Behavioral Health Workforce Education and Training Program for Paraprofessionals
Health Resources and Services Administration · Department of Health and Human Services
At a glance
Behavioral Health Workforce Education and Training Program for Paraprofessionals is a closed federal grant opportunity from the Health Resources and Services Administration (Department of Health and Human Services). The application deadline was April 1, 2025. Total estimated funding is $10.9M across about 29 awards. Applicant types listed as eligible include state governments, county governments, city or township governments, special district governments, independent school districts and 3 more. Cost sharing is not required. It is funded under Assistance Listing 93.732 (Mental and Behavioral Health Education and Training Grants).
Summary assembled from the official notice's fields. The official notice governs.
Key facts
- Jan 15, 2025Posted
- Apr 1, 2025Application deadline
- Posted
- Jan 15, 2025
- Close date
- Apr 1, 2025
- Award floor
- Not specified
- Award ceiling
- Not specified
- Est. total funding
- $10,900,000
- Implied average award
- $375,862 calculated
- Original deadline (extended)
- Mar 18, 2025
- Expected awards
- 29
- Cost sharing
- Not required
- Funding instrument
- Grant
- Opportunity category
- Discretionary
Typical awards for this program (SAM.gov listing for ALN 93.732, not this notice): BHWET- Professionals FY 23 Range: $93,166 - $480,000; Average $419,866 FY 24: Range $94,092-$480,000; Average $306,387 FY 25: Range Up to $600,000, Average: TBD BHWET- Paraprofessionals FY 23 Range: $226,889-$500,000; Average $379,449 FY 24 Range: $260,709 - $500,000; Average $379,269 FY 25 Range: Up to $500,000, average TBD BHWET-CAY FY 23 Range: $214,856-$530,000, Average $484,444 FY 24 Range: $206,881-$530,000, Average $480,763 FY 25: $0 OIFSP FY 23 Range: $193,018-$600,000; Average $517,000 FY 24 Range: $96,542-$600,000; Average $476,997 FY 25 est Range: $167,791 - $600,000; Average: $524,352 AMF FY 23 Range Actual: $1 to $837,104; Average Award: $558,764 FY 24 Range Actual: $184,612 to $824,612; Average Award: $579,692 FY 25 Range Est: $400,000 to $800,000; Average Award: $600,000 ISTP FY 23 Range: Actual $193,368 to $523,572; Average Award: $455,284 FY 24 Range Actual: $209,517 to $548,928; Average Award: $473,517 FY 25 Range Est: $175,589 to $515,000; Average Award: $441,171.79 HPSWTP FY 23 Range: $260,808 to $709,999; Average $640,863 FY 24: range: $261,888 to $495,520; Average $476,193 FY 25: $0 WRTAC FY 23: $3,959,883 FY 24: $0 FY 25: $0 PRMHW FY232 Range Actual: $1,518,008 to $1,683,019; Average Award: $1,653,489 FY24 Range: $0 FY 25 Range: $0
Implied average = estimated total funding ÷ expected number of awards, calculated by GrantsJunction. Actual awards vary.
Who can apply
- State governments
- County governments
- City or township governments
- Special district governments
- Independent school districts
- Federally recognized tribal governments
- Native American tribal organizations
- Others (see notice)
Additional information on eligibility (from the notice)
These types of domestic organizations may apply, if otherwise eligible. Domestic means located in the 50 states, the District of Columbia, the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, the Northern Mariana Islands, American Samoa, Guam, the U.S. Virgin Islands, the Federated States of Micronesia, the Republic of the Marshall Islands, and the Republic of Palau: Public institutions of higher education Private institutions of higher education ? These may include universities, community colleges and technical schools, which must be accredited by a nationally recognized accrediting agency, as specified by the U.S. Department of Education. Nonprofits with or without a 501(c)(3) IRS status Faith-based and community-based organizations Hospitals HRSA-funded health centers and Federally Qualified Health Centers (FQHCs) Rural health clinics Other community-based clinical settings State, county, city, township, and special district governments Native American tribal governments Native American tribal organizations Behavioral Health Workforce Education and Training for Paraprofessionals award recipients with funding that ends on August 31, 2025 can apply as a Competing Continuation applicant, so long as there is not a change in scope. Previous BHWET for Paraprofessionals recipients whose funding ended before September 1, 2021 should apply as a New applicant. Individuals are not eligible applicants under this NOFO.
- Public colleges & universities
- Private colleges & universities
A quick check against the listed applicant types — other requirements in the notice still apply.
Based on the published notice. Review the official notice for complete eligibility requirements.
What it funds
Official synopsis as published by the agency, formatted for readability.
The purpose of the BHWET Program for Paraprofessionals is to develop and expand community-based experiential training such as field placements and internships to increase the skills, knowledge and capacity of students preparing to become mental health workers, peer support specialists, and other behavioral health paraprofessionals. The program has a special focus on developing knowledge and understanding of the needs of children, adolescents, and transitional-age youth who have experienced trauma and are at risk for behavioral health disorders including anxiety, depression, and substance use disorder. The program also emphasizes developmental opportunities and educational support in interprofessional collaboration by using team-based care in integrated behavioral health and primary care settings to improve the distribution of a well-trained behavioral health workforce. The program also aims to recruit a workforce that is interested in serving high need and high demand areas. For the purpose of this NOFO, all training will be separated into two levels: • Level 1: Pre-service: Includes didactic and experiential field training. • Level 2: In-service (optional): Training at a registered Department of Labor apprenticeship site. All paraprofessional training that does not fall under the definition of a registered apprenticeship will be defined as Level 1: Pre-service training as further explained in Program Requirements and Expectations. Registered apprenticeships (Level 2) are not a program requirement. You are not required to implement Level 2 in your proposal to be considered eligible for this program. If you are implementing Level 2 in your proposed training project, you can receive an additional 5 points in Criteria 2: Response/Approach.
Full announcement & documents
The full announcement has the complete rules — page limits, required attachments, evaluation criteria and any letter-of-intent dates. Files download directly from Grants.gov.
Assistance Listing
What is an ALN?Reported obligations under ALN 93.732
Historical data · not a predictionWho was funded under ALN 93.732
Historical data · not a predictionSince October 1, 2023, 586 grant awards had funding actions under Mental and Behavioral Health Education and Training Grants, with 98 sub-awards passed on to other organizations. These are program-wide awards, not awards from this specific notice.
- UNIVERSITY OF WISCONSIN SYSTEM$7.48M
- UNIVERSITY OF ARIZONA$4.49M
- UNIVERSITY OF ALABAMA$3.5M
- FAIRLEIGH DICKINSON UNIVERSITY$3.36M
- AFFILIATED SERVICE PROVIDERS OF INDIANA INC$3.29M
Agency contact (as published)
Health Resources and Services Administration
BHWETPara25@hrsa.gov
301-443-7432
Quick answers
Who is eligible to apply for “Behavioral Health Workforce Education and Training Program for Paraprofessionals”?
The official notice names these applicant types as eligible: State governments, County governments, City or township governments, Special district governments, Independent school districts, Federally recognized tribal governments, Native American tribal organizations and Others (see notice). Additional restrictions may apply; review the full notice.
How much funding is available through “Behavioral Health Workforce Education and Training Program for Paraprofessionals”?
Per the notice, total estimated program funding is $10,900,000 and the agency expects to make about 29 awards.
How do I apply for “Behavioral Health Workforce Education and Training Program for Paraprofessionals”?
Applications are submitted through the official source, not through GrantsJunction. Open the official notice on Grants.gov (opportunity HRSA-25-066), and review the full announcement and application package. Organizations applying through Grants.gov generally need an active SAM.gov registration and a Grants.gov account, which can take several weeks to set up.
Related open opportunities
Matched on shared Assistance Listings, agency, categories and eligible applicant types.
Rural Communities Opioid Response Program - Child and Adolescent Behavioral Health
Health Resources and Services Administration- Award range
- Up to $1M
- Est. close
- Mar 23, 2027 (est.)
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 12 more
Health Workforce Research Center (HWRC)
Health Resources and Services Administration- Award range
- $450K – $900K
- Est. close
- Mar 9, 2027 (est.)
- Who can apply
- State governments, Public colleges & universities, Private colleges & universities and 1 more
Fiscal Year (FY) 2027 State and Regional Primary Care Association (PCA) Cooperative Agreements
Health Resources and Services Administration- Award range
- $790K – $4.9M
- Est. close
- Jan 25, 2027 (est.)
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 9 more
Rural Health Network Development Planning Program
Health Resources and Services Administration- Award range
- Up to $100K
- Est. close
- Mar 23, 2027 (est.)
- Who can apply
- State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 9 more
Centers of Excellence (COE)
Health Resources and Services Administration- Award range
- $1 – $686K
- Est. close
- Feb 2, 2027 (est.)
- Who can apply
- Public colleges & universities and Private colleges & universities
Maternal and Child Health (MCH) Nutrition Training Program
Health Resources and Services Administration- Award range
- $550K – $735K
- Est. close
- Jan 20, 2027 (est.)
- Who can apply
- Public colleges & universities and Others (see notice)