001), and review the full announcement and application package. Organizations applying through Grants.gov generally need an active SAM.gov registration and a Grants.gov account, which can take several weeks to set up.

Matched on shared Assistance Listings, agency, categories and eligible applicant types.

ForecastedResearchALN 12.800

STARBASE Wright Patt

Air Force -- Research Lab
Award range
Amount not specified
Est. close
Not yet set
Who can apply
Independent school districts
Source: Grants.govVerified today
OpenResearchALN 12.800
Award range
$150K – $450K
Closes
Dec 4, 2026
Who can apply
Public colleges & universities, 501(c)(3) nonprofits, Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status and 2 more
Source: Grants.govVerified today