The Primary Prevention Youth Homelessness Demonstration Program
Administration for Children & Families - ACYF/FYSB · Department of Health and Human Services
At a glance
The Primary Prevention Youth Homelessness Demonstration Program is a closed federal cooperative agreement opportunity from the Administration for Children & Families - ACYF/FYSB (Department of Health and Human Services). The application deadline was August 31, 2026. Individual awards are listed as $350K – $500K, with about 14 awards expected and $7M in total estimated funding. Applicant types listed as eligible include state governments, county governments, city or township governments, special district governments, independent school districts and 2 more. Cost sharing or matching is required. It is funded under Assistance Listing 93.647 (Social Services Research and Demonstration).
Summary assembled from the official notice's fields. The official notice governs.
Key facts
- Jul 23, 2026Posted
- Aug 31, 2026Application deadline
- Sep 29, 2026 (est.)Est. award date
- Posted
- Jul 23, 2026
- Close date
- Aug 31, 2026
- Est. award date
- Sep 29, 2026
- Award floor
- $350,000
- Award ceiling
- $500,000
- Est. total funding
- $7,000,000
- Original deadline (extended)
- Aug 24, 2026
- Expected awards
- 14
- Cost sharing
- Required
- Funding instrument
- Cooperative Agreement
- Opportunity category
- Discretionary
Who can apply
- State governments
- County governments
- City or township governments
- Special district governments
- Independent school districts
- Public colleges & universities
- Federally recognized tribal governments
Additional information on eligibility (from the notice)
Applications from individuals (including sole proprietorships) and foreign entities are not eligible and will be disqualified from the merit review and funding under this funding opportunity. Faith-based and community organizations that meet the eligibility requirements are eligible for awards under this funding opportunity.
A quick check against the listed applicant types — other requirements in the notice still apply.
Based on the published notice. Review the official notice for complete eligibility requirements.
What it funds
Official synopsis as published by the agency, formatted for readability.
The Primary Prevention Youth Homelessness Demonstration Program provides funding to identify and implement strategies and services for youth and young adults between ages 12 and 26 in order to prevent homelessness, including strategies designed to serve youth and young adult populations with a high likelihood of experiencing homelessness, housing instability, particularly among youth at risk of human trafficking; struggling with substance abuse or mental health concerns; or transitioning out of foster care, the juvenile justice system, or a residential behavioral health system. Primary prevention efforts should focus on reasons youth become homeless, such as a lack of affordable housing, poverty, and family dynamics.Grant recipients must also work with youth who have experienced homelessness, are self-sufficient, and can assist with helping design and implement their projects. This includes establishing local youth advisory boards. In addition, grant recipients awarded under this funding opportunity must participate in a federally sponsored evaluation.
Full announcement & documents
The full announcement has the complete rules — page limits, required attachments, evaluation criteria and any letter-of-intent dates. Files download directly from Grants.gov.
Assistance Listing
What is an ALN?Reported obligations under ALN 93.647
Historical data · not a predictionAgency contact (as published)
Administration for Children & Families - ACYF/FYSB
amanda.persad@acf.hhs.gov
202-690-7110
Quick answers
Who is eligible to apply for “The Primary Prevention Youth Homelessness Demonstration Program”?
The official notice lists these applicant types as eligible: State governments, County governments, City or township governments, Special district governments, Independent school districts, Public colleges & universities and Federally recognized tribal governments. Additional restrictions may apply; review the full notice.
How much funding is available through “The Primary Prevention Youth Homelessness Demonstration Program”?
Per the notice, individual awards are listed as $350k – $500k, total estimated program funding is $7,000,000 and the agency expects to make about 14 awards.
How do I apply for “The Primary Prevention Youth Homelessness Demonstration Program”?
Applications are submitted through the official source, not through GrantsJunction. Open the official notice on Grants.gov (opportunity HHS-2026-ACF-ACYF-YY-0119), and review the full announcement and application package. Organizations applying through Grants.gov generally need an active SAM.gov registration and a Grants.gov account, which can take several weeks to set up.
Related open opportunities
Matched on shared Assistance Listings, agency, categories and eligible applicant types.
Human Trafficking Youth Prevention Education (HTYPE) Demonstration Program
Administration for Children and Families-IOAS-OTIP- Award range
- $350K – $400K
- Est. close
- Mar 10, 2027 (est.)
- Who can apply
- Others (see notice)
Mentored Clinical Scientist Research Career Development Award (Parent K08 Independent Clinical Trial Not Allowed)
National Institutes of Health- Award range
- Amount not specified
- Closes
- May 8, 2027
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 12 more
Mentored Clinical Scientist Research Career Development Award (Parent K08 Independent Clinical Trial Required)
National Institutes of Health- Award range
- Amount not specified
- Closes
- May 8, 2027
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 12 more
Intervention Research to Improve Native American Health (R34 Clinical Trial Optional)
National Institutes of Health- Award range
- Amount not specified
- Closes
- Jan 7, 2027
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 12 more
OVC FY 2026 Improving Outcomes for Child and Youth Victims of Human Trafficking
Office for Victims of Crime- Award range
- Up to $1.6M
- Closes
- Oct 14, 2026
- Who can apply
- State governments and Federally recognized tribal governments