Independent research tool — not a government agency. Official notices govern.Refreshed
ClosedDeadline extended (was Feb 16, 2021)Opportunity O-BJA-2021-46004

BJA FY 21 The Intellectual Property Enforcement Program: Protecting Public Health, Safety, and the Economy from Counterfeit Goods and Product Piracy

Bureau of Justice Assistance · Department of Justice

At a glance

BJA FY 21 The Intellectual Property Enforcement Program: Protecting Public Health, Safety, and the Economy from Counterfeit Goods and Product Piracy is a closed federal grant opportunity from the Bureau of Justice Assistance (Department of Justice). The application deadline was March 16, 2021. Individual awards are listed as up to $400K, with $2.4M in total estimated funding. Applicant types listed as eligible include state governments, county governments, city or township governments, special district governments, public colleges & universities and 3 more. Cost sharing is not required. It is funded under Assistance Listing 16.752 (Economic, High-Tech, and Cyber Crime Prevention).

Summary assembled from the official notice's fields. The official notice governs.

Key facts

  1. Dec 18, 2020Posted
  2. Mar 16, 2021Application deadline
Posted
Dec 18, 2020
Close date
Mar 16, 2021
Award floor
Not specified
Award ceiling
$400,000
Est. total funding
$2,400,000
Original deadline (extended)
Feb 16, 2021
Expected awards
Not specified
Cost sharing
Not required
Funding instrument
Grant
Opportunity category
Discretionary

Who can apply

  • State governments
  • County governments
  • City or township governments
  • Special district governments
  • Public colleges & universities
  • Federally recognized tribal governments
  • Native American tribal organizations
  • Others (see notice)

Additional information on eligibility (from the notice)

See Eligibility Information further in this solicitation To advance Executive Order 13929 Safe Policing for Safe Communities, the Attorney General determined that all state, local, and university or college law enforcement agencies must be certified by an approved independent credentialing body or have started the certification process to be eligible for FY 2021 DOJ discretionary grant funding. To become certified, the law enforcement agency must meet two mandatory conditions: (1) the agency’s use of force policies adhere to all applicable federal, state, and local laws; and (2) the agency’s use of force policies prohibit chokeholds except in situations where use of deadly force is allowed by law. The certification requirement also applies to law enforcement agencies receiving DOJ discretionary grant funding through a subaward.  For detailed information on this new certification requirement, please visit https://cops.usdoj.gov/SafePolicingEO to access the Standards for Certification on Safe Policing for Safe Communities, Implementation Fact Sheet, and List of Designated Independent Credentialing Bodies. All recipients and subrecipients (including any for-profit organization) must forgo any profit or management fee.

Also named in the notice's eligibility text
  • For-profit organizations (not small businesses)
Matched from the wording above by GrantsJunction — confirm in the full announcement.

A quick check against the listed applicant types — other requirements in the notice still apply.

Based on the published notice. Review the official notice for complete eligibility requirements.

What it funds

Official synopsis as published by the agency, formatted for readability.

The Intellectual Property Enforcement Program (IPEP) is designed to improve the capacity of state, local, tribal, and territorial criminal justice systems to address intellectual property (IP) enforcement, including prosecution, prevention, and training and technical assistance. Awards will support law enforcement agencies that have an IP enforcement task force or plan to create one. These task forces will collaborate with relevant state, local, territorial, tribal, and federal agencies, including their local U.S. Attorney's Office (USAO), to fulfill program goals.

Additional information from the agency ↗

Assistance Listing

What is an ALN?

Reported obligations under ALN 16.752

Historical data · not a prediction
FY24$10.1M
FY25—
FY26— est.
Source: SAM.gov Assistance Listing 16.752. Program-wide totals, not awards from this specific opportunity.

Agency contact (as published)

Bureau of Justice Assistance
grants@ncjrs.gov
202-514-9354

Quick answers

Who is eligible to apply for this opportunity?

The official notice names these applicant types as eligible: State governments, County governments, City or township governments, Special district governments, Public colleges & universities, Federally recognized tribal governments, Native American tribal organizations and Others (see notice). Additional restrictions may apply; review the full notice.

How much funding is available through this opportunity?

Per the notice, individual awards are listed as up to $400k and total estimated program funding is $2,400,000.

How do I apply for this opportunity?

Applications are submitted through the official source, not through GrantsJunction. Open the official notice on Grants.gov (opportunity O-BJA-2021-46004), and review the full announcement and application package. Organizations applying through Grants.gov generally need an active SAM.gov registration and a Grants.gov account, which can take several weeks to set up.

Matched on shared Assistance Listings, agency, categories and eligible applicant types.