Independent research tool — not a government agency. Official notices govern.Refreshed
OpenOpportunity O-BJA-2026-172721

BJA FY 2026 Adult Treatment Court Program

Bureau of Justice Assistance · Department of Justice

At a glance

BJA FY 2026 Adult Treatment Court Program is an open federal grant opportunity from the Bureau of Justice Assistance (Department of Justice). Applications are due October 30, 2026. Individual awards are listed as up to $2.5M. Applicant types listed as eligible include state governments, county governments, city or township governments, federally recognized tribal governments and others (see notice). Cost sharing or matching is required. It is funded under Assistance Listing 16.585 (Treatment Court Discretionary Grant Program).

Summary assembled from the official notice's fields. The official notice governs.

Key facts

  1. Sep 21, 2026Posted
  2. Oct 30, 2026Application deadlinenext date
Posted
Sep 21, 2026
Close date
Oct 30, 2026
Award floor
Not specified
Award ceiling
$2,500,000
Est. total funding
Not specified
Expected awards
Not specified
Cost sharing
Required
Funding instrument
Grant
Opportunity category
Discretionary

Who can apply

  • State governments
  • County governments
  • City or township governments
  • Federally recognized tribal governments
  • Others (see notice)

Additional information on eligibility (from the notice)

For the purposes of this NOFO, "other units of local government" include towns, boroughs, parishes, villages, or other general purpose political subdivisions of a state.; "State agencies" include state administering agencies (SAA), administrative offices of the courts, state criminal justice agencies, state substance abuse agencies, and other state agencies involved with substance use, mental health, or related services.

A quick check against the listed applicant types — other requirements in the notice still apply.

Based on the published notice. Review the official notice for complete eligibility requirements.

What it funds

Official synopsis as published by the agency, formatted for readability.

This is a notice of funding opportunity (NOFO) for the BJA FY2026 Adult Treatment Court Program. This opportunity supports the implementation and enhancement of Adult Treatment Court (ATC) operations to prevent overdoses and reduce the use of opioids, stimulants, and other substances by high-risk/high-need adults in the criminal justice system.
Adult Treatment Courts (ATCs) combine judicial supervision, substance use disorder treatment, mandatory and random drug testing, case management, sanctions and incentives, and recovery support services to improve participant outcomes and public safety.

Additional information from the agency ↗

How to apply

0 of 8 done · progress saved in this browser

Assistance Listing

What is an ALN?

Reported obligations under ALN 16.585

Historical data · not a prediction
FY24$71.2M
FY25$6.81M
FY26$5.2M est.
Source: SAM.gov Assistance Listing 16.585. Program-wide totals, not awards from this specific opportunity.

Agency contact (as published)

Bureau of Justice Assistance
OJP.ResponseCenter@usdoj.gov
202-514-9354

Quick answers

When is the deadline for “BJA FY 2026 Adult Treatment Court Program”?

According to the official notice, applications are due October 30, 2026. Confirm the deadline and submission time on Grants.gov before applying.

Who is eligible to apply for “BJA FY 2026 Adult Treatment Court Program”?

The official notice lists these applicant types as eligible: State governments, County governments, City or township governments, Federally recognized tribal governments and Others (see notice). Additional restrictions may apply; review the full notice.

How much funding is available through “BJA FY 2026 Adult Treatment Court Program”?

Per the notice, individual awards are listed as up to $2.5m.

How do I apply for “BJA FY 2026 Adult Treatment Court Program”?

Applications are submitted through the official source, not through GrantsJunction. Open the official notice on Grants.gov (opportunity O-BJA-2026-172721), and review the full announcement and application package. Organizations applying through Grants.gov generally need an active SAM.gov registration and a Grants.gov account, which can take several weeks to set up.

Matched on shared Assistance Listings, agency, categories and eligible applicant types.

OpenALN 16.585

OJJDP FY 2026 Juvenile Drug Treatment Court Program

Office of Juvenile Justice Delinquency Prevention
Award range
Up to $1M
Closes
Oct 29, 2026
Who can apply
State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 1 more
Source: Grants.govVerified today
OpenALN 16.043
Award range
Up to $2.5M
Closes
Oct 29, 2026
Who can apply
State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 4 more
Source: Grants.govVerified today