Independent research tool — not a government agency. Official notices govern.Refreshed
ClosedOpportunity HRSA-24-020

Children’s Hospitals Graduate Medical Education (CHGME) Payment Program

Health Resources and Services Administration · Department of Health and Human Services

At a glance

Children’s Hospitals Graduate Medical Education (CHGME) Payment Program is a closed federal grant opportunity from the Health Resources and Services Administration (Department of Health and Human Services). The application deadline was July 14, 2023. Total estimated funding is $365M across about 62 awards. Applicant types listed as eligible include others (see notice). Cost sharing is not required. It is funded under Assistance Listing 93.255 (Children's Hospitals Graduate Medical Education Payment Program).

Summary assembled from the official notice's fields. The official notice governs.

Key facts

  1. Jun 1, 2023Posted
  2. Jul 14, 2023Application deadline
Posted
Jun 1, 2023
Close date
Jul 14, 2023
Award floor
Not specified
Award ceiling
Not specified
Est. total funding
$365,000,000
Expected awards
62
Cost sharing
Not required
Funding instrument
Grant
Opportunity category
Discretionary

Who can apply

  • Others (see notice)

Additional information on eligibility (from the notice)

There are two categories of childrens hospitals that may be eligible for CHGME payments, depending on the funding appropriated to the program Currently Eligible Hospitals and Newly Qualified Hospitals. Hospitals that are applying for the first time for the CHGME Payment Program may be hospitals that are new to the CHGME Payment Program but qualify under the Currently Eligible Hospitals requirements or are eligible as a Newly Qualified Hospital.

A quick check against the listed applicant types — other requirements in the notice still apply.

Based on the published notice. Review the official notice for complete eligibility requirements.

What it funds

Official synopsis as published by the agency, formatted for readability.

This notice announces the opportunity to apply for funding under the Children’s Hospitals Graduate Medical Education (CHGME) Payment Program. The purpose of the CHGME Payment Program is to compensate for the disparity in the level of federal graduate medical education (GME) funding for freestanding children’s teaching hospitals versus other types of teaching hospitals. Federal funding for GME is primarily provided by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) and goes to full-service teaching hospitals that serve primarily adult patients. Freestanding children’s hospitals receive little to no GME funding from Medicare because children’s hospitals have a low Medicare caseload. The CHGME Payment Program is administered by the Bureau of Health Workforce (BHW), Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA), U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS). For more details, see Program Requirements and Expectations under VI. Award Administration Information

Assistance Listing

What is an ALN?

Reported obligations under ALN 93.255

Historical data · not a prediction
FY24$369M
FY25$370M
FY26$371M est.
Source: SAM.gov Assistance Listing 93.255. Program-wide totals, not awards from this specific opportunity.

Agency contact (as published)

Health Resources and Services Administration
aflach-fulcher@hrsa.gov
301-443-7432

Quick answers

Who is eligible to apply for “Children’s Hospitals Graduate Medical Education (CHGME) Payment Program”?

The official notice lists these applicant types as eligible: Others (see notice). Additional restrictions may apply; review the full notice.

How much funding is available through “Children’s Hospitals Graduate Medical Education (CHGME) Payment Program”?

Per the notice, total estimated program funding is $365,000,000 and the agency expects to make about 62 awards.

How do I apply for “Children’s Hospitals Graduate Medical Education (CHGME) Payment Program”?

Applications are submitted through the official source, not through GrantsJunction. Open the official notice on Grants.gov (opportunity HRSA-24-020), and review the full announcement and application package. Organizations applying through Grants.gov generally need an active SAM.gov registration and a Grants.gov account, which can take several weeks to set up.

Matched on shared Assistance Listings, agency, categories and eligible applicant types.

ForecastedALN 93.619

Appalachian Region Healthcare Support Program

Health Resources and Services Administration
Award range
Up to $2.5M
Est. close
Mar 27, 2027 (est.)
Who can apply
State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 10 more
Source: Grants.govVerified yesterday
ForecastedALN 93.692

Rural Health Value Program

Health Resources and Services Administration
Award range
Up to $650K
Est. close
Mar 20, 2027 (est.)
Who can apply
State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 13 more
Source: Grants.govVerified yesterday
ForecastedALN 93.530

Teaching Health Center Graduate Medical Education (THCGME) Program

Health Resources and Services Administration
Award range
$160K – $960K
Est. close
Nov 16, 2026 (est.)
Who can apply
Native American tribal organizations, 501(c)(3) nonprofits, Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status and 2 more
Source: Grants.govVerified yesterday
ForecastedALN 93.912

Rural Health Network Development Program

Health Resources and Services Administration
Award range
$300K – $500K
Est. close
Mar 16, 2027 (est.)
Who can apply
State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 12 more
Source: Grants.govVerified yesterday