Independent research tool — not a government agency. Official notices govern.Refreshed

Assistance Listing 93.732

Mental and Behavioral Health Education and Training Grants

Department of Health and Human Services · Health Resources and Services Administration

Assistance Listing 93.732, “Mental and Behavioral Health Education and Training Grants,” is a federal program administered by Department of Health and Human Services. It provides grant assistance. GrantsJunction currently tracks 0 open, 0 forecasted and 7 closed opportunities under this listing. The agency reported $90.5M in obligations for fiscal year 2025.

Program objective

The purpose of the behavioral health programs is to develop and expand the behavioral health workforce and address the mental health and resiliency concerns among health care providers. Expanding the behavioral health workforce is addressed through the implementation of the following programs: 1) Behavioral Health Workforce Education and Training- Professionals Program, 2) Behavioral Health Workforce Education and Training- Paraprofessionals Program, 3) Behavioral Health Workforce Education and Training- Children, Adolescents, and Young Adults, 4) Opioid-Impacted Family Support Program and 5) Behavioral Health Workforce Development Technical Assistance Program. The behavioral health programs also seek to promote efforts to address mental health and provider resiliency among health care providers through education and training activities through the following programs: 1) Health and Public Safety Workforce Resiliency Training Program (HPSWTP); 2) Promoting Resilience and Mental Health Among Health Professional Workforce (PRMHW), and 3) Health and Public Safety Workforce Resiliency Technical Assistance Center (WRTAC).

As published in the SAM.gov Assistance Listing.

Current opportunities under 93.732

No open or forecasted opportunities are currently posted under this listing. Programs often post notices on an annual cycle — see recently closed opportunities below for timing.

Eligible applicants (program level)

  • U.S. State Government (including the District of Columbia)
  • Federally Recognized Indian/Native American/Alaska Native Tribal Government
  • U.S. Territory (or Possession) Government (including freely-associated states)
  • Indian/Native American/Alaska Native Tribal Government (Other than Federally Recognized)

BHWET Professional and BHWET CAY: Accredited institutions of higher education or accredited professional training programs that are establishing or expanding internships or other field placement programs in mental health in psychiatry, psychology, school psychology, behavioral pediatrics, psychiatric nursing (which may include master’s and doctoral level programs), social work, school social work, substance use disorder prevention and treatment, marriage and family therapy, occupational therapy, school counseling, or professional counseling, accredited doctoral, internship, and post-doctoral residency programs of health service psychology (including clinical psychology, counseling, and school counseling, and accredited master’s and doctoral degree programs of social work. BHWET Paraprofessional: Behavioral health paraprofessional training programs that are state licensed or accredited by a nationally recognized accrediting agency, and designated to provide behavioral health training. Entities may include states, political subdivisions of states, Indian tribes and tribal organizations, public or nonprofit private health professions schools, academic health centers, State or local governments, or other appropriate public or private nonprofit entities as determined appropriate by the Secretary. OIFSP: State-licensed mental health nonprofit and for-profit organizations, including academic institutions, universities, community colleges, and technical schools, which are accredited by a nationally recognized accrediting agency. Domestic community-based organizations, public entities, tribes, and tribal organizations may apply for these funds, if otherwise eligible. BHWD TA: Health professions schools, academic health centers, State or local governments, or other public or private nonprofit entities that provide services and training to health professions. HPSWRP: Health professions schools, academic health centers, state or local governments, Indian tribes and tribal organizations, or other appropriate public or private nonprofit entities. PRMHW: entities providing health care, including health care providers associations and Federally Qualified Health Centers. WRTAC: Health professions schools, academic health centers, state or local governments, Indian Tribes and tribal organizations, or other appropriate public or private nonprofit entities. Entities providing health care, including health care providers associations and Federally Qualified Health Centers.

Intended beneficiaries: Resident/Citizen of a U.S. Territory, U.S. Citizen and Other.

Program-level eligibility from SAM.gov. Each funding notice sets its own requirements.

Reported obligations by fiscal year

Historical data · not a prediction
FY24$87M
FY25$90.5M
FY26$62M est.

Range and average of financial assistance (from the listing): BHWET- Professionals FY 23 Range: $93,166 - $480,000; Average $419,866 FY 24: Range $94,092-$480,000; Average $306,387 FY 25: Range Up to $600,000, Average: TBD BHWET- Paraprofessionals FY 23 Range: $226,889-$500,000; Average $379,449 FY 24 Range: $260,709 - $500,000; Average $379,269 FY 25 Range: Up to $500,000, average TBD BHWET-CAY FY 23 Range: $214,856-$530,000, Average $484,444 FY 24 Range: $206,881-$530,000, Average $480,763 FY 25: $0 OIFSP FY 23 Range: $193,018-$600,000; Average $517,000 FY 24 Range: $96,542-$600,000; Average $476,997 FY 25 est Range: $167,791 - $600,000; Average: $524,352 AMF FY 23 Range Actual: $1 to $837,104; Average Award: $558,764 FY 24 Range Actual: $184,612 to $824,612; Average Award: $579,692 FY 25 Range Est: $400,000 to $800,000; Average Award: $600,000 ISTP FY 23 Range: Actual $193,368 to $523,572; Average Award: $455,284 FY 24 Range Actual: $209,517 to $548,928; Average Award: $473,517 FY 25 Range Est: $175,589 to $515,000; Average Award: $441,171.79 HPSWTP FY 23 Range: $260,808 to $709,999; Average $640,863 FY 24: range: $261,888 to $495,520; Average $476,193 FY 25: $0 WRTAC FY 23: $3,959,883 FY 24: $0 FY 25: $0 PRMHW FY232 Range Actual: $1,518,008 to $1,683,019; Average Award: $1,653,489 FY24 Range: $0 FY 25 Range: $0

Source: SAM.gov Assistance Listing 93.732. Hatched bars are agency estimates. These totals do not indicate approval rates.

Recently closed under 93.732

Closed opportunities under 93.732
OpportunityStatusAward rangeClosesALN
ClosedAmount not specifiedApr 1, 202593.732
ClosedAmount not specifiedMar 3, 202593.732
Addiction Medicine Fellowship ProgramHealth Resources and Services Administration
ClosedAmount not specifiedFeb 28, 202593.732
ClosedUp to $600KJan 21, 202593.732
Opioid-Impacted Family Support ProgramHealth Resources and Services Administration
ClosedUp to $600KMay 6, 202493.732
ClosedUp to $530KJul 14, 202393.732
Integrated Substance Use Disorder Training Program (ISTP)Health Resources and Services Administration
ClosedUp to $515KMar 21, 202393.732

Frequently asked questions

What is ALN 93.732?

93.732 is the Assistance Listing Number for “Mental and Behavioral Health Education and Training Grants.” Assistance Listing Numbers (formerly CFDA numbers) identify federal assistance programs; individual grant opportunities reference the listing they are funded under.

Who can apply under ALN 93.732?

The SAM.gov listing names these applicant types: U.S. State Government (including the District of Columbia), Federally Recognized Indian/Native American/Alaska Native Tribal Government, U.S. Territory (or Possession) Government (including freely-associated states) and Indian/Native American/Alaska Native Tribal Government (Other than Federally Recognized). Each funding notice under the program sets its own eligibility, so check the specific opportunity.

How much funding does 93.732 provide?

The agency reported $90,462,749 in obligations for FY2025 in the SAM.gov Assistance Listing. These are program-wide totals reported by the agency, not a prediction of future awards.