Independent research tool — not a government agency. Official notices govern.Refreshed
ClosedResearch announcementOpportunity HRSA-25-069

Addiction Medicine Fellowship Program

Health Resources and Services Administration · Department of Health and Human Services

At a glance

Addiction Medicine Fellowship Program is a closed federal grant opportunity from the Health Resources and Services Administration (Department of Health and Human Services). The application deadline was February 28, 2025. Total estimated funding is $23.1M across about 28 awards. Applicant types listed as eligible include public colleges & universities, federally recognized tribal governments, native american tribal organizations, 501(c)(3) nonprofits, nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status and 3 more. Cost sharing is not required. It is funded under Assistance Listing 93.732 (Mental and Behavioral Health Education and Training Grants).

Summary assembled from the official notice's fields. The official notice governs.

Key facts

  1. Dec 20, 2024Posted
  2. Feb 28, 2025Application deadline
Posted
Dec 20, 2024
Close date
Feb 28, 2025
Award floor
Not specified
Award ceiling
Not specified
Est. total funding
$23,100,000
Implied average award
$825,000 calculated
Expected awards
28
Cost sharing
Not required
Funding instrument
Grant
Opportunity category
Discretionary

Typical awards for this program (SAM.gov listing for ALN 93.732, not this notice): BHWET- Professionals FY 23 Range: $93,166 - $480,000; Average $419,866 FY 24: Range $94,092-$480,000; Average $306,387 FY 25: Range Up to $600,000, Average: TBD BHWET- Paraprofessionals FY 23 Range: $226,889-$500,000; Average $379,449 FY 24 Range: $260,709 - $500,000; Average $379,269 FY 25 Range: Up to $500,000, average TBD BHWET-CAY FY 23 Range: $214,856-$530,000, Average $484,444 FY 24 Range: $206,881-$530,000, Average $480,763 FY 25: $0 OIFSP FY 23 Range: $193,018-$600,000; Average $517,000 FY 24 Range: $96,542-$600,000; Average $476,997 FY 25 est Range: $167,791 - $600,000; Average: $524,352 AMF FY 23 Range Actual: $1 to $837,104; Average Award: $558,764 FY 24 Range Actual: $184,612 to $824,612; Average Award: $579,692 FY 25 Range Est: $400,000 to $800,000; Average Award: $600,000 ISTP FY 23 Range: Actual $193,368 to $523,572; Average Award: $455,284 FY 24 Range Actual: $209,517 to $548,928; Average Award: $473,517 FY 25 Range Est: $175,589 to $515,000; Average Award: $441,171.79 HPSWTP FY 23 Range: $260,808 to $709,999; Average $640,863 FY 24: range: $261,888 to $495,520; Average $476,193 FY 25: $0 WRTAC FY 23: $3,959,883 FY 24: $0 FY 25: $0 PRMHW FY232 Range Actual: $1,518,008 to $1,683,019; Average Award: $1,653,489 FY24 Range: $0 FY 25 Range: $0

Implied average = estimated total funding ÷ expected number of awards, calculated by GrantsJunction. Actual awards vary.

Who can apply

  • Public colleges & universities
  • Federally recognized tribal governments
  • Native American tribal organizations
  • 501(c)(3) nonprofits
  • Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status
  • Private colleges & universities
  • For-profit organizations (not small businesses)
  • Others (see notice)

Additional information on eligibility (from the notice)

You can apply if your organization is a U.S.-based sponsoring institution (or parent institution of the sponsoring institution) of an accredited addiction medicine or accredited addiction psychiatry fellowship program, or a consortium (consisting of at least one domestic teaching health center and the sponsoring institution) of a domestic addiction medicine or addiction psychiatry fellowship program. The sponsoring institution must be accredited by the Accreditation Council of Graduate Medical Education (ACGME). You must provide documentation of your ACGME accreditation in addiction medicine as Attachment 1. Types of eligible organizations If otherwise eligible, these types of domestic* organizations may apply. Public institutions of higher education Private institutions of higher education Nonprofits with or without a 501(c)(3) IRS status For-profit organizations Native American tribal governments Native American tribal organizations Individuals are not eligible applicants under this NOFO. Domestic means the 50 states, the District of Columbia, the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, the Northern Mariana Islands, American Samoa, Guam, the U.S. Virgin Islands, the Federated States of Micronesia, the Republic of the Marshall Islands, and the Republic of Palau.

A quick check against the listed applicant types — other requirements in the notice still apply.

Based on the published notice. Review the official notice for complete eligibility requirements.

What it funds

Official synopsis as published by the agency, formatted for readability.

The purpose of the AMF program is to expand the number of fellows at accredited addiction medicine and addiction psychiatry fellowship programs trained as addiction medicine specialists. These fellows will practice in medically underserved, community-based settings that integrate primary care with mental health disorder and substance use disorder (SUD) prevention and treatment services. The fellowship must include training in prevention and treatment services in medically underserved community-based settings, including in rural areas, that have limited or no access to SUD prevention or treatment. The AMF program trains both addiction medicine and addiction psychiatry fellows.

Full announcement & documents

The full announcement has the complete rules — page limits, required attachments, evaluation criteria and any letter-of-intent dates. Files download directly from Grants.gov.

Assistance Listing

What is an ALN?

Reported obligations under ALN 93.732

Historical data · not a prediction
FY24$87M
FY25$90.5M
FY26$62M est.
Source: SAM.gov Assistance Listing 93.732. Program-wide totals, not awards from this specific opportunity.

Agency contact (as published)

Health Resources and Services Administration
aschlaff@hrsa.gov
301-443-7432

Quick answers

Who is eligible to apply for “Addiction Medicine Fellowship Program”?

The official notice names these applicant types as eligible: Public colleges & universities, Federally recognized tribal governments, Native American tribal organizations, 501(c)(3) nonprofits, Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status, Private colleges & universities, For-profit organizations (not small businesses) and Others (see notice). Additional restrictions may apply; review the full notice.

How much funding is available through “Addiction Medicine Fellowship Program”?

Per the notice, total estimated program funding is $23,100,000 and the agency expects to make about 28 awards.

How do I apply for “Addiction Medicine Fellowship Program”?

Applications are submitted through the official source, not through GrantsJunction. Open the official notice on Grants.gov (opportunity HRSA-25-069), and review the full announcement and application package. Organizations applying through Grants.gov generally need an active SAM.gov registration and a Grants.gov account, which can take several weeks to set up.

Matched on shared Assistance Listings, agency, categories and eligible applicant types.

ForecastedALN 93.746

Rural Residency Planning and Development Program

Health Resources and Services Administration
Award range
Up to $750K
Est. close
Mar 18, 2027 (est.)
Who can apply
State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 13 more
Source: Grants.govVerified today