Independent research tool — not a government agency. Official notices govern.Refreshed
ForecastedResearch announcementOpportunity NOT-HD-25-006

Notice of Intent to Publish a Funding Opportunity Announcement for ClinGen Genomic Curation Expert Panels

National Institutes of Health · Department of Health and Human Services

At a glance

Notice of Intent to Publish a Funding Opportunity Announcement for ClinGen Genomic Curation Expert Panels is a forecasted federal cooperative agreement opportunity from the National Institutes of Health (Department of Health and Human Services). The agency's forecast estimates an application due date of May 25, 2026; forecast dates can change. Total estimated funding is $880K across about 4 awards. Applicant types listed as eligible include state governments, county governments, independent school districts, public colleges & universities, federally recognized tribal governments and 6 more. Cost sharing is not required. It is funded under Assistance Listing 93.865 (Child Health and Human Development Extramural Research).

Summary assembled from the official notice's fields. The official notice governs.

Key facts

  1. Jun 25, 2025Forecast posted
  2. Mar 25, 2026 (est.)Full notice expected
  3. May 25, 2026 (est.)Application deadline
  4. Apr 1, 2027 (est.)Est. award datenext date
Posted
Jun 25, 2025
Est. close date
May 25, 2026
Est. award date
Apr 1, 2027
Award floor
Not specified
Award ceiling
Not specified
Est. total funding
$880,000
Implied average award
$220,000 calculated
Expected awards
4
Cost sharing
Not required
Funding instrument
Cooperative Agreement
Opportunity category
Discretionary
Fiscal year
FY2027

Typical awards for this program (SAM.gov listing for ALN 93.865, not this notice): For research project grants, fiscal year 2024, range is $50,000 to $5,000,000; average is $534,606. Individual research fellowship awards: Basic stipend (first year beyond the doctoral degree) of approximately $45,000. The sponsoring institution will be provided, on application, with an allowance of up to approximately $8,000 per year to help defray the cost of training. No dependency allowances. SBIR: Average Phase I awards are for approximately $225,000 (grant activity R43 - for up to six months); Phase II awards may be made for amounts up to $1,500,000 (grant activity R44 - for up to two years).

Implied average = estimated total funding ÷ expected number of awards, calculated by GrantsJunction. Actual awards vary.

Who can apply

  • State governments
  • County governments
  • Independent school districts
  • Public colleges & universities
  • Federally recognized tribal governments
  • Public & Indian housing authorities
  • Native American tribal organizations
  • 501(c)(3) nonprofits
  • Private colleges & universities
  • For-profit organizations (not small businesses)
  • Small businesses

A quick check against the listed applicant types — other requirements in the notice still apply.

Based on the published notice. Review the official notice for complete eligibility requirements.

What it funds

Official synopsis as published by the agency, formatted for readability.

The Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development (NICHD), with other NIH Institutes and Centers (ICs) - National Eye Institute, National Institute of Arthritis and Musculoskeletal and Skin Diseases, National Institute on Deafness and Other Communication Disorders, National Institute of Mental Health, National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke, National Center for Advancing Translational Sciences, and National Cancer Institute - intends to publish a Notice of Funding Opportunity (NOFO) to solicit applications for the establishment and continuation of Genomic Curation Expert Panels that manually curate, review and define the clinical relevance of genes and variants as part of the NIH established and funded Clinical Genome Resource (ClinGen). Despite advances in genomic sequencing technology and increasing adoption in clinical practice, there are many genomic variants with unknown significance (VUS), and there is limited understanding of their function. This presents barriers to genomic and precision medicine. To address this need for better knowledge about the links between genes, variants, and disease, this NOFO will facilitate the development of Expert Panels to select genes and variants associated with diseases or conditions of high priority for participating NIH Institutes and Centers (ICs) and to systematically determine their clinical significance for diagnosis and treatment of these diseases or conditions. The Expert Panels funded through this NOFO are required to utilize the NHGRI ClinGen and the NCBI ClinVar procedures, interfaces, tools, and informatics infrastructure. Ultimately, these expert panels contribute to an authoritative, centralized, and public resource, through aggregation, evaluation, and sharing of expert-curated data about genetic conditions, and the variants that cause them.

How to apply

0 of 8 done · progress saved in this browser

Assistance Listing

What is an ALN?

Reported obligations under ALN 93.865

Historical data · not a prediction
FY24$1.28B
FY25$1.33B
FY26$185M est.
Source: SAM.gov Assistance Listing 93.865. Program-wide totals, not awards from this specific opportunity.

Who was funded under ALN 93.865

Historical data · not a prediction

Since October 1, 2023, 6,805 grant awards had funding actions under Child Health and Human Development Extramural Research, with 5,427 sub-awards passed on to other organizations. These are program-wide awards, not awards from this specific notice.

  1. REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF MICHIGAN$111M
  2. UNIVERSITY OF WASHINGTON$99.9M
  3. THE JOHNS HOPKINS UNIVERSITY$92.1M
  4. REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, SAN FRANCISCO, THE$77M
  5. TRUSTEES OF THE UNIVERSITY OF PENNSYLVANIA, THE$74.4M
Recipients, states, recent awards and sub-awards →Source: USAspending.gov.

Agency contact (as published)

Julia Jiaqi O’Reilly, PhD Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development (NICHD)
Jiaqi.OReilly@nih.gov
240-328-8649

Quick answers

Is this opportunity open for applications yet?

Not yet. It is a forecast — an agency's advance notice of an expected opportunity. The agency estimates posting the full notice around March 25, 2026. Forecast details and dates can change.

Who is eligible to apply for this opportunity?

The official notice names these applicant types as eligible: State governments, County governments, Independent school districts, Public colleges & universities, Federally recognized tribal governments, Public & Indian housing authorities, Native American tribal organizations, 501(c)(3) nonprofits, Private colleges & universities, For-profit organizations (not small businesses) and Small businesses. Additional restrictions may apply; review the full notice.

How much funding is available through this opportunity?

Per the notice, total estimated program funding is $880,000 and the agency expects to make about 4 awards.

How do I apply for this opportunity?

Applications are submitted through the official source, not through GrantsJunction. Open the official notice on Grants.gov (opportunity NOT-HD-25-006), and review the full announcement and application package. Organizations applying through Grants.gov generally need an active SAM.gov registration and a Grants.gov account, which can take several weeks to set up.

Matched on shared Assistance Listings, agency, categories and eligible applicant types.