Independent research tool — not a government agency. Official notices govern.Refreshed
OpenResearch announcementOpportunity RDK-RAD-FOA-2024

Research and Development (RAD) Directed Energy (RD) University Assistance Instruments

Air Force -- Research Lab · Department of Defense

At a glance

Research and Development (RAD) Directed Energy (RD) University Assistance Instruments is an open federal grant opportunity from the Air Force -- Research Lab (Department of Defense). Applications are due July 18, 2029. Individual awards are listed as up to $49M. The notice is unrestricted by applicant type, subject to any clarifications in the notice. Cost sharing is not required. It is funded under Assistance Listing 12.800 (Air Force Defense Research Sciences Program).

Summary assembled from the official notice's fields. The official notice governs.

Key facts

  1. Jul 18, 2024Posted
  2. Jul 18, 2029Application deadlinenext date
  3. Aug 17, 2029Archived
Posted
Jul 18, 2024
Close date
Jul 18, 2029
Archive date
Aug 17, 2029
Award floor
Not specified
Award ceiling
$49,000,000
Est. total funding
Not specified
Expected awards
Not specified
Cost sharing
Not required
Funding instrument
Grant, Cooperative Agreement
Opportunity category
Discretionary

Who can apply

  • Unrestricted (any entity type)

Additional information on eligibility (from the notice)

See FOA for Eligibility

A quick check against the listed applicant types — other requirements in the notice still apply.

Based on the published notice. Review the official notice for complete eligibility requirements.

What it funds

Official synopsis as published by the agency, formatted for readability.

Original Solictation:

  • Closing Date of the FOA
  • FROM: 18 July 2024
  • TO: 18 July 2029
  • Cost Ceiling
  • $49M
  • Contracting/Agreements Points of Contact (POC)
  • Agreements Officer
  • Mariah Salazar
  • Agreements Specialist
  • Monique Esquibel-Sena
  • Emails: mariah.salazar@us.af.mil; monique.esquibel_sena@us.af.mil

Solicitation Amend 1:

  • Closing Date of the FOA
  • FROM: 18 July 2024
  • TO: 18 July 2029
  • Cost Ceiling
  • $49M
  • Contracting/Agreements Points of Contact (POC)
  • Agreements Officer
  • Mariah Salazar
  • Agreements Specialist
  • Monique Esquibel-Sena
  • Emails: mariah.salazar@us.af.mil; monique.esquibel_sena@us.af.mil

(Revisions made: Updated information on Mandatory Letter of Intent to allow for interested parties to submit Letters of Intent through Valid Eval portal)

Solicitation Amend 2:

  • Closing Date of the FOA
  • FROM: 18 July 2024
  • TO: 18 July 2029
  • Cost Ceiling
  • $49M
  • Contracting/Agreements Points of Contact (POC)
  • Agreements Officer
  • Mariah Salazar
  • Agreements Specialist
  • Monique Esquibel-Sena
  • Emails: mariah.salazar@us.af.mil; monique.esquibel_sena@us.af.mil

(Revisions made: Added detail for Letter of Intent Evaluation Criteria)

Solicitation Amend 3:

  • Closing Date of the FOA
  • FROM: 18 July 2024
  • TO: 18 July 2029
  • Cost Ceiling
  • $49M
  • Contracting/Agreements Points of Contact (POC)
  • Agreements Officer
  • Mariah Salazar
  • Alternate Agreements Officer
  • Jennifer Jaramillo
  • Agreements Specialist
  • Monique Esquibel-Sena
  • Brendan Merritt
  • Emails: mariah.salazar@us.af.mil; monique.esquibel_sena@us.af.mil, jennifer.jaramillo@us.af.mil, brendan.merritt@us.af.mil

(Revisions made: Changed Letter of Intent review from 10 business days to 30 business days, Added verbiage to Section, D. Review and Selection Process, on Security Risk Review, added Agreement Specialist, Brendan Merritt, brendan.merritt@us.af.mil)

Solicitation Amend 4:

  • Closing Date of the FOA
  • FROM: 18 July 2024
  • TO: 18 July 2029
  • Cost Ceiling
  • $49M
  • Contracting/Agreements Points of Contact (POC)
  • Agreements Officer
  • Mariah Salazar
  • Alternate Agreements Officer
  • Jennifer Jaramillo
  • Agreements Specialist
  • Monique Esquibel-Sena
  • Emails: mariah.salazar@us.af.mil; monique.esquibel_sena@us.af.mil, jennifer.jaramillo@us.af.mil

(Revisions made: Changed Attachment 2 of Solicitation to DoD R&D General Terms and Conditions MARCH 2025. Removed Agreement Specialist, Brendan Merritt, brendan.merritt@us.af.mil)

Full announcement & documents

The full announcement has the complete rules — page limits, required attachments, evaluation criteria and any letter-of-intent dates. Files download directly from Grants.gov.

How to apply

0 of 8 done · progress saved in this browser

Assistance Listing

What is an ALN?

Reported obligations under ALN 12.800

Historical data · not a prediction
FY24$874M
FY25$652M
FY26$700M est.
Source: SAM.gov Assistance Listing 12.800. Program-wide totals, not awards from this specific opportunity.

Agency contact (as published)

Mariah Salazar Contracting and Grants Officer
mariah.salazar@us.af.mil
5056108624

Quick answers

When is the deadline for “Research and Development (RAD) Directed Energy (RD) University Assistance Instruments”?

According to the official notice, applications are due July 18, 2029. The notice adds: “See FOA” Confirm the deadline and submission time on Grants.gov before applying.

Who is eligible to apply for “Research and Development (RAD) Directed Energy (RD) University Assistance Instruments”?

The notice lists eligibility as unrestricted — open to any type of entity — subject to clarifications in the notice's additional eligibility information.

How much funding is available through “Research and Development (RAD) Directed Energy (RD) University Assistance Instruments”?

Per the notice, individual awards are listed as up to $49m.

How do I apply for “Research and Development (RAD) Directed Energy (RD) University Assistance Instruments”?

Applications are submitted through the official source, not through GrantsJunction. Open the official notice on Grants.gov (opportunity RDK-RAD-FOA-2024), and review the full announcement and application package. Organizations applying through Grants.gov generally need an active SAM.gov registration and a Grants.gov account, which can take several weeks to set up.

Matched on shared Assistance Listings, agency, categories and eligible applicant types.

OpenResearchALN 12.800
Award range
Amount not specified
Closes
Sep 30, 2027
Who can apply
Unrestricted (any entity type)
Source: Grants.govVerified today
ForecastedResearchALN 12.800

STARBASE Wright Patt

Air Force -- Research Lab
Award range
Amount not specified
Est. close
Not yet set
Who can apply
Independent school districts
Source: Grants.govVerified today
OpenResearchALN 12.800
Award range
Amount not specified
Closes
Sep 30, 2027
Who can apply
Unrestricted (any entity type)
Source: Grants.govVerified today