Alzheimer's Disease Programs Initiative (ADPI) - State and Community Grant Program
Administration for Community Living · Department of Health and Human Services
At a glance
Alzheimer's Disease Programs Initiative (ADPI) - State and Community Grant Program is a closed federal cooperative agreement opportunity from the Administration for Community Living (Department of Health and Human Services). The application deadline was July 22, 2026. Individual awards are listed as $850K – $1M, with about 12 awards expected and $10M in total estimated funding. Applicant types listed as eligible include state governments, county governments, city or township governments, special district governments, public colleges & universities and 4 more. Cost sharing or matching is required. It is funded under Assistance Listing 93.470 (Alzheimer’s Disease Program Initiative (ADPI)).
Summary assembled from the official notice's fields. The official notice governs.
Key facts
- Jun 22, 2026Posted
- Jul 22, 2026Application deadline
- Jun 1, 2026 (est.)Est. award date
- May 29, 2031Archivednext date
- Posted
- Jun 22, 2026
- Close date
- Jul 22, 2026
- Archive date
- May 29, 2031
- Est. award date
- Jun 1, 2026
- Award floor
- $850,000
- Award ceiling
- $1,000,000
- Est. total funding
- $10,000,000
- Expected awards
- 12
- Cost sharing
- Required
- Funding instrument
- Cooperative Agreement
- Opportunity category
- Discretionary
Who can apply
- State governments
- County governments
- City or township governments
- Special district governments
- Public colleges & universities
- Federally recognized tribal governments
- Native American tribal organizations
- 501(c)(3) nonprofits
- Private colleges & universities
Additional information on eligibility (from the notice)
Foreign entities are not eligible to compete for, or receive, awards made under this announcement. Faith-based and community organizations that meet the eligibility requirements are eligible to receive awards under this funding opportunity announcement.
- Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status
A quick check against the listed applicant types — other requirements in the notice still apply.
Based on the published notice. Review the official notice for complete eligibility requirements.
What it funds
Official synopsis as published by the agency, formatted for readability.
Cooperative agreements under the ADPI funding Notice of Funding Opportunity (NOFO), are intended to support and promote the development and expansion of dementia-capable home and community-based service (HCBS) systems in States and Communities. There are two application options contained in this single NOFO: Grants to States (Option A) and Grants to Communities (Option B). No entity is eligible to apply for both State and Community options and no entity is eligible to hold more than one ADPI grant at a time. The dementia-capable systems resulting from program activities under either option are expected to provide quality, person-centered services and supports that help individuals living with dementia and their caregiver remain independent and safe in their communities.OPTION A: Grants to StatesApplicants for Option A (36 month cooperative agreements) are the governmental entities within states and territories designated as the state agency for dementia-capability and that have working relationships with their state agencies that enable creating and sustaining a dementia- capable HCBS System. Option A has two required objectives, the first of which is the creation, expansion and sustainability of a dementia-capable state HCBS system that includes Single Entry Point/No Wrong Door (SEP/NWD) access for people with dementia and their family caregivers. The second objective is to ensure access to a comprehensive, sustainable set of quality state HCBS that are dementia-capable and provide innovative services to the population with dementia and their caregivers.States and territories eligible for Option A are those that do not have active ACL ADPI State dementia-capability grants. All states without active grants are eligible to apply, however those states that have not benefited from ADSSP grants since before 2014 will be given priority consideration in the post-review decision-making process.OPTION B: Grants to CommunitiesCooperative agreements under Option B (36 month cooperative agreements) are available to private and/or public community-based organizations (CBO) that are able to: 1) demonstrate their operation within an existing dementia-capable HCBS system dedicated to the population that they serve; and 2) articulate opportunities and additional services in the targeted gap areas that would enhance and strengthen the existing system.Option B cooperative agreements are designed to aid community-based HCBS providers in addressing three specific service gaps in existing dementia-capable HCBS systems for persons living with or those at high risk of developing Alzheimer"s disease and related dementias (ADRD) and their caregivers.Option B applicants must address each of the following three gap areas:Provision of effective supportive services to persons living alone with ADRD in the community;Improvement of the quality and effectiveness of programs and services dedicated to individuals aging with intellectual and developmental disabilities with ADRD or those at high risk of developing ADRD; and Delivery of behavioral symptom management training and expert consultations for family caregivers.Community-based organizations are only eligible to hold one ADPI grant at a time. All community-based organizations without active ADPI grants are eligible to apply, however those that have not benefited from ADI-SSS and ADPI grant programs since before 2014 will be given priority consideration in the post-review decision-making process.
Full announcement & documents
The full announcement has the complete rules — page limits, required attachments, evaluation criteria and any letter-of-intent dates. Files download directly from Grants.gov.
Assistance Listing
What is an ALN?Reported obligations under ALN 93.470
Historical data · not a predictionAgency contact (as published)
Administration for Community Living
aoa.oaa@acl.hhs.gov
202-795-7325
Quick answers
Who is eligible to apply for “Alzheimer's Disease Programs Initiative (ADPI) - State and Community Grant Program”?
The official notice lists these applicant types as eligible: State governments, County governments, City or township governments, Special district governments, Public colleges & universities, Federally recognized tribal governments, Native American tribal organizations, 501(c)(3) nonprofits and Private colleges & universities. Additional restrictions may apply; review the full notice.
How much funding is available through “Alzheimer's Disease Programs Initiative (ADPI) - State and Community Grant Program”?
Per the notice, individual awards are listed as $850k – $1m, total estimated program funding is $10,000,000 and the agency expects to make about 12 awards.
How do I apply for “Alzheimer's Disease Programs Initiative (ADPI) - State and Community Grant Program”?
Applications are submitted through the official source, not through GrantsJunction. Open the official notice on Grants.gov (opportunity HHS-2026-ACL-AOA-ADPI-0002), and review the full announcement and application package. Organizations applying through Grants.gov generally need an active SAM.gov registration and a Grants.gov account, which can take several weeks to set up.
Related open opportunities
Matched on shared Assistance Listings, agency, categories and eligible applicant types.
Alzheimer's Disease Programs Initiative (ADPI) - Developing Dementia-Capable Community Health Worker Programs in the National Aging Network
Administration for Community Living- Award range
- $200K – $250K
- Est. close
- May 3, 2027 (est.)
- Who can apply
- Unrestricted (any entity type)
Lifespan Respite Care Program: State Grants
Administration for Community Living- Award range
- $300K – $500K
- Est. close
- May 31, 2027 (est.)
- Who can apply
- State governments
Intervention Research to Improve Native American Health (R34 Clinical Trial Optional)
National Institutes of Health- Award range
- Amount not specified
- Closes
- Jan 7, 2027
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 12 more
BRAIN Initiative: Reagent Resources for Brain Cell Type-Specific Access to Broaden Distribution of Enabling Technologies for Neuroscience (U24 Clinical Trial Not Allowed)
National Institutes of Health- Award range
- Amount not specified
- Closes
- Jun 15, 2027
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 12 more
Advanced Rehabilitation Research Training (ARRT) Program - Community Living and Participation
Administration for Community Living- Award range
- $245K – $250K
- Est. close
- Dec 7, 2026 (est.)
- Who can apply
- Public colleges & universities and Private colleges & universities
BRAIN Initiative: Theories, Models and Methods for Analysis of Complex Data from the Brain (R01 Clinical Trial Not Allowed)
National Institutes of Health- Award range
- Amount not specified
- Closes
- Nov 8, 2027
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 12 more