Independent research tool — not a government agency. Official notices govern.Refreshed
ClosedOpportunity O-BJA-2023-171688

BJA FY 23 Community Courts Initiative

Bureau of Justice Assistance · Department of Justice

At a glance

BJA FY 23 Community Courts Initiative is a closed federal grant opportunity from the Bureau of Justice Assistance (Department of Justice). The application deadline was May 24, 2023. Individual awards are listed as up to $900K. Applicant types listed as eligible include state governments, county governments, city or township governments, federally recognized tribal governments and others (see notice). Cost sharing or matching is required. It is funded under Assistance Listing 16.585 (Treatment Court Discretionary Grant Program).

Summary assembled from the official notice's fields. The official notice governs.

Key facts

  1. Mar 27, 2023Posted
  2. May 24, 2023Application deadline
Posted
Mar 27, 2023
Close date
May 24, 2023
Award floor
Not specified
Award ceiling
$900,000
Est. total funding
Not specified
Expected awards
Not specified
Cost sharing
Required
Funding instrument
Grant
Opportunity category
Discretionary

Who can apply

  • State governments
  • County governments
  • City or township governments
  • Federally recognized tribal governments
  • Others (see notice)

Additional information on eligibility (from the notice)

State, city, township, county, or tribal government acting directly or through agreements with other public or private entities on behalf of a single community court

A quick check against the listed applicant types — other requirements in the notice still apply.

Based on the published notice. Review the official notice for complete eligibility requirements.

What it funds

Official synopsis as published by the agency, formatted for readability.

OJP is committed to advancing work that promotes civil rights and racial equity, increases access to justice, supports crime victims and individuals impacted by the justice system, strengthens community safety and protects the public from crime and evolving threats, and builds trust between law enforcement and the community.

With this solicitation, BJA seeks to support efforts by state, local, and federally recognized American Indian tribal governments to establish and enhance community courts in their jurisdictions. This program furthers the DOJ’s mission by providing resources to communities to enhance public safety and build trust between law enforcement and the community.

Additional information from the agency ↗

Assistance Listing

What is an ALN?

Reported obligations under ALN 16.585

Historical data · not a prediction
FY24$71.2M
FY25$6.81M
FY26$5.2M est.
Source: SAM.gov Assistance Listing 16.585. Program-wide totals, not awards from this specific opportunity.

Agency contact (as published)

Bureau of Justice Assistance
grants@ncjrs.gov
202-514-9354

Quick answers

Who is eligible to apply for “BJA FY 23 Community Courts Initiative”?

The official notice lists these applicant types as eligible: State governments, County governments, City or township governments, Federally recognized tribal governments and Others (see notice). Additional restrictions may apply; review the full notice.

How much funding is available through “BJA FY 23 Community Courts Initiative”?

Per the notice, individual awards are listed as up to $900k.

How do I apply for “BJA FY 23 Community Courts Initiative”?

Applications are submitted through the official source, not through GrantsJunction. Open the official notice on Grants.gov (opportunity O-BJA-2023-171688), and review the full announcement and application package. Organizations applying through Grants.gov generally need an active SAM.gov registration and a Grants.gov account, which can take several weeks to set up.

Matched on shared Assistance Listings, agency, categories and eligible applicant types.

OpenALN 16.585

BJA FY 2026 Adult Treatment Court Program

Bureau of Justice Assistance
Award range
Up to $2.5M
Closes
Oct 30, 2026
Who can apply
State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 2 more
Source: Grants.govVerified today
OpenALN 16.585

OJJDP FY 2026 Juvenile Drug Treatment Court Program

Office of Juvenile Justice Delinquency Prevention
Award range
Up to $1M
Closes
Oct 29, 2026
Who can apply
State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 1 more
Source: Grants.govVerified today
OpenALN 16.043
Award range
Up to $4M
Closes
Oct 30, 2026
Who can apply
Public colleges & universities, 501(c)(3) nonprofits, Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status and 3 more
Source: Grants.govVerified today