Alzheimer's Disease Programs Initiative (ADPI) - State Programs for Dementia Specific Respite
Administration for Community Living · Department of Health and Human Services
At a glance
Alzheimer's Disease Programs Initiative (ADPI) - State Programs for Dementia Specific Respite is a closed federal cooperative agreement opportunity from the Administration for Community Living (Department of Health and Human Services). The application deadline was August 3, 2026. Individual awards are listed as $300K – $2M, with about 30 awards expected and $54.2M in total estimated funding. Applicant types listed as eligible include state governments. Cost sharing or matching is required. It is funded under Assistance Listing 93.470 (Alzheimer’s Disease Program Initiative (ADPI)).
Summary assembled from the official notice's fields. The official notice governs.
Key facts
- Jul 2, 2026Posted
- Aug 3, 2026Application deadline
- Aug 31, 2026 (est.)Est. award date
- Aug 31, 2032Archivednext date
- Posted
- Jul 2, 2026
- Close date
- Aug 3, 2026
- Archive date
- Aug 31, 2032
- Est. award date
- Aug 31, 2026
- Award floor
- $300,000
- Award ceiling
- $2,000,000
- Est. total funding
- $54,155,869
- Expected awards
- 30
- Cost sharing
- Required
- Funding instrument
- Cooperative Agreement
- Opportunity category
- Discretionary
Who can apply
- State governments
Additional information on eligibility (from the notice)
Competition limited to State Units on Aging Foreign entities are not eligible to compete for, or receive, awards made under this announcement.
A quick check against the listed applicant types — other requirements in the notice still apply.
Based on the published notice. Review the official notice for complete eligibility requirements.
What it funds
Official synopsis as published by the agency, formatted for readability.
Cooperative agreements under the Alzheimer"s Disease Programs Initiative (ADPI)- State Programs for Dementia-Specific Respite Notice of Funding Opportunity (NOFO) is to expand and strengthen additional supports for family caregivers by providing dementia-specific respite services delivered through the National Aging Services Network (State Units on Aging (SUA), Area Agencies on Aging (AAA), and aging network service providers). The program is designed to provide respite relief in support of unpaid family caregivers of people with a probable diagnosis of Alzheimer"s disease or related dementia (ADRD) who need access or additional access to respite care or related services. The primary goal is to reduce caregiver burden and delay institutionalization of people with a probable diagnosis of ADRD through the availability and delivery of dementia-specific respite services. Through this demonstration grant opportunity, states will partner with Area Agencies on Aging (AAA) to coordinate and provide respite services for caregivers with a focus on dementia-specific respite services comparable to existing services provided under the Older Americans Act (OAA). Grant funds will be awarded to SUAs, which will distribute the funds to AAAs to carry out program implementation.Dementia-specific respite services will be made available to eligible unpaid family caregivers of people with a probable diagnosis of ADRD, as well as those under age 60 with younger-onset dementia of any age who would otherwise meet eligibility requirements under OAA funded programs. Participating SUAs will establish and define the terms and conditions governing the implementation of their dementia-specific respite program. Successful applications will include an independent third-party evaluation to assess and document the program"s impact on participating, community-residing unpaid family caregivers and individuals living with dementia.
Full announcement & documents
The full announcement has the complete rules — page limits, required attachments, evaluation criteria and any letter-of-intent dates. Files download directly from Grants.gov.
Assistance Listing
What is an ALN?Reported obligations under ALN 93.470
Historical data · not a predictionWho was funded under ALN 93.470
Historical data · not a predictionSince October 1, 2023, 70 grant awards had funding actions under Alzheimer’s Disease Program Initiative (ADPI), with 19 sub-awards passed on to other organizations. These are program-wide awards, not awards from this specific notice.
- ALZHEIMERS DISEASE & RELATED DISORDERS ASSOCIATION INC$8.85M
- PIMA COUNCIL ON AGING, INC$1.75M
- OAKWOOD CREATIVE CARE INC$1M
- ALZHEIMERS GREATER LOS ANGELES$1M
- SENIOR SERVICES OF SNOHOMISH COUNTY$1000K
Agency contact (as published)
Administration for Community Living
aoa.oaa@acl.hhs.gov
202-795-7325
Quick answers
Who is eligible to apply for this opportunity?
The official notice names these applicant types as eligible: State governments. Additional restrictions may apply; review the full notice.
How much funding is available through this opportunity?
Per the notice, individual awards are listed as $300k – $2m, total estimated program funding is $54,155,869 and the agency expects to make about 30 awards.
How do I apply for this opportunity?
Applications are submitted through the official source, not through GrantsJunction. Open the official notice on Grants.gov (opportunity HHS-2026-ACL-AOA-ADPI-0036), and review the full announcement and application package. Organizations applying through Grants.gov generally need an active SAM.gov registration and a Grants.gov account, which can take several weeks to set up.
Related open opportunities
Matched on shared Assistance Listings, agency, categories and eligible applicant types.
Alzheimer's Disease Programs Initiative (ADPI) - Developing Dementia-Capable Community Health Worker Programs in the National Aging Network
Administration for Community Living- Award range
- $200K – $250K
- Est. close
- May 3, 2027 (est.)
- Who can apply
- Unrestricted (any entity type)
Lifespan Respite Care Program: State Grants
Administration for Community Living- Award range
- $300K – $500K
- Est. close
- May 31, 2027 (est.)
- Who can apply
- State governments
BRAIN Initiative: Reagent Resources for Brain Cell Type-Specific Access to Broaden Distribution of Enabling Technologies for Neuroscience (U24 Clinical Trial Not Allowed)
National Institutes of Health- Award range
- Amount not specified
- Closes
- Jun 15, 2027
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 12 more
Intervention Research to Improve Native American Health (R34 Clinical Trial Optional)
National Institutes of Health- Award range
- Amount not specified
- Closes
- Jan 7, 2027
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 12 more
Small Business Innovation Research (SBIR) program, Phase I
Administration for Community Living- Award range
- $95K – $100K
- Est. close
- Dec 16, 2026 (est.)
- Who can apply
- Small businesses
Small Business Innovation Research Program (SBIR) Phase II
Administration for Community Living- Award range
- $280K – $288K
- Est. close
- Feb 1, 2027 (est.)
- Who can apply
- Small businesses