Independent research tool — not a government agency. Official notices govern.Refreshed
ClosedDeadline extended (was May 22, 2023)Opportunity O-BJA-2023-171698

BJA FY 23 State Criminal Alien Assistance Program

Bureau of Justice Assistance · Department of Justice

At a glance

BJA FY 23 State Criminal Alien Assistance Program is a closed federal other opportunity from the Bureau of Justice Assistance (Department of Justice). The application deadline was June 6, 2023. Individual awards are listed as up to $59M. Applicant types listed as eligible include state governments, county governments and city or township governments. Cost sharing is not required. It is funded under Assistance Listing 16.606 (State Criminal Alien Assistance Program).

Summary assembled from the official notice's fields. The official notice governs.

Key facts

  1. Mar 29, 2023Posted
  2. Jun 6, 2023Application deadline
Posted
Mar 29, 2023
Close date
Jun 6, 2023
Award floor
Not specified
Award ceiling
$59,000,000
Est. total funding
Not specified
Original deadline (extended)
May 22, 2023
Expected awards
Not specified
Cost sharing
Not required
Funding instrument
Other
Opportunity category
Other

Who can apply

  • State governments
  • County governments
  • City or township governments

A quick check against the listed applicant types — other requirements in the notice still apply.

Based on the published notice. Review the official notice for complete eligibility requirements.

What it funds

Official synopsis as published by the agency, formatted for readability.

OJP is committed to advancing work that promotes civil rights and racial equity, increases access to justice, supports crime victims and individuals impacted by the justice system, strengthens community safety and protects the public from crime and evolving threats, and builds trust between law enforcement and the community.

OJP's Bureau of Justice Assistance (BJA) administers SCAAP. Under SCAAP, OJP is statutorily required to make payments to "states" and "units of local government" that incur certain types of costs due to the "incarceration" of "undocumented criminal aliens" during a specific 12-month reporting period. See below for a detailed discussion of eligibility and definitions, including the definitions of "state," "unit of local government," incarceration," and "undocumented criminal aliens" for purposes of SCAAP.

Under the FY 2023 program, payments will be made in connection with "undocumented criminal aliens" who had been convicted of at least one felony or two misdemeanors (typically for violations of state or local law) and who were "incarcerated" under the legal authority of the applicant government for at least 4 consecutive days during the "reporting period." (Additional details are set out in later sections of this document.)

As part of its application, each applicant government provides particular information about individuals it "incarcerated" — under its own legal authority — for at least 4 consecutive days during the "reporting period" and whom the applicant government either (1) knows were "undocumented criminal aliens" or (2) reasonably and in good faith believes were "undocumented criminal aliens." (Note: OJP transmits the data submitted on such individuals to the U.S. Department of Homeland Security (DHS) for a detailed review.) As part of its application, each applicant government also must provide information pertinent to its average costs of incarceration during the "reporting period."

Broadly speaking, SCAAP payments are calculated from information provided by applicant governments in online applications, information provided to OJP by DHS regarding the DHS review of data on "eligible inmates," and the amount of appropriated funds available for the SCAAP application cycle (e.g., for the FY 2023 program). Detailed information on payment calculations can be found in Appendix D: SCAAP Payment Calculations - General Overview. All information submitted as part of an application is subject to appropriate review by OJP.

Additional information from the agency ↗

Assistance Listing

What is an ALN?

Reported obligations under ALN 16.606

Historical data · not a prediction
FY24$210M
FY25$145M
FY26— est.
Source: SAM.gov Assistance Listing 16.606. Program-wide totals, not awards from this specific opportunity.

Agency contact (as published)

Bureau of Justice Assistance
SCAAP@usdoj.gov
202-514-9354

Quick answers

Who is eligible to apply for “BJA FY 23 State Criminal Alien Assistance Program”?

The official notice lists these applicant types as eligible: State governments, County governments and City or township governments. Additional restrictions may apply; review the full notice.

How much funding is available through “BJA FY 23 State Criminal Alien Assistance Program”?

Per the notice, individual awards are listed as up to $59m.

How do I apply for “BJA FY 23 State Criminal Alien Assistance Program”?

Applications are submitted through the official source, not through GrantsJunction. Open the official notice on Grants.gov (opportunity O-BJA-2023-171698), and review the full announcement and application package. Organizations applying through Grants.gov generally need an active SAM.gov registration and a Grants.gov account, which can take several weeks to set up.

Matched on shared Assistance Listings, agency, categories and eligible applicant types.

OpenALN 16.043
Award range
Up to $4M
Closes
Oct 30, 2026
Who can apply
Public colleges & universities, 501(c)(3) nonprofits, Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status and 3 more
Source: Grants.govVerified today
OpenALN 16.043
Award range
Up to $2.5M
Closes
Oct 29, 2026
Who can apply
State governments, County governments, City or township governments and 4 more
Source: Grants.govVerified today