Fostering Access, Rights, and Education (FARE) Grant Program
At a glance
Fostering Access, Rights, and Education (FARE) Grant Program is a closed federal grant opportunity from the Womens Bureau (Department of Labor). The application deadline was July 1, 2022. Individual awards are listed as $250K – $350K, with about 8 awards expected and $2M in total estimated funding. Applicant types listed as eligible include 501(c)(3) nonprofits and nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status. Cost sharing is not required. It is funded under Assistance Listing 17.700 (Women's Bureau).
Summary assembled from the official notice's fields. The official notice governs.
Key facts
- Posted
- May 18, 2022
- Close date
- Jul 1, 2022
- Award floor
- $250,000
- Award ceiling
- $350,000
- Est. total funding
- $2,000,000
- Expected awards
- 8
- Cost sharing
- Not required
- Funding instrument
- Grant
- Opportunity category
- Discretionary
Who can apply
- 501(c)(3) nonprofits
- Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status
Based on the published notice. Review the official notice for complete eligibility requirements.
What it funds
Official synopsis as published by the agency, formatted for readability.
The Women's Bureau, U.S. Department of Labor, announces the Fostering Access, Rights, and Education (FARE) grant program. This funding opportunity will allow award recipients to undertake projects to assist marginalized and underserved women workers in understanding and accessing their employment rights, public services, and benefits. The grants will build on the successes of recent promising initiatives to enlist trusted messengers and community groups to reach working women, including but not limited to women of color, women with disabilities, justice-impacted women, individuals who identify as LGBTQ, marginalized workers in female-dominated sectors hard-hit by the pandemic, ethnic minorities, immigrants, workers with limited English proficiency, older adults, and workers experiencing intimate partner violence, substance abuse issues, homelessness, or chronic poverty.
Assistance Listing
What is an ALN?Reported obligations under ALN 17.700
Historical data · not a predictionAgency contact (as published)
Womens Bureau
Porter.Sharon.D@dol.gov
202-693-3905
Quick answers
Who is eligible to apply for “Fostering Access, Rights, and Education (FARE) Grant Program”?
The official notice lists these applicant types as eligible: 501(c)(3) nonprofits and Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status. Additional restrictions may apply; review the full notice.
How much funding is available through “Fostering Access, Rights, and Education (FARE) Grant Program”?
Per the notice, individual awards are listed as $250k – $350k, total estimated program funding is $2,000,000 and the agency expects to make about 8 awards.
How do I apply for “Fostering Access, Rights, and Education (FARE) Grant Program”?
Applications are submitted through the official source, not through GrantsJunction. Open the official notice on Grants.gov (opportunity FOA-WB-22-14), and review the full announcement and application package. Organizations applying through Grants.gov generally need an active SAM.gov registration and a Grants.gov account, which can take several weeks to set up.
Related open opportunities
Matched on shared Assistance Listings, agency, categories and eligible applicant types.
Resident Opportunity and Self-Sufficiency Service Coordinator (ROSS-SC) Program – Fiscal Year 2026
Department of Housing and Urban Development- Award range
- $272K – $817K
- Est. close
- Sep 28, 2026 (est.)
- Who can apply
- Federally recognized tribal governments, Public & Indian housing authorities, Native American tribal organizations and 3 more
Assay Validation of High Quality Markers for Clinical Studies in Cancer (UH3 Clinical Trials Not Allowed)
National Institutes of Health- Award range
- Up to $250K
- Closes
- Oct 14, 2026
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 12 more
Assay Validation of High Quality Markers for Clinical Studies in Cancer (UH2/UH3 Clinical Trial Not Allowed)
National Institutes of Health- Award range
- Amount not specified
- Closes
- Oct 14, 2026
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 12 more
Revision Applications for Validation of Biomarker Assays Developed Through NIH-Supported Research Grants (R01 Clinical Trial Not Allowed)
National Institutes of Health- Award range
- Amount not specified
- Closes
- Oct 14, 2026
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 12 more
NCI Pathway to Independence Award for Early-Stage Postdoctoral Researchers (K99/R00 - Independent Clinical Trial Required)
National Institutes of Health- Award range
- Amount not specified
- Closes
- Oct 14, 2026
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 12 more
NCI Pathway to Independence Award for Early-Stage Postdoctoral Researchers (K99/R00 - Independent Clinical Trial Not Allowed)
National Institutes of Health- Award range
- Amount not specified
- Closes
- Oct 14, 2026
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 12 more