Independent research tool — not a government agency. Official notices govern.Refreshed
ClosedOpportunity HRSA-22-053

Area Health Education Centers Program

Health Resources and Services Administration · Department of Health and Human Services

At a glance

Area Health Education Centers Program is a closed federal cooperative agreement opportunity from the Health Resources and Services Administration (Department of Health and Human Services). The application deadline was April 6, 2022. Total estimated funding is $43.3M across about 55 awards. Applicant types listed as eligible include public colleges & universities, federally recognized tribal governments, native american tribal organizations, private colleges & universities and others (see notice). Cost sharing or matching is required. It is funded under Assistance Listing 93.107 (Area Health Education Centers).

Summary assembled from the official notice's fields. The official notice governs.

Key facts

Posted
Jan 6, 2022
Close date
Apr 6, 2022
Award floor
Not specified
Award ceiling
Not specified
Est. total funding
$43,250,000
Expected awards
55
Cost sharing
Required
Funding instrument
Cooperative Agreement
Opportunity category
Discretionary

Who can apply

  • Public colleges & universities
  • Federally recognized tribal governments
  • Native American tribal organizations
  • Private colleges & universities
  • Others (see notice)

Additional information on eligibility (from the notice)

Entities eligible to apply are public or nonprofit private accredited schools of allopathic medicine or osteopathic medicine, an incorporated consortia made up of such schools, or the parent institution(s) of such schools. In states and territories in which no AHEC Program is in operation, an accredited school of nursing is an eligible applicant. AHEC Requirements in Sections 751(d)(2)(A) and 751(d)(2)(B) of the PHS Act For FY 2022, the Consolidated Appropriations Act, 2021 (Public Law 116-260) gave the Secretary authority to grant a waiver of the AHEC requirements under sections 751(d)(2)(A) and 751(d)(2)(B) of the PHS Act13 to programs meeting certain requirements, including that the program must have been operating under section 751 of the PHS Act on or before January 1, 2009. Applicants seeking a waiver must submit their request with their grant application. Decisions regarding the waiver requests are contingent upon extension of the Secretary’s waiver authority for FY 2022 and HRSA administrative review of each waiver request. For instructions, please see Attachment 9. Foreign entities are not eligible for these awards.

Based on the published notice. Review the official notice for complete eligibility requirements.

What it funds

Official synopsis as published by the agency, formatted for readability.

This notice announces the opportunity to apply for funding under the Area Health Education Centers (AHEC) Program.
The purpose of the AHEC Program is to develop and enhance education and training networks within communities, academic institutions, and community-based organizations. In turn, these networks seek to increase diversity among health professionals, broaden the distribution of the health workforce, enhance health care quality, and improve health care delivery to rural and underserved areas and populations.

Assistance Listing

What is an ALN?

Reported obligations under ALN 93.107

Historical data · not a prediction
FY24$44.1M
FY25$44.2M
FY26— est.
Source: SAM.gov Assistance Listing 93.107. Program-wide totals, not awards from this specific opportunity.

Agency contact (as published)

Health Resources and Services Administration
AHECProgram@hrsa.gov
301-443-7432

Quick answers

Who is eligible to apply for “Area Health Education Centers Program”?

The official notice lists these applicant types as eligible: Public colleges & universities, Federally recognized tribal governments, Native American tribal organizations, Private colleges & universities and Others (see notice). Additional restrictions may apply; review the full notice.

How much funding is available through “Area Health Education Centers Program”?

Per the notice, total estimated program funding is $43,250,000 and the agency expects to make about 55 awards.

How do I apply for “Area Health Education Centers Program”?

Applications are submitted through the official source, not through GrantsJunction. Open the official notice on Grants.gov (opportunity HRSA-22-053), and review the full announcement and application package. Organizations applying through Grants.gov generally need an active SAM.gov registration and a Grants.gov account, which can take several weeks to set up.

Matched on shared Assistance Listings, agency, categories and eligible applicant types.

ForecastedALN 93.110

Women's Initiative for Screening and Health (WISH)

Health Resources and Services Administration
Award range
Up to $1M
Est. close
Sep 20, 2026 (est.)
Who can apply
State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 11 more
Source: Grants.govVerified today
ForecastedALN 93.129

Fiscal Year 2027 Regional Nutrition Hubs

Health Resources and Services Administration
Award range
$1M
Est. close
Dec 15, 2026 (est.)
Who can apply
State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 12 more
Source: Grants.govVerified today
ForecastedALN 93.504

Family-to-Family Health Information Centers (F2F HIC)

Health Resources and Services Administration
Award range
$96.8K
Est. close
Dec 19, 2026 (est.)
Who can apply
State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 12 more
Source: Grants.govVerified today