Integrated Substance Use Disorder Training Program (ISTP)
Health Resources and Services Administration · Department of Health and Human Services
At a glance
Integrated Substance Use Disorder Training Program (ISTP) is a closed federal grant opportunity from the Health Resources and Services Administration (Department of Health and Human Services). The application deadline was March 21, 2023. Individual awards are listed as up to $515K, with about 17 awards expected and $9.15M in total estimated funding. Applicant types listed as eligible include others (see notice). Cost sharing is not required. It is funded under Assistance Listing 93.732 (Mental and Behavioral Health Education and Training Grants).
Summary assembled from the official notice's fields. The official notice governs.
Key facts
- Jan 20, 2023Posted
- Mar 21, 2023Application deadline
- Posted
- Jan 20, 2023
- Close date
- Mar 21, 2023
- Award floor
- Not specified
- Award ceiling
- $515,000
- Est. total funding
- $9,150,000
- Expected awards
- 17
- Cost sharing
- Not required
- Funding instrument
- Grant
- Opportunity category
- Discretionary
Who can apply
- Others (see notice)
Additional information on eligibility (from the notice)
Eligible applicants for the ISTP are: A Teaching Health Center (as defined in PHS Act Section 749A(f)), or A Federally Qualified Health Center (as defined in section 1905(l)(2)(B) of the Social Security Act)14, or A Community Mental Health Center (as defined in section 1861(ff)(3)(B) of the Social Security Act), or A Rural Health Clinic (as defined in section 1861(aa) of the Social Security Act), or A health center operated by the Indian Health Service, an Indian tribe, a tribal organization, or an urban Indian organization (as defined in section 4 of the Indian Health Care Improvement Act), or An entity with a demonstrated record of success in providing training for NPs, PAs, health service psychologists, counselors, nurses, and/or social workers (including individuals completing clinical training requirements for licensure) and including entities that serve pediatric populations. For purposes of this NOFO, an entity with a demonstrated record of success in providing training for NPs, PAs, health service psychologists, counselors, nurses, and/or social workers (including individuals completing clinical training requirements for licensure) is an existing accredited training program for one or more of the eligible disciplines that trains practicing professionals. Provide documentation of applicant organizations eligibility as specified in this section as Attachment 8.
- Native American tribal organizations
A quick check against the listed applicant types — other requirements in the notice still apply.
Based on the published notice. Review the official notice for complete eligibility requirements.
What it funds
Official synopsis as published by the agency, formatted for readability.
This notice announces the opportunity to apply for funding under the Integrated Substance Use Disorder Training Program (ISTP). The purpose of this program is to expand the number of nurse practitioners, physician assistants, health service psychologists, counselors, nurses, and/or social workers, (including individuals completing clinical training requirements for licensure) trained to provide mental health and substance use disorder (SUD), including opioid use disorder (OUD) services in underserved community-based settings that integrate primary care, mental health, and SUD services, including such settings that serve pediatric populations. Applicants must propose to plan, develop, and operate a 12-month, full-time (24 months half-time) training program for nurse practitioners, physician assistants, health service psychologists, counselors, nurses, and/or social workers (including for individuals completing clinical training requirements for licensure) that trains practitioners to provide care for individuals in need of mental health and SUD/OUD prevention, treatment, and recovery services. Program Goals The ISTP program is designed to foster robust clinical training and augment expertise among clinicians who will see patients at access points of care and provide mental health and addiction prevention, treatment, and recovery. Participants will be individuals completing clinical training requirements for licensure and practicing professionals from the following disciplines: nurse practitioners, physician assistants, health service psychologists, counselors, nurses, and/or social workers. Program Objectives 1. Increase the number of individuals completing clinical training requirements for licensure and practicing nurse practitioners (NPs), physician assistants (PAs), health service psychologists, counselors, nurses, and/or social workers who are trained to provide integrated mental health and SUD/OUD services, including Medications for Opioid Use Disorder (MOUD) for PAs and advanced practice nurses (APNs) , in a primary care underserved community-based setting, including settings that serve pediatric populations. 2. Plan, develop, and operate a training program to provide mental health and SUD/OUD services in underserved, community-based settings that integrate primary care, mental health, and SUD/OUD prevention, treatment (including medications to treat opioid use disorder), and recovery. 3. Establish a foundation of skills and expertise for the community-based program, including entities that serve pediatric populations, that supports training to provide mental health and SUD/OUD prevention, treatment, and recovery services utilizing a team-based care model. For more details, see Program Requirements and Expectations.
Full announcement & documents
The full announcement has the complete rules — page limits, required attachments, evaluation criteria and any letter-of-intent dates. Files download directly from Grants.gov.
Assistance Listing
What is an ALN?Reported obligations under ALN 93.732
Historical data · not a predictionAgency contact (as published)
Health Resources and Services Administration
ndouglas@hrsa.gov
301-443-7432
Quick answers
Who is eligible to apply for “Integrated Substance Use Disorder Training Program (ISTP)”?
The official notice lists these applicant types as eligible: Others (see notice). Additional restrictions may apply; review the full notice.
How much funding is available through “Integrated Substance Use Disorder Training Program (ISTP)”?
Per the notice, individual awards are listed as up to $515k, total estimated program funding is $9,150,000 and the agency expects to make about 17 awards.
How do I apply for “Integrated Substance Use Disorder Training Program (ISTP)”?
Applications are submitted through the official source, not through GrantsJunction. Open the official notice on Grants.gov (opportunity HRSA-23-090), and review the full announcement and application package. Organizations applying through Grants.gov generally need an active SAM.gov registration and a Grants.gov account, which can take several weeks to set up.
Related open opportunities
Matched on shared Assistance Listings, agency, categories and eligible applicant types.
Rural Health Network Development Program
Health Resources and Services Administration- Award range
- $300K – $500K
- Est. close
- Mar 16, 2027 (est.)
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 12 more
Rural Communities Opioid Response Program - Overdose Response
Health Resources and Services Administration- Award range
- $300K
- Est. close
- Mar 10, 2027 (est.)
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 12 more
Rural Communities Opioid Response Program - Child and Adolescent Behavioral Health
Health Resources and Services Administration- Award range
- Up to $1M
- Est. close
- Mar 23, 2027 (est.)
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 12 more
Ryan White HIV/AIDS Program (RWHAP) Integrated HIV/AIDS Planning Resource Allocation Cooperative Agreement
Health Resources and Services Administration- Award range
- Up to $700K
- Est. close
- Jan 18, 2027 (est.)
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 6 more
Pilot and Feasibility Studies in Preparation for Substance Use and HIV Prevention Intervention and Services Research Trials
National Institutes of Health- Award range
- Amount not specified
- Est. close
- Oct 2, 2026 (est.)
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 12 more
NIDA Mentored Clinical Scientist Development Program Award in Substance Use and Substance Use Disorder Research (K12 Clinical Trial Optional)
National Institutes of Health- Award range
- Up to $750K
- Closes
- Nov 13, 2026
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 12 more