Children’s Hospitals Graduate Medical Education (CHGME) Payment Program
Health Resources and Services Administration- Award range
- $32K – $28M
- Est. close
- Feb 3, 2027 (est.)
- Who can apply
- Others (see notice)
Assistance Listing 93.255
Department of Health and Human Services · Health Resources and Services Administration
Assistance Listing 93.255, “Children's Hospitals Graduate Medical Education Payment Program,” is a federal program administered by Department of Health and Human Services. It provides direct payment for specified use assistance. GrantsJunction currently tracks 0 open, 1 forecasted and 3 closed opportunities under this listing. The agency reported $370M in obligations for fiscal year 2025.
The purpose of the CHGME Payment Program is to compensate for the disparity in the level of Federal graduate medical education (GME) funding for freestanding children’s teaching hospitals versus other types of teaching hospitals. Hospitals typically receive GME support GME through Medicare, and those payments are provided to hospitals based on their Medicare patient volume. Freestanding children’s hospitals receive little to no GME funding from Medicare because children’s hospitals have a low Medicare caseload. The CHGME Payment Program supports freestanding children’s teaching hospitals that: 1) educate and train future pediatricians, pediatric sub-specialists, and other non-pediatric residents, including residents in dentistry; 2) provide care for vulnerable and underserved children; and 3) conduct innovative and valuable pediatric research. The CHGME Support Reauthorization Act of 2013 contained a provision to establish a quality bonus system (QBS). The goal of the QBS is to recognize and incentivize those CHGME Payment Program awardees with high quality training to meet the pediatric workforce needs of the nation.
As published in the SAM.gov Assistance Listing.
A children’s hospital is eligible to apply for CHGME Payment Program funding if it participates in an approved GME program; has a Medicare Provider Agreement; is excluded from the Medicare Inpatient Prospective Payment System (IPPS); and operates as a freestanding children’s teaching hospital. A freestanding children’s teaching hospital does not operate under a Medicare hospital provider number assigned to a larger health care entity that receives Medicare GME payments. A hospital remains eligible for payments as long as it trains residents as a freestanding children’s hospital during the federal fiscal year that HRSA makes CHGME Payment Program payments.
Intended beneficiaries: Other and Health Professional.
Program-level eligibility from SAM.gov. Each funding notice sets its own requirements.
Range and average of financial assistance (from the listing): FY 23 Range: $32,898 - $26,789,848; Average $6,194,396 in combined DME and IME payments and eligible awardees QBS payments. FY 24 Range: $36,128 - $27,666,686; Average $6,253,764 in combined DME and IME payments and eligible awardees QBS payments. FY 25 Range est: $31,883 - $27,691,669; Average $6,136,549 in combined DME and IME payments and eligible awardees QBS payments.
Source: SAM.gov Assistance Listing 93.255. Hatched bars are agency estimates. These totals do not indicate approval rates.| Opportunity | Status | Award range | Closes | ALN |
|---|---|---|---|---|
Children’s Hospitals Graduate Medical Education (CHGME) Payment ProgramHealth Resources and Services Administration | Closed | Amount not specified | Aug 8, 2024 | 93.255 |
Children’s Hospitals Graduate Medical Education (CHGME) Payment ProgramHealth Resources and Services Administration | Closed | Amount not specified | Jul 14, 2023 | 93.255 |
Children’s Hospitals Graduate Medical Education (CHGME) Payment ProgramHealth Resources and Services Administration | Closed | Amount not specified | Aug 1, 2022 | 93.255 |
93.255 is the Assistance Listing Number for “Children's Hospitals Graduate Medical Education Payment Program.” Assistance Listing Numbers (formerly CFDA numbers) identify federal assistance programs; individual grant opportunities reference the listing they are funded under.
The SAM.gov listing names these applicant types: U.S. Territory (or Possession) Government (including freely-associated states), Nonprofit Organization, U.S. State Government (including the District of Columbia), Federally Recognized Indian/Native American/Alaska Native Tribal Government and Indian/Native American/Alaska Native Tribal Government (Other than Federally Recognized). Each funding notice under the program sets its own eligibility, so check the specific opportunity.
The agency reported $369,552,736 in obligations for FY2025 in the SAM.gov Assistance Listing. These are program-wide totals reported by the agency, not a prediction of future awards.