Independent research tool — not a government agency. Official notices govern.Refreshed
ClosedDeadline extended (was Mar 23, 2021)Opportunity O-BJA-2021-41003

BJA FY 21 Implementing the PREA Standards, Protecting Inmates, and Safeguarding Communities

Bureau of Justice Assistance · Department of Justice

At a glance

BJA FY 21 Implementing the PREA Standards, Protecting Inmates, and Safeguarding Communities is a closed federal grant opportunity from the Bureau of Justice Assistance (Department of Justice). The application deadline was April 20, 2021. Individual awards are listed as up to $250K, with $4.5M in total estimated funding. Applicant types listed as eligible include state governments, county governments, city or township governments, federally recognized tribal governments and others (see notice). Cost sharing or matching is required. It is funded under Assistance Listing 16.735 (PREA Program: Strategic Support for PREA Implementation).

Summary assembled from the official notice's fields. The official notice governs.

Key facts

  1. Jan 5, 2021Posted
  2. Apr 20, 2021Application deadline
Posted
Jan 5, 2021
Close date
Apr 20, 2021
Award floor
Not specified
Award ceiling
$250,000
Est. total funding
$4,500,000
Original deadline (extended)
Mar 23, 2021
Expected awards
Not specified
Cost sharing
Required
Funding instrument
Grant
Opportunity category
Discretionary

Who can apply

  • State governments
  • County governments
  • City or township governments
  • Federally recognized tribal governments
  • Others (see notice)

Additional information on eligibility (from the notice)

To advance Executive Order 13929 Safe Policing for Safe Communities, the Attorney General determined that all state, local, and university or college law enforcement agencies must be certified by an approved independent credentialing body or have started the certification process to be eligible for FY 2021 DOJ discretionary grant funding. To become certified, the law enforcement agency must meet two mandatory conditions: (1) the agency’s use of force policies adhere to all applicable federal, state, and local laws; and (2) the agency’s use of force policies prohibit chokeholds except in situations where use of deadly force is allowed by law. The certification requirement also applies to law enforcement agencies receiving DOJ discretionary grant funding through a subaward.  For detailed information on this new certification requirement, please visit https://cops.usdoj.gov/SafePolicingEO to access the Standards for Certification on Safe Policing for Safe Communities, Implementation Fact Sheet, and List of Designated Independent Credentialing Bodies. All recipients and subrecipients (including any for-profit organization) must forgo any profit or management fee

Also named in the notice's eligibility text
  • For-profit organizations (not small businesses)
Matched from the wording above by GrantsJunction — confirm in the full announcement.

A quick check against the listed applicant types — other requirements in the notice still apply.

Based on the published notice. Review the official notice for complete eligibility requirements.

What it funds

Official synopsis as published by the agency, formatted for readability.

The Prison Rape Elimination Act (PREA) directs DOJ to provide grants to jurisdictions and agencies nationwide to "protect inmates (particularly from prison rape) and to safeguard the communities to which inmates return." 34 U.S.C. § 30305(a).

Federal funds awarded to grantees may be used to protect inmates by "undertaking efforts to more effectively prevent prison rape; investigating incidents of prison rape; or prosecuting incidents of prison rape." 34 U.S.C. § 30305 (b)(1).

Additional information from the agency ↗

Assistance Listing

What is an ALN?

Reported obligations under ALN 16.735

Historical data · not a prediction
FY24$7.39M
FY25$2.87M
FY26— est.
Source: SAM.gov Assistance Listing 16.735. Program-wide totals, not awards from this specific opportunity.

Agency contact (as published)

Bureau of Justice Assistance
grants@ncjrs.gov
202-514-9354

Quick answers

Who is eligible to apply for this opportunity?

The official notice lists these applicant types as eligible: State governments, County governments, City or township governments, Federally recognized tribal governments and Others (see notice). Additional restrictions may apply; review the full notice.

How much funding is available through this opportunity?

Per the notice, individual awards are listed as up to $250k and total estimated program funding is $4,500,000.

How do I apply for this opportunity?

Applications are submitted through the official source, not through GrantsJunction. Open the official notice on Grants.gov (opportunity O-BJA-2021-41003), and review the full announcement and application package. Organizations applying through Grants.gov generally need an active SAM.gov registration and a Grants.gov account, which can take several weeks to set up.

Matched on shared Assistance Listings, agency, categories and eligible applicant types.