Independent research tool — not a government agency. Official notices govern.Refreshed
ClosedResearch announcementOpportunity HT942526BCRPBTA4

DoW Breast Cancer, Breakthrough Award Level 4

Defense Health Agency Contracting Activity - DHACA · Department of Defense

At a glance

DoW Breast Cancer, Breakthrough Award Level 4 is a closed federal cooperative agreement opportunity from the Defense Health Agency Contracting Activity - DHACA (Department of Defense). The application deadline was September 30, 2026. Total estimated funding is $21M across about 1 awards. The notice is unrestricted by applicant type, subject to any clarifications in the notice. Cost sharing is not required. It is funded under Assistance Listing 12.420 (Military Medical Research and Development).

Summary assembled from the official notice's fields. The official notice governs.

Key facts

  1. May 4, 2026Posted
  2. Sep 30, 2026Application deadline
  3. Oct 30, 2026Archivednext date
Posted
May 4, 2026
Close date
Sep 30, 2026
Archive date
Oct 30, 2026
Award floor
Not specified
Award ceiling
Not specified
Est. total funding
$21,000,000
Implied average award
$21,000,000 calculated
Expected awards
1
Cost sharing
Not required
Funding instrument
Cooperative Agreement
Opportunity category
Discretionary

Typical awards for this program (SAM.gov listing for ALN 12.420, not this notice): This Assistance Listing supports approximately 30 or more programs each year. Overall, awards are expected to range from $100,000 to $20M (consortium) depending on the funding priorities, anticipated number of awards, and project activity/scope within each program for an award period, on average, of 3 to 4 years. The maximum award amount, if any, is specified in each Program Announcement or Broad Agency Announcement.

Implied average = estimated total funding ÷ expected number of awards, calculated by GrantsJunction. Actual awards vary.

Who can apply

  • Unrestricted (any entity type)

A quick check against the listed applicant types — other requirements in the notice still apply.

Based on the published notice. Review the official notice for complete eligibility requirements.

What it funds

Official synopsis as published by the agency, formatted for readability.

Summary: The fiscal year 2026 (FY26) Breast Cancer Research Program (BCRP) Breakthrough Award mechanism supports promising research with high potential to lead to or make breakthroughs in breast cancer. All applications must address at least one of the FY26 BCRP overarching challenges or provide adequate justification for exception. Applications must address the challenge in a way that can lead to a breakthrough and have major impact. The FY26 Breakthrough Award mechanism contains four different funding levels designed to support major (but not all) stages of research that will lead to clinical application. Each level specifies a distinct research scope. This program announcement discusses the Breakthrough Award Level 4.

Distinctive Features:

·        Clinical trials are required.

·        The research team must include two or more breast cancer consumer advocates.

·        This funding mechanism allows for a single Principal Investigator (PI), or two partnering PIs referred to as the Initiating PI and the Partnering PI. For the Partnering PI Option (PPIO), only the Initiating PI will submit a pre-application, but both PIs will need to submit at the full application stage. Be advised, failure to submit all associated (Initiating and Partnering PI) applications by the deadline may result in administrative withdrawal.

Full announcement & documents

The full announcement has the complete rules — page limits, required attachments, evaluation criteria and any letter-of-intent dates. Files download directly from Grants.gov.

Assistance Listing

What is an ALN?

Reported obligations under ALN 12.420

Historical data · not a prediction
FY24$1.48B
FY25$1.2B
FY26— est.
Source: SAM.gov Assistance Listing 12.420. Program-wide totals, not awards from this specific opportunity.

Who was funded under ALN 12.420

Historical data · not a prediction

Since October 1, 2023, 6,147 grant awards had funding actions under Military Medical Research and Development, with 2,218 sub-awards passed on to other organizations. These are program-wide awards, not awards from this specific notice.

  1. THE HENRY M. JACKSON FOUNDATION FOR THE ADVANCEMENT OF MILITARY MEDICINE, INC.$139M
  2. THE UNIVERISTY OF TEXAS M.D. ANDERSON CANCER CENTER$118M
  3. REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, SAN FRANCISCO, THE$81.8M
  4. THE JOHNS HOPKINS UNIVERSITY$72.4M
  5. UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, LOS ANGELES$62.2M
Recipients, states, recent awards and sub-awards →Source: USAspending.gov.

Agency contact (as published)

Jamie Shortall Grant Officer
help@eBRAP.org
301-619-2393

Quick answers

Who is eligible to apply for “DoW Breast Cancer, Breakthrough Award Level 4”?

The notice lists eligibility as unrestricted — open to any type of entity — subject to clarifications in the notice's additional eligibility information.

How much funding is available through “DoW Breast Cancer, Breakthrough Award Level 4”?

Per the notice, total estimated program funding is $21,000,000 and the agency expects to make about 1 awards.

How do I apply for “DoW Breast Cancer, Breakthrough Award Level 4”?

Applications are submitted through the official source, not through GrantsJunction. Open the official notice on Grants.gov (opportunity HT942526BCRPBTA4), and review the full announcement and application package. Organizations applying through Grants.gov generally need an active SAM.gov registration and a Grants.gov account, which can take several weeks to set up.

Matched on shared Assistance Listings, agency, categories and eligible applicant types.

Closes in 12 daysResearchALN 12.420

DoW Arthritis Clinical Research Award

Defense Health Agency Contracting Activity - DHACA
Award range
Amount not specified
Closes
Oct 22, 2026
Who can apply
Unrestricted (any entity type)
Source: Grants.govVerified yesterday