Independent research tool — not a government agency. Official notices govern.Refreshed
ClosedDeadline extended (was Mar 1, 2021)Opportunity O-BJA-2020-62002

BJA FY 2020 State Criminal Alien Assistance Program Program Requirements and Application Instructions

Bureau of Justice Assistance · Department of Justice

At a glance

BJA FY 2020 State Criminal Alien Assistance Program Program Requirements and Application Instructions is a closed federal other opportunity from the Bureau of Justice Assistance (Department of Justice). The application deadline was July 30, 2021. Individual awards are listed as up to $95K, with $210M in total estimated funding. Applicant types listed as eligible include state governments, county governments, city or township governments and others (see notice). Cost sharing is not required. It is funded under Assistance Listing 16.606 (State Criminal Alien Assistance Program).

Summary assembled from the official notice's fields. The official notice governs.

Key facts

  1. Jan 13, 2021Posted
  2. Jul 30, 2021Application deadline
Posted
Jan 13, 2021
Close date
Jul 30, 2021
Award floor
Not specified
Award ceiling
$95,000
Est. total funding
$210,293,500
Original deadline (extended)
Mar 1, 2021
Expected awards
Not specified
Cost sharing
Not required
Funding instrument
Other
Opportunity category
Discretionary

Who can apply

  • State governments
  • County governments
  • City or township governments
  • Others (see notice)

Additional information on eligibility (from the notice)

See Eligibility Information in this solicitation.

A quick check against the listed applicant types — other requirements in the notice still apply.

Based on the published notice. Review the official notice for complete eligibility requirements.

What it funds

Official synopsis as published by the agency, formatted for readability.

OJP’s Bureau of Justice Assistance (BJA) administers SCAAP. Under SCAAP, OJP makes payments to "states" and "units of local government" that incur certain types of costs due to "incarceration" of "undocumented criminal aliens" during a specific 12-month "reporting period." Under the FY 2020 program, payments will be made in connection with "undocumented" aliens who had been convicted of at least one felony or two misdemeanors (typically for violations of state or local law) and who were "incarcerated" under the legal authority of the applicant government for at least 4 consecutive days during the "reporting period." (Additional details are set out in later sections of this document.) As part of its application, each applicant government provides particular information about individuals it "incarcerated" — under its own legal authority — for at least 4 consecutive days during the "reporting period" and whom the applicant government either (1) knows were "undocumented criminal aliens" or (2) reasonably and in good faith believes were "undocumented criminal aliens." (OJP transmits the data submitted on such individuals to DHS for a detailed review.) As part of its application, each applicant government also must provide information pertinent to its average costs of incarceration during the "reporting period." Broadly speaking, SCAAP payments are calculated from information provided by applicant governments in online applications, information provided to OJP by DHS regarding the DHS review of data on "eligible inmates," and the amount of appropriated funds available for the SCAAP application cycle (e.g., for the FY 2020 program). All information submitted as part of an application is subject to appropriate review by OJP.

Additional information from the agency ↗

Assistance Listing

What is an ALN?

Reported obligations under ALN 16.606

Historical data · not a prediction
FY24$210M
FY25$145M
FY26— est.
Source: SAM.gov Assistance Listing 16.606. Program-wide totals, not awards from this specific opportunity.

Agency contact (as published)

Bureau of Justice Assistance
SCAAP@usdoj.gov
202-514-9354

Quick answers

Who is eligible to apply for this opportunity?

The official notice lists these applicant types as eligible: State governments, County governments, City or township governments and Others (see notice). Additional restrictions may apply; review the full notice.

How much funding is available through this opportunity?

Per the notice, individual awards are listed as up to $95k and total estimated program funding is $210,293,500.

How do I apply for this opportunity?

Applications are submitted through the official source, not through GrantsJunction. Open the official notice on Grants.gov (opportunity O-BJA-2020-62002), and review the full announcement and application package. Organizations applying through Grants.gov generally need an active SAM.gov registration and a Grants.gov account, which can take several weeks to set up.

Matched on shared Assistance Listings, agency, categories and eligible applicant types.

OpenALN 16.043
Award range
Up to $4M
Closes
Oct 30, 2026
Who can apply
Public colleges & universities, 501(c)(3) nonprofits, Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status and 3 more
Source: Grants.govVerified today
OpenALN 16.043
Award range
Up to $2.5M
Closes
Oct 29, 2026
Who can apply
State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 4 more
Source: Grants.govVerified today