Independent research tool — not a government agency. Official notices govern.Refreshed
OpenOpportunity O-BJA-2026-172709

BJA FY 2026 Students, Teachers, and Officers Preventing (STOP) School Violence Program

Bureau of Justice Assistance · Department of Justice

At a glance

BJA FY 2026 Students, Teachers, and Officers Preventing (STOP) School Violence Program is an open federal grant opportunity from the Bureau of Justice Assistance (Department of Justice). Applications are due October 30, 2026. Individual awards are listed as up to $2M. Applicant types listed as eligible include state governments, county governments, city or township governments, special district governments, independent school districts and 6 more. Cost sharing is not required. It is funded under Assistance Listing 16.839 (STOP School Violence).

Summary assembled from the official notice's fields. The official notice governs.

Key facts

Posted
Sep 21, 2026
Close date
Oct 30, 2026
Award floor
Not specified
Award ceiling
$2,000,000
Est. total funding
Not specified
Expected awards
Not specified
Cost sharing
Not required
Funding instrument
Grant
Opportunity category
Discretionary

Who can apply

  • State governments
  • County governments
  • City or township governments
  • Special district governments
  • Independent school districts
  • Public colleges & universities
  • Federally recognized tribal governments
  • 501(c)(3) nonprofits
  • Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status
  • Private colleges & universities
  • Others (see notice)

Additional information on eligibility (from the notice)

Other entities: Private K–12 schools, including private charter schools, should apply as “nonprofits.”; Public charter schools should apply as “independent school districts.”; Other Units of Local Government: For the purposes of this NOFO, other units of local government include towns, boroughs, parishes, villages, or other general purpose political subdivisions of a state.

Based on the published notice. Review the official notice for complete eligibility requirements.

What it funds

Official synopsis as published by the agency, formatted for readability.

This is a notice of funding opportunity (NOFO) for the FY26 Students, Teachers, and Officers Prevention (STOP) School Violence Program. This opportunity supports programs to prevent and reduce school violence by implementing training, developing school threat assessment teams and/or intervention teams to identify violence risks, introducing technologies like anonymous reporting tools, or applying other school safety strategies that assist in preventing violence. The Student, Teachers, and Officers Preventing School Violence Act of 2018 (STOP School Violence Act) describes the following allowable uses of funding for school safety projects:
• Training to prevent student violence against others and self, including training for local law enforcement officers, school personnel, and students.
• The development and operation of technology solutions such as anonymous reporting systems for threats of school violence, including mobile telephone applications, hotlines, and internet websites.
• The development and deployment of:
o School threat assessment and intervention teams that include coordination with law enforcement agencies and school personnel or
o Specialized training for school officials in responding to mental health crises.
BJA’s STOP School Violence Program improves school safety and security by providing students and teachers with the tools they need to recognize, respond quickly to, and help prevent acts of violence. Activities that go beyond the allowable uses of funding as described above will not be funded.

Additional information from the agency ↗

Assistance Listing

What is an ALN?

Reported obligations under ALN 16.839

Historical data · not a prediction
FY24$35.6M
FY25$84M
FY26— est.
Source: SAM.gov Assistance Listing 16.839. Program-wide totals, not awards from this specific opportunity.

Agency contact (as published)

Bureau of Justice Assistance
OJP.ResponseCenter@usdoj.gov
202-514-9354

Quick answers

When is the deadline for “BJA FY 2026 Students, Teachers, and Officers Preventing (STOP) School Violence Program”?

According to the official notice, applications are due October 30, 2026. Confirm the deadline and submission time on Grants.gov before applying.

Who is eligible to apply for “BJA FY 2026 Students, Teachers, and Officers Preventing (STOP) School Violence Program”?

The official notice lists these applicant types as eligible: State governments, County governments, City or township governments, Special district governments, Independent school districts, Public colleges & universities, Federally recognized tribal governments, 501(c)(3) nonprofits, Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status, Private colleges & universities and Others (see notice). Additional restrictions may apply; review the full notice.

How much funding is available through “BJA FY 2026 Students, Teachers, and Officers Preventing (STOP) School Violence Program”?

Per the notice, individual awards are listed as up to $2m.

How do I apply for “BJA FY 2026 Students, Teachers, and Officers Preventing (STOP) School Violence Program”?

Applications are submitted through the official source, not through GrantsJunction. Open the official notice on Grants.gov (opportunity O-BJA-2026-172709), and review the full announcement and application package. Organizations applying through Grants.gov generally need an active SAM.gov registration and a Grants.gov account, which can take several weeks to set up.

Matched on shared Assistance Listings, agency, categories and eligible applicant types.

Closes todayALN 16.076
Award range
Up to $3M
Closes
Oct 8, 2026
Who can apply
State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 2 more
Source: Grants.govVerified today
OpenALN 16.043
Award range
Up to $2.5M
Closes
Oct 29, 2026
Who can apply
State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 4 more
Source: Grants.govVerified today