Alzheimer's Disease Programs Initiative (ADPI) - Dementia Capable Community Health Worker Programs
Administration for Community Living · Department of Health and Human Services
At a glance
Alzheimer's Disease Programs Initiative (ADPI) - Dementia Capable Community Health Worker Programs is a closed federal cooperative agreement opportunity from the Administration for Community Living (Department of Health and Human Services). The application deadline was August 3, 2026. Individual awards are listed as $200K – $250K, with about 7 awards expected and $5.25M in total estimated funding. Applicant types listed as eligible include others (see notice). Cost sharing or matching is required. It is funded under Assistance Listing 93.470 (Alzheimer’s Disease Program Initiative (ADPI)).
Summary assembled from the official notice's fields. The official notice governs.
Key facts
- Jul 2, 2026Posted
- Aug 3, 2026Application deadline
- Aug 25, 2026 (est.)Est. award date
- Oct 31, 2026Archivednext date
- Posted
- Jul 2, 2026
- Close date
- Aug 3, 2026
- Archive date
- Oct 31, 2026
- Est. award date
- Aug 25, 2026
- Award floor
- $200,000
- Award ceiling
- $250,000
- Est. total funding
- $5,250,000
- Expected awards
- 7
- Cost sharing
- Required
- Funding instrument
- Cooperative Agreement
- Opportunity category
- Discretionary
Who can apply
- Others (see notice)
Additional information on eligibility (from the notice)
Eligible applicants include entities designated to plan and coordinate a network of Older Americans Act (OAA) programs, services, and supports at a local level, including Area Agencies on Aging (AAA), Federally recognized Native American Tribal governments, and any State which has been designated a single planning and service area under section 305(a)(1)(E) of Title III in the OAA functioning as an AAA.
- Federally recognized tribal governments
A quick check against the listed applicant types — other requirements in the notice still apply.
Based on the published notice. Review the official notice for complete eligibility requirements.
What it funds
Official synopsis as published by the agency, formatted for readability.
Through the Alzheimers Disease Program Initiative (ADPI), ACL seeks to enhance workforce capacity in the National Aging Network with the inclusion of dementia-capable Community Health Workers (CHWs). CHWs work to improve conditions for health in communities with the highest rates of disease, disability, and death. ADPI supports dementia-capable home and community-based services for people living with dementia and their caregivers. As a result of this initiative, ACL seeks to strengthen relationships with rural and underserved communities and address barriers to care for people living with dementia and their caregivers.
Full announcement & documents
The full announcement has the complete rules — page limits, required attachments, evaluation criteria and any letter-of-intent dates. Files download directly from Grants.gov.
Assistance Listing
What is an ALN?Reported obligations under ALN 93.470
Historical data · not a predictionWho was funded under ALN 93.470
Historical data · not a predictionSince October 1, 2023, 70 grant awards had funding actions under Alzheimer’s Disease Program Initiative (ADPI), with 19 sub-awards passed on to other organizations. These are program-wide awards, not awards from this specific notice.
- ALZHEIMERS DISEASE & RELATED DISORDERS ASSOCIATION INC$8.85M
- PIMA COUNCIL ON AGING, INC$1.75M
- OAKWOOD CREATIVE CARE INC$1M
- ALZHEIMERS GREATER LOS ANGELES$1M
- SENIOR SERVICES OF SNOHOMISH COUNTY$1000K
Agency contact (as published)
Administration for Community Living
AoA.OAA@acl.hhs.gov
202-795-7325
Quick answers
Who is eligible to apply for this opportunity?
The official notice names these applicant types as eligible: Others (see notice). Additional restrictions may apply; review the full notice.
How much funding is available through this opportunity?
Per the notice, individual awards are listed as $200k – $250k, total estimated program funding is $5,250,000 and the agency expects to make about 7 awards.
How do I apply for this opportunity?
Applications are submitted through the official source, not through GrantsJunction. Open the official notice on Grants.gov (opportunity HHS-2026-ACL-AOA-ADPI-0031), and review the full announcement and application package. Organizations applying through Grants.gov generally need an active SAM.gov registration and a Grants.gov account, which can take several weeks to set up.
Related open opportunities
Matched on shared Assistance Listings, agency, categories and eligible applicant types.
Alzheimer's Disease Programs Initiative (ADPI) - Developing Dementia-Capable Community Health Worker Programs in the National Aging Network
Administration for Community Living- Award range
- $200K – $250K
- Est. close
- May 3, 2027 (est.)
- Who can apply
- Unrestricted (any entity type)
Intervention Research to Improve Native American Health (R34 Clinical Trial Optional)
National Institutes of Health- Award range
- Amount not specified
- Closes
- Jan 7, 2027
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 12 more
Lifespan Respite Care Program: State Grants
Administration for Community Living- Award range
- $300K – $500K
- Est. close
- May 31, 2027 (est.)
- Who can apply
- State governments
Advanced Rehabilitation Research Training (ARRT) Program - Health and Function
Administration for Community Living- Award range
- $245K – $250K
- Est. close
- Dec 7, 2026 (est.)
- Who can apply
- Public colleges & universities and Private colleges & universities
BRAIN Initiative: Reagent Resources for Brain Cell Type-Specific Access to Broaden Distribution of Enabling Technologies for Neuroscience (U24 Clinical Trial Not Allowed)
National Institutes of Health- Award range
- Amount not specified
- Closes
- Jun 15, 2027
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 12 more
Small Business Innovation Research Program (SBIR) Phase II
Administration for Community Living- Award range
- $280K – $288K
- Est. close
- Feb 1, 2027 (est.)
- Who can apply
- Small businesses